We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced mix of african/indian and contemporary style, needs better maintenance”
Review of Al Johari

Al Johari
Ranked #37 of 76 Restaurants in Stone Town
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Zürich (Switzerland)
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Overpriced mix of african/indian and contemporary style, needs better maintenance”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Al Johari Hotel is located in Stone town in Zanzibar. Its windows are relatively old, not sound proof. The room itself looked ok, nice carved furniture. The AC was rattling and the shower looked devastated, but worked. All in all, hardly 4* by european standard and not well maintained. Breakfast was ok, but not fantastic- some very dry baked goods, some fruit, canned juices, thin coffee + toast. Omeletts were good however. I have only stayed at this hotel in Stone town, but walking through the small city, it feels like there are nicer hotels.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank cyclone-zh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“take care for rip offs”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

poor service, long waits, waiters try to rip you off for drink prices. food average and rather expensive for what you finally get

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank herlimanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not what I expected, but good just the same!”
Reviewed January 21, 2011

Given that food in general is not one of the high points of living in Africa (I spent 25 years in Asia prior to working in Africa), the name of this restaurant suggested Middle Eastern food. So it was a bit of a surprise to discover that the menu is in fact quite avante garde and has bugger all to do with Middle Eastern cuisine at all.

First, the location. Not difficult to find the hotel that it's located in (plenty of directional signage in the nearby alleyways), but as noted by other reviewers it is a bit of a hike up the stairs through a somewhat Dali-esque hotel (looked quite interesting, I imagine every room is different). When you get to the top there is a very modern bar leading into a similarly modern restaurant.

As I said the menu was bit of a surprise, no felafel or tabouleh in sight! But once I'd got my head around that, the menu was actually very interesting, with many choices from seafood to lamb and more. The food is prepared in a modern kitchen behind a big plate glass window, and all the dishes we ordered were excellent, enough so for me to compliment the chef as he walked past.

The rest of the place was not quite as impressive. A lot of money has been spent on the decor, but it's not really a comforting atmosphere. Not helped by the fact that it was virtually empty. The service was a bit haphazard, our waiter didn't really have much of a command of English or a comprehensive knowledge of the menu. The wine list was very ordinary. And the room was very hot and humid, it really needed a thumping great air conditioner to cool it down.

None of this would stop me from giving it at least one more try though. The food was good, and the whole experience was interesting to say the least. On another night with a few more people around it could be brilliant.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food; ok prices.”
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Very simple place; was able to sample some local Zanzibarian specials here which was pretty good, and prices were decent. Had a bottle of sav. blanc. from S.Africa which was ok. Bar had a nice view of city looking to the west.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Parkadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We had lunch in this Gem of a place. The views from the roof terrace over the Indian Ocean and Dhows sailing past are matched by the delicious and aromatic Swahili influenced food. The decor matches the theme and would have to come close to epitomising Zanzibar style.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Johari also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Al Johari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing