We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best for a cold beer at sunset” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercury's Restaurant

Mercury's Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 75 Restaurants in Stone Town
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mercury's Restaurant is situated right next to the sea port - PERFECT if you are entering Zanzibar by boat! Our menu offers a range of fresh fish, soups, seafood, club sandwich, pizza, fajitas & many vegetarian options. All our tables are situated on an open plan deck with a view of the indian ocean & the nearby islands. Come and enjoy a Zanzibar Ice spiced coffee or fresh juice at Mercury's....
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best for a cold beer at sunset”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had lunch here (fish tacos and chicken fajitas) and the food was average. The scenery is quite different from day to night. During our short lunch, we saw 5-6 men urinating in the water in front of everyone, and another man passed out in the sand. Obviously this is not Mercury's fault, but wanted to give warning if going here with children. We stopped another time for a beer at sunset, and there were many locals engaging in a lively soccer game on the beach (much better view!). Bottom line, better for a beer than a meal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sanka625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    236
    280
    112
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very good for East Africa.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The only bar in stone town north of Forodhani Park. Situated next to the ferry terminal Mercurys pair is a quiet open sided bar\restaurant. Selling the usual selection of beers from East Africa & showing live football. Its a nice place to go after eating at Forodhani Park or if your enjoying a walk along the sea side of Stone Town. The place has free Wi-fi & closes around midnight. The bar staff are pleasant & the place is clean

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank M00kster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
137 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not playing Queen music, but food was good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We ate here for lunch - the position is a great place to watch the world go by. We had a calamari and octopus salad, the calamari was ok but the octopus was fantastic, the best we have ever tasted. If you sit on the tables next to the beach there are street boys and girls trying to sell sarongs, CDs, sunglasses etc but they don't pester. A quick 'no' and they move on. We were disappointed not to hear any Queen music while we were there, after all the link to Freddie Mercury is why we went in the first place. A good place for lunch but I don't think I would choose this restaurant for an evening meal. But it was fairly good value for money, considering it is a tourist spot.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank justlovemyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“For a drink at the terras”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Bar at the beach, but directly to the harbour. Atmosphere is nice as long no ships are there.
Been there with a group of people but service remains extremely friendly and good. Quality of food is good, between the power outs, easy music. Nice atmosphere to chill and relax or have a good conversation with friends. Wide selection of drinks and cocktails. Bar should have been a contribute to Freddy Mercury, but only if you know... Not too much people there when we visitied.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RayVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The most awesome place for calamari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I have visited Mercury's five times in the last five years...and despite the low ranking on Tripadvisor it remains one of my best calamari restaurants in the world. But stay away from the junk food....
First location and ambiance - Mercury's is on the beach very close to the ferry terminal. Great location. The name is a somewhat pathetic attempt to exploit the fame of Freddie Mercury ... In the old days they used to okay Queen music non stop, now they appear to have given up on this too. But location is superb.
Service - best described as relaxed, genuine and try hard. For people used to high end restaurant, there is a gap in the professionalism (which you often find in Africa) but service is friendly and well intended.
Now to the good - most of the list is tailored to junk good tourists - fish and choose, burgers, pizza...you name it. After watching the food from a distance I decided distance was indeed the right approach.
BUT...the calamari is just awesome. I'we been coming back to Mercury's year after year just for this experience...perfectly cooked each time.
There are four hard core calamari/octopus dishes on the menu. We started by sharing a baby octopus soup (out of this world) and some sautéed squid/octopus combo, followed by a squid/octopus stew. Everything was simply divine - cooked to perfection. Not just on this occasion but consistently over the last give visits - quite an achievement.
The moral of the story...even though I'm a great fan of Tripadvisor there can be hidden gems even in a tourist trap menu :-)

Helpful?
Thank Kermit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercury's Restaurant also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Mercury's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing