We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Swahili House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Emerson Spice(Stone Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Emerson on Hurumzi(Stone Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Coco De Mer Hotel(Stone Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kholle House(Stone Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
65
84
45
20
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
84
45
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep stairsrooftop restaurantsultan suitetop floorsmall balconiesnarrow streetshigh ceilingslocal marketbuffet styleauthentic hotelswahili stylelate at nightan oasislate checktea houserooms are spaciouscentral location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 225 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2009

We brought our families here for a thank you meal as we were getting married a few days later in Zanzibar. As soon as we arrived the, incredibly friendly, showed us to our seats. Drinks were ordered and we sat, relaxed and enjoyed the view.
We all ordered different things and everyones food was amazing! Amongst one of the favourites was the Zanzibar Bouillabaisse. The staff were very attentive and polite. Although we didnt stay at the Swahili House, I would definitly recommend eating here. fantastic!

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank AliDan2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

The staff memeber who greeted us was very friendly and, once the luggage arrived, carried it all up some incredibly steep stairs to our rooms. My room, although simply furnished, was beautiful and afforded views of the Stone Town roof tops. The AC was a welcome surprise, too!

The restaurant was fantastically situated on the roof top and is a great spot to sit and watch the sun set. Although the food was good, the service was poor and (from start to finish) it took nearly 4 hours just to eat dinner. That being said, I was impressed at the very long hours worked by the server. The biggest disappointment to me was the open-smoking policy, and that staff members were the ones exhaling cigarette smoke throughout the restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northern_Rookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

We stayed at 236 hurumzi but had dinner and lunch at the Swahili House restaurant which was recommended to us by a local friend. Food was amazing, freshly made to order. Highlights include lobster ravioli and zanzibari bouillabaise. Great service with well trained and knowledgable staff.
Hotel rooms looked spacious but very plain. Definitely more character at 236 hurumzi (try the North room with semi-outdoor bathtub)

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AfricaRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Impossible to reach by taxi and difficult to find on foot. Deluxe(!) room had not a single shelf, drawer, rail or hook on which to place or hang clothes so obliged to live out of a suitcase.
Restaurant service unbelievably bad; very pleasant staff but untrained and, in some cases, perhaps untrainable.
Two positives: room had air conditioning which worked fine and food in restaurant was seriously good - young English chef (yes, really!) who has been there for about a year and likely to stay for a further year.
Conclusion; consider staying somewhere else but try The Swahili House for dinner, if you can find it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews