We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beyt al Salaam Restaurant

Beyt al Salaam Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 75 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Soups, African, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dining at the Beyt Al Salaam resort is to experience Zanzibar. The restaurant is unobtrusively located on the ground floor, away from the rooms. Since its opening it is considered the finest dining establishment within Zanzibar's Stone Town.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
“Great choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

A lovely and peaceful restaurant, with decent to good courses.
I've had the Crab Mille-Feuilles (Layers of fried eggplant with crab and mango) which was remarkable, a Snapper with mango which was nice, and beef and chicken skewers that were OK.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    36
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Heights, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best of three meals in Stone Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were in Stone Town at the end of September, 2013 and had a fabulous meal at this restaurant. The place was quiet, small, cozy and friendly. I didn't realize it had been closed. I believe the new name is Beyt al Salamm. It is right across from the Serena Zanzibar. If we are talking about the same restaurant, the food was fantastic. Don't miss the crab coconut soup if it is on the menu. It is served in a coconut, and it may be the best soup I've ever had. My husband had the Red Snapper and said it was the best fish he had ever eaten. We were a party of 4 and we all loved our meals. Soup, entree and wine (no room for dessert!) came to a little over $20 per person. So glad it reopened in time for us to have the experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chjada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pilau and Biriyani..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

If you are after some great local food, this is the place to be. Looks a bit dump but all that is rewarded by the great authentic dishes. Shared a plate of chicken pilau and fish biriyani and would always go back there again..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChimMarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Closed for reno's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Looks like the building is being re-done. Too bad, sounded like a good place.
Not even sure it will re-open under same name.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 13oyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“yummm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

everything came out well presented, and very flavourful. only thing is service was abit slow and they were not as willing to change things in the menu..

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank wanjoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beyt al Salaam Restaurant also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Beyt al Salaam Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing