We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beyt al Salaam Restaurant

Beyt al Salaam Restaurant
Kelele square | Shangani, Zanzibar, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3120, Tanzania (Formerly Beyt al Chai)
+255 24 223 2592
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 72 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Soups, African, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Dining at the Beyt Al Salaam resort is to experience Zanzibar. The restaurant is unobtrusively located on the ground floor, away from the rooms. Since its opening it is considered the finest dining establishment within Zanzibar's Stone Town.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I had lunch at this restaurant in December and have a feeling I'm going to dream about my starter for years to come. It was a crab soup served in a half coconut that was just exceptional - a little bit spicy, but tempered by the coconut. Fantastic - if you get the chance, try it!

We were a big group (8), which put a little pressure on the staff to get dishes out together, but they were very kind. The ambiance was very nice - and the cushioned seats were comfy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MandJ-CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    33
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Very tasty food and lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had dinner at Beyt Al Chai during our stay in Stone Town and we had a very good experience at this restaurant.
The fish was excellent. My husband had a seafood platter which was a huge portion of lobster, cigale, white fillet fish, squid, prawns and other seafood which was excellent value for money. A big platter for one person!
The food was all very tasty and well prepared. The service was great: with a smile and at normal speed (which is quite something for Africa!).
I would definitely go back again and recommend it to others.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ros_in_wonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good food and nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The food is excellent, specially the red snapper. For special occations the staff and the staff gives you a memorable moment together with the food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beritskj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillestrom, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The food in this restaurant is just fantastic. Try a beef or a red snapper and you will not be disappointed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank akaLars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We ate there 3 times! They make the best lobster in Stone Town! Their bruchettas are a must have as an appetizer.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beyt al Salaam Restaurant also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Beyt al Salaam Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing