We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More good luck”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Asmini Palace Hotel
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
148 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“More good luck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

I needed a hotel for 1 night and came across this place by accident - but what a perfect accident. I managed to get a fabulous room with a albeit small view of the sea. The room was very clean, well furnished, with a fridge, TV, full bathroom, running hot water. The best was the roof terrace for breakfast with glorious views of the port and the boats bobbing around amidst the azure of the sky and the turquoise of the sea, the perfect way to start and finish the day. In the heart of Stone Town with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaghdadSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    28
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
27
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
114 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

The Asmini Palace Hotel is a small hotel located on a very small side street in Stone Town.The best features of the hotel are the staff and it location which is within easy walking distance of all of Stone Town. It is also only about 20 min. from the airport and about 200m from the ferry dock. The hotels offers AC, a lift, a lounge, and roof top dining (open air). The menu is a bit limited but the food and service were fine. The hotel has no shop but is in easy walking distance of lots of shopping. The bathroom was very small but the room itself was of good size. The room could be described as being in a "Africa meets the Middle East" style. The bed was a bit firm for my taste. There is no pool at the hotel and there are no usable beaches in or near Stone Town (a usable beach is miles away from the city). While the sea is only 100m from the hotel this is not a beach resort. Bookings can be made directly with the hotel or with their reservation office for the US and Canada. Recommended for seeing the sights of historic Stone Town but not as a beach resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thevinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights while in Stone Town and I can't say anything bad about the hotel: the staff were great, breakfast was wonderful and the room was clean. Towels and sheets looked used, but were very very cleaned and smelled excellent. Our air conditioning worked fine all the time also.

The streets got a but noisy in the morning, so ask for a back room.

I was under the impression that I could get a better stay for the same price closer to the buzz of Stone Town, but I am not sure.

It is close to Mercury's, which is a treat and not far from the commercial streets in Stone Town.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhatinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uae
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

Staff were freindly and service was good but it was not a comfortable stay at all. The bedroom was so stuffy(had to leave the air conditioner on all the time) and the bedsheet & towels looked like somebody has been used (especially bedsheet had the terrible smell of sweat). Could not sleep well at night because the air conditioner in the room did not work properly. Keep the mosquito net down when sleeping otherwise mosquito will love you. Good location(5 mins walk to the port, next to the internet cafe), very ordinary breakfast, awful toilet paper.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtrip30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

I have stayed in quite a few hotels around the world, and rarely have I seen such good service and care of customers. The place is clean, the rooms are authentic and beautiful Zanzibari-style, and the host team is just amazingly friendly and customer-driven.
There is a rooftop restaurant where delicious breakfast is served while enjoying one of those views you cannot get tired of in Zanzibar: the beach, the horizon, the palm trees, and Stone Town's rooftops.
In addition, the hotel is well located (Stone Town is small anyway) and a little far from the hype of what can be called 'downtown' (Shangani area).
Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynaC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

We stayed in Aminin Palace in July 2010. The room was large and clean - nice authentic furniture. En-suite was good. Room has aircon and fan - lovely in the heat. Breakfast on roof was good. Not much of a sea view, except partial from roof, but central location (behind Big Tree and Mercury's restaurant made up for it. Within walking distance from most points of interrest in Stone Town. Staff at reception was helpfull.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

This hotel and the staff continue to impress me, the location close to the ferry and dala dala station was perfect for "cheap day trips to the beach" and shopping at the markets. And they had a generator, so I was spoiled with lights,cold drinks, and AC when the rest of the city was dark.
The Forozani gardens renovation is complete and fabulous, and the cooks at the evening barbeque, claim they remembered me, the cheeky devils, Im sure they say that to all the older woman travellers.
I'm not sure I will ever adapt to the "call to prayer" in the early dawn, but it does add an exotic air to the place, and I do miss the sea view from the restaurant on the roof, but the city and the sunset is still wonderful to see.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bachelorbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Forodhani Park Hotel
Forodhani Park Hotel
#19 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
#24 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Botique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asmini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asmini Palace Hotel

Property: Asmini Palace Hotel
Address: Kiponda Street, Box 3292, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Asmini Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Jovago.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asmini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asmini Palace Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing