We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Bliss after 2 weeks on Safari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mnemba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge
Save
You added andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Zanzibar, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
203 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Pure Bliss after 2 weeks on Safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

What's not to like? Beach is pristine. Rooms are stunning. Pretty much private. Food was excellent if you like fish and pasta. I also had one of my top dives in my life with just the dive master and my wife. We were surrounded by a school of Rays, saw some octopus... all good. Easy flight in from Arusha and simple transport onto the island. Great stop after an exhausting safari. I went over a decade ago but it looks like things have not changed. If it ain't broken, don't fix it. 4 days were enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYSEski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Mnemba island,exclusively reserved for 10 couples,is a 10 star Robinson Crusoe experience and easily qualifies as not only the most romantic island in the world,but also offers world class diving and dining.My wife Anna ,and I have been very regular visitors since 1994,spending our birthday and Anniversary celebrations here. I have completed more than 400 dives in this marine wonderland ,and still,every time ,I see something new.Management and staff are our friends,and the service levels are faultless.Each morning at the 1st ray of light,I spend some 90 minutes practicing my karate...the privacy and silence allows for Zazen wind down...then breakfast..followed by the 1st dive...often on a one to one ,which is unheard of in this over crowded and rushed world.....the afternoon all third part dive boats have left,allowing us the luxury of exploring this marine wonderland on our own....Cocktail hour from 18:00 is an elegant and very relaxed event,which then translates into dinner under the stars on the beach,with a billion sparkling stars,the only unobtrusive entertainment on offer..retiring to our Banda amongst the whispering pines remains an unforgettable ending to a day of wonder

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nordicpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

From the warm welcoming waves to the last goodbyes, we experienced impeccable service. This place can hardly be put into words, the rooms, the food, the staff, everything was perfect. Ditch your shoes and enjoy true barefoot luxury, you will never want to leave!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janyne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I had an amazing time staying at this private island, the service was great, we had our own butler, a chef made to order what we asked for, we had privacy, internet was running faster than back home (they got their own satellite). I had massage on the beach, we dinned in front of our cabana, had drinks with other guests by the open bar and we did some snorkeling with dolphins.
Truly unforgettable, wish we had stayed longer!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid Rheinlan... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Mnemba Island Lodge represents the ultimate get-away where every aspect of a truly memorable holiday experience is rated 5*. Between the warm welcome upon arrival on this tiny island and the sad send-off from the beach on our last day, we enjoyed the discrete privacy of our own chalet, food prepared for the most discerning palette, daily walks around the island, snorkelling over many of the reefs that surround the island, exploring the surrounding waters in a canoe, sundowners on the beach, watched silently as a greenback turtle lay a batch of 110 eggs at 11.30 one night and also watched as 7 late-hatched baby turtles scrambled from their nest to an uncertain future in the big ocean. The personal attention to detail was evident not only during our stay on the island, but also off the island where andBeyond representatives were at hand at Zanzibar and Dar es Salaam airports.

Room Tip: North East in February and North facing in Jun/Jul due to the prevailing winds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FlyfishWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed on Mnemba for five nights following a week long, spectacular -- but draining -- safari. Arriving at Mnemba was just what we needed to rejuvenate ourselves before heading back home.

From the moment we got to the Mnemba crossing point we were excited and the giddiness never wore off. We were warmly welcomed by the manager Mike and our butler, Roja. We settled in, briefed the very talented chef Simon on my wife's dietary restrictions, and then started enjoying superb food, drink, service, snorkeling, people and weather. There was simply no aspect of our stay that was less than perfect and we consider ourselves pretty tough customers.

In our opinion, Mnemba is unequivocally the most beautiful island in the world and all of the staff do it justice. I can't recommend it any more highly or strongly and would urge any person interested in going to reach out to me directly so that I can answer any questions you may have.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rzach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakkalsfontein, west coast. south africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

What a wonderful week of relaxation, swimming, snorkeling, eating exceptional food, drinking really good wines and cocktails and above all, making new friends. We were last there in Jan 2005 and I think June is a better time to go. Warm but more moderate. The House Reef is close and coral and fish are abundant. The service by the butlers is excellent yet discreet. Thank you Mnemba team we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms 8, 9 and 10 are right opposite the House Reef
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jvm64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mnemba
9.4 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#2 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
20.2 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 158 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
8.4 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunshine Marine Lodge
Sunshine Marine Lodge
#2 of 5 in Matemwe
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
9.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge

Address: Zanzibar, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Mnemba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Mnemba
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AndBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge is an award-winning barefoot beach paradise just off the northeast coast of Zanzibar. Ten beachside bandas overlook the Mnemba atoll (a scuba diver's delight) at this romantic, private hideaway. From snorkelling, swimming and kayaking to massages on the beach and simply doing nothing at all, andBeyond Mnemba has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mnemba Island Hotel Mnemba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing