We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
View deal
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews village tour bush walk family bungalow nice bungalows wi fi is available masai men small resort friendly guy two nights long sleeves restaurant staff main gate swimming pool is wild animals amazing trip the river three days
Selected filters
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 327 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2019

This is a nice place to stay with comfortable rooms and a pleasant and peaceful atmosphere close to the Selous Game Park. The rooms are a bit basic with no hot water and no television (although we didn't miss this). There is good wifi in the reception area and dining area and a good phone network elsewhere so you can use your phone data.

Room prices are generally good but you then pay more for the food. There is just one menu of $16 for lunch and $20 for dinner (happily for me we were not charged for my daughter, age 6). I would suggest the camps changes this arrangement as there is a lot of waste - you are given several different dishes with quite large quantities and couldn't really eat all of it, especially as there is no choice of what you get. The quality was OK though. It would be better to have a limited menu of three or so choices with some different pricing.

The swimming pool is fine and relaxing.

The safari manager was very helpful in helping us find out how to pay park entry fees which you van no longer do at the Gate itself - you have to pay at the bank before coming (or like we did, come with a photo copy of the bank slip) which you can then send to the Gate staff. Overall the staff were friendly and helpful.

This place is not next to the Rufiji river unlike some other camps. However you can go on a boat safari (around $35) and see the river. Having seen some other camps from the river, I doubt that actually being next to the river is worth paying extra for.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 12, 2019 via mobile

The camp and rooms are quite nice and you get walked to and from your rooms for safety which is good.
Food is below average unfortunately. Particularly the ‘bush lunch’ which is advertised as a table clothed spread with chefs. When in fact it was a rubbish cold piece of chicken and cold undercooked potatoes in a takeaway container. It was grim!!! Such a disappointment
The park itself is lovely but there are a lot of trucks going back and forth building huge roads. Such a shame!!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 276jaynep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BertSchoonvelde, Eigenaar at Africa Safari Selous, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2019

Hello Jaynep,

Good to read that you have enjoyed the gamedrives in the biggest reserve in Africa, Selous Game Reserve. If you like a bush lunch with chefs and table cloths, you can order this in the camp. You have choosen for the picknick lunch with a value of 15$ per person what included various items including a chicken leg and kasava what is not a potato but something similar but a bit less soft. On that day by the entrance of the reserve there was some movement for with sand trucks to make the roads better for the coming rainseason.

Selous is the biggest reserve in Africa and very unique to see a lot of animals. Do you know we have here more than 14.000 Elefants, 35.000 Hippo's, 5000 Girafes and much more. You see almost in this reserve. And the best of Selous is that you can drive here with open safari cars off-road, so you will see all very good.

thank you for doing the gamesdrives with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2019 via mobile

with my wife we travelled to selous game reserve from zanzibar for three days tour,our urgent give us Africa safari camp on which on our arrival at airstrip we welcomed by the guide Mtambo and massai with big smile.
At the camp was amazing we got surprise by traditional mudhuts rooms with all facilities which can accommodate any person
we had two days safari which was very good than our expectation our guide was very helpful and knowledgeable
The staff at the camp very friendly, room are super and food very testful
we will recommend to all people to stay at Africa safari camp selous and we will not regret.
Thanks you so much.
P .Mbise and Family

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank prospermbise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 16, 2019 via mobile

We have been at Selous African Safari Camp for three days. It is a wonderful camp with tasty food, confortable and nice rooms and very friendly employees.
The best: the camp is directly next to the selous game reservat where we booked two absolutely amazing safaris. Selous is beautiful in both landscape and animals. We saw a lot of different species like lions, elephants, buffalos, hippos, crocodiles, zebras, girafs, antilopes and many more. Our guide Osman was great and showed us exactly the things we wanted to see. Thanks to everybody and especially Prosper who made us this trip unforgettable! We really recommend the Selous African Safari Camp.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Stormlord88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 16, 2019

When we decided to organize a short safari during our vacation in Zanzibar we looked at the hotel proposal and staying one night in the safari camp (means loosing one hotel night) wasn't a good approach.
Afer a quick research on Google we found the "One day Safari" offer. Used to travel in Africa and being hunter in Europe, we looked at this offer with a suspicion = not expensive, potentially a lot of animals, a short duration ...
But in fact, everything went over our expectations:
- Organisation: Even if we made the booking in hurry mode with issues of network we faced,the dedication of the member of his company has been great (emails exchanged up to 10PM ...
- the Safari: In less than 6 hours our local guide and driver achieved an unbelievable result: show us 3 of the Big Five + multiple other animals!!!
Just to summurize:
- a group of 4 elephants with one baby at less than 10 meters
- one lion + an other with his wife ... sleeping at 4 meters
- buffles at less than 30 meters
- tens of hyppo with some at 3 meters
- great koudous
- waterbacks (two time)
- zebras
- tens of gnous
- hundreds impalas and girafes
- 2 fishing eagles
- voutours eating
- crocodiles
- monkeys
- one buba (phaco)
- different multicolors birds
Can you wish more?
The only point to be improve: the beer has to be more fresh at the airplane welcome ...
A great thanks to the complete team in Zanzibar and in Selous

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vincent2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews