We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting and pleasant return to Tanzania"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sable Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Lovely, rustic place.Close to railway Station Kisaki.Reliable pick-up even at night. Stayed for four nights.
Wonderful location, efficient management and pleasant, English speaking staff. Competent drivers / rangers. Well equipped vehicles. All in all a wonderful introduction to real Africa, which I had left 55 years ago.
A would like to mention that the mother company "A Tent With A View (Mr. Rama) did an excellent job in organizing our trip which had been planned quite a bit "off the beaten track".

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hermannson-wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 149 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2010

We were very pleased that we found Sable Mountain and Tent with A View Safaris. It was our first trip to Africa and planning through Rama was a seamless and pleasant experience to say the least. He looked after planning our whole 13 day trip including time in the mountains and the coast. The staff at Sable Mountain made our stay fun and relaxed and our safari guide was a safe and contienious driver who found animals out of nowehere such as the lions resting under trees (very exciting to see) and going out of the way to drive us to a hippo pool. He was very knowledgeable answering our many questions and always stopping for our photo ops.

After leaving Sable Lodge we were driven by a guide and driver named Otto Mlanda who spent 4 days with us taking us through the mountains and small villages to Morogoro and Mikumi National Park. He also took us shopping many times and to his favorite restaurant in Morogoro. Again we felt very well looked after and learned alot about Tanzania through him. It was a wonderful experience spending time with someone who truly cared about making our African journey enlightening and fun.

Thank you to everyone involved and we would use Tent With A View Safaris again and not hesitate to recommend to family and friends. You will have a worry free experience with this safari company.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanpuppys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

we spent 5 days in their capable hands and did two nights of fly camping. Expectations were exceeded, our driver/ guide (Rama) was awesome. You have to appreciate some of their challenges and they truly do everything they can, Go for the honeymoon cabin!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alatola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a pleasant time.

The lodge is spread out over quite a wide area with a few hundred yards from some of the rooms to the bar area. Our room was a permanent tent with nice bed and bathroom although quite why the toilet is positioned so there is no privacy is beyond my wife and I ! The room had a balcony with a nice view of a water hole. The actual wildlife and birdlife around the lodge was very disappointing compared to other lodges we have stayed and nothing of interest visited the waterhole during the several days we sat on the veranda.

The lodge is about 20-30 minutes from the park gates but we saw a variety of wildlife just driving to the park, these included elephants on our first morning. We thought the park itself was disappointing from a wildlife perspective but have been on safari quite a few times. Those on the trip who had not been before all thought it was great so if this is part of a trip to Tanzania (we were with the Adventure company) and your first safari you'll enjoy it ! However I should point out that the short rains were late so the unusually dry weather may have impacted wildlife viewing (often this make it better as they are more concentrated). if you are a safari veteran you may want to look elsewhere or do some more research as this lodge seemed geared towards first timers.

One very good thing was that there were very few other tourists in the area so we got a nice relaxed safari experience without hordes of people crowding around a pair of lions as can sometimes happen in the more touristy parks.

Whilst there we saw lion, elephant, giraffe, hippo, lots of zebra, wildebeest, several species of antelope and warthog plus plenty of eagles and other birds.

The bar area was very nice with lovely views and friendly staff. The food was very good but there was no choice (nothing unusual in this on safari).

You could charge your camera batteries at the reception lodge and they have a spring so water is not severely limited.

You can also do a trip to a local village which some of our group did, they all enjoyed it and found it interesting.

I thank the staff and owner /directors for the friendliness and helpfuness of the service. We stayed over Christmas and they put up a tree, some lights and everyone received a present which was a lovely thought.

Overall if you are on an organised tour to get a taste of Africa and this lodge is on the itinerary I'm sure you'll have a great time. If you are looking for a safari destination and doing a tailormade trip you may want to double check on the wildlife numbers and variety.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Together with a friend I stayed 6 nights at Sable Mountain Lodge, of which 2 were spent fly-camping in the bush. We came in from Dar with the train going to Kasaki, where we were met at the train and taken to the camp for a late evening meal.
Taking the train (6h) and experiencing life along the rail road was in itself a colorful experience, that I recommend - and then fly out.

Selous is a place you want to choose for your safari if you want away from the crowds of jeeps and do the 'hunting' for sightings yourself - aided of course by your very skilled safari guide. Don't expect to get as close to the animals - apart form the lions, who do not care about you at all - as in the northern parks, as the wild life is less accustomed to vehicles, but then again this is the amazing thing about this place.

You have the option of doing morning/evening or full day safaris, fly camping (sleeping in the bush under the southern skies - bed, mosquito net of course is part of the package) and walking safaries. We saw lots of elephants, lions, giraffes, zebras, buffalos, a group of 15 wild dogs, plus a wide range of different antelopes.

We enjoyed our stay at Sable Mountain immensely, excellent service from the staff wether at the lodge or while fly-camping, very tasty, hearty food (meat and veggies cooked to perfection). All cottages are located in undisturbed surroundings, we had a 'basic' stoen cottages, and a fan would have been nice some nights, however, as everything is run as 'green' as possible, that is not part of the set-up. Besides that minor detail, the stone cottage we had was very charming in a rustique way and met all are needs and requirements. We were offered a peek into one of the tented honeymoon suites - just gorgeous, that's the only way to describe it - no. 10, I believe - excellent view onto a dried out riverbed.

Last but not least, Tara and David, the owners, are just fantastic people and their company strongly contributed to making the evenings over dinner joyful and memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

I traveled here with my wife for our honeymoon. First let me say that this outfit really has it together. We were supposed to go there by train, but there was a sudden accident with a cargo train, thereby shutting down the service. We arrived by plane in Dar, and they already had a new plan for us, and a plane ticket in hand ready to immediately transport us to Selous. So: A for effort and responsiveness.

I highly recommend the honeymoon bandas. Something I really like about this location is the geography, the mountains, the variation. You really get a sense of that with these bandas on stilts. Beautiful views.

One thing I would counsel against is the walking safari. We did not go on any, but we heard from others who did. You did not see much game, if any, and it was not worth the effort.

For dinner, we sat around the table with another couple who was on a honeymoon. The atmosphere was very congenial. The dishes were really well done. And you could tell the staff took pride in their work.

The game drives were spectacular. The guides had eagle eyes. Every time we went out we saw the lions, the elephants, the buffalo, giraff, hippo etc. etc. And just a really nice landscape.

I do recommend doing the boat trip, as well as the game drive. The ideal situation is to be in one of those land cruisers with just one other couple. There was a big group - and I was relieved that they did not stick us with them, piled into the bigger truck.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samhornblower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

The lodge is remote, but is close to a railway station which has two trains per week from Dal Es Salaam or Zambia.

Rooms are comfortable, staff so helpful and will go out of their way to please you - nothing too much trouble. There is no electricity but solar power and oil lamps at night so bring a torch for the walk home to your cottage up the mountain paths.

Animals roam around the lodge campus but there are armed rangers that patrol at night should you find a wild animal on your unlit path when walking back to your stone cottage! Generally they keep away from humans so I am told - they smell us coming!

Food wonderful. Everything about they place such a memorable experience and would go again.

Make sure you visit the village and see the local people - the bar is good in the village.

Good bar onsite too. Lots of oportunities for game drives and plenty of friendly socialising on camp with bars staying open as late as you want to drink - but watch those early starts for the same drives the next morning after you have had a few!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rw2042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selous Game Reserve hotels
0 mi away
The Retreat Selous
The Retreat Selous
#2 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
65 reviews
0 mi away
Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous Game Reserve
Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous G...
#1 of 27 in Selous Game Reserve
410 reviews
0 mi away
Africa Safari Camp Selous
Africa Safari Camp Selous
#11 of 27 in Selous Game Reserve
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Selous River Camp
Selous River Camp
#6 of 27 in Selous Game Reserve
242 reviews
0 mi away
Selous Serena Camp
Selous Serena Camp
#12 of 27 in Selous Game Reserve
116 reviews
0 mi away
Selous Kinga Lodge
Selous Kinga Lodge
#14 of 27 in Selous Game Reserve
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sable Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sable Mountain Lodge

Address: Selous Game Reserve, 40525, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Lindi Region > Selous Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Selous Game Reserve
Price Range: $387 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sable Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Sable Mountain lodge is set in the beho hills on the North Western boundary of Selous Game Reserve. The lodge is built over several hills giving a fantastic vantage point and, arguably the best view of the reserve. There is a combination of large and comfortable en suite tented rooms and stone cottages all private and all with great views. The freshwater pool provides a welcome on return from a safari. The nearby tree house and water hole attracts lots of game and a few hours can easily be spent there observing. Relax at the Land Rovers Return pub before dining in the restaurant or under the endless stars. The most special element about Sable Mountain is the team who are famous for their friendliness and will go the extra mile to ensure that you have a superb safari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sable Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sable Mountain Hotel Selous Game Reserve
Sable Mountain Lodge Tanzania/Selous Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing