We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sable mountain lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sable Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our three-night stay here was part of a longer safari-holiday in Tanzania & Zanzibar. From the UK end, we had booked through the super-efficient people at Voyages Jules Verne - to be looked after, with meticulous care, by a top-notch company going by the memorably catchy name of Tent with a View (check out their website). First, we had spent some days at the company's coastal lodge in Saadani before flying in a 13-seater Cessna 208 to the Kisaki airstrip in Selous - there to be taken by jeep to the gem which is the Sable Mountain Lodge. This is secreted away on a beautiful hillside and its rooms (or bandas) are scattered around the spacious grounds at slightly different heights. Blimey: it even has a swimming pool. We had the good fortune to be housed in one of the uppermost rooms with astounding sunrise and sunset views over towards the Uluguru Mountains.~ It was a joy and a privilege to be billeted here for these few nights. Indeed, although we did need it, we had two bedrooms and two bathrooms; but, in discussion with other guests, all were thrilled with the quality, style and cleanliness of their temporary hillside homes. ~ Sensibly, the rooms run on solar power but it took only the most simple level of planning to work around the short periods of the day in which electricity might not be available and there was hot water aplenty. ~ The bar and dining area is atmospherically warm and inviting and a fine place to relax and to enjoy a pre-dinner drink with other guests. ~ As in Saadani, the cuisine is varied, fresh, delicious and plentiful - and, let it be said, would knock spots off many restaurants here in London. ~ This is as yet a fairly undeveloped and beautiful part of Tanzania and the safaris - some inland to find lions, giraffes, zebra, elephants, impala, warthog and so many other species (and we found them all), others waterborne (hippos, crocodiles and the most amazing marine and bird life) - were out of this world. For the keen photographer, the biggest decision at times was in which direction to point the lens. ~ At the heart of any successful organisation or company, however, lie its staff. And we were greatly impressed at every turning by the integrity of those who work for Tent with a View. It is a clever formula and the company deserves to prosper. The staff are highly knowledgeable; well trained; deeply committed to responsible tourism and to the projects in which they are involved; unfailingly friendly,helpful and trustworthy - and we thank each and every one of them for so many laughs and happy memories. - Bob & Maggie Wood - Surrey

Room Tip: As above, we had one of the uppermost bandas. It was no great climb and the bonus was the uninterrup...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 961Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Sable Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 145 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

The lodge is set near the entrance to Selous Game Reserve. The bandas and stone cottages are laid out over a large area, linked by stone and sand walkways. There are a lot of steps and the ground is uneven in places, so this might not suit all people, but I liked it. The swimming pool is covered and cool and there is a sunny terrace. There are lovely views from the camp of the mountains. The food was first rate and I can't fault the staff, who worked hard to make us feel at home. My main regret was that as we were out game viewing and doing village visits, we didn't spend much time at the camp and had to leave all too soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We went to Sable Mountain for 3 nights before going to a lodge in the Selous reserve itself for 4 more nights and that was probably the best way round. Sable is 30 minutes away from the gate to the reserve and so is that bit further from the parts with the highest density of game. We heard game at the lodge itself but didn't see much, although we understand there is more later in the year. We went on game drives into the reserve every day and saw a good deal of game, particularly on the all day drive when you have time to get down to the lakes in the reserve. We went out on the lodge's boat on Lake Tagalala. Brilliant.

The lodge is very attractive to stay in, our banda had a fantastic view down the valley and was very comfortable indeed. They are widely spaced and you need a torch to get to them at night. The hotel will provide one for you. The food was very good and the staff all extremely friendly. Eating by candlelight in the restaurant at night is very atmospheric and of interest to the local bush babies. The lodge's links to the local village are important and we had a very interesting trip to the nearby Masai village.

All in all a very good introduction to safaris and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our safari experience was made unforgettable by the management and tour guides- they went the extra mile to unsure we enjoyed our time there. When we returned to the lodge the waiters and bar staff were always very polite and kind and added to the whole experience. Their English was quite astounding to the point where we enjoyed chatting and socialising with them.
We had an amazing honeymoon and this was the perfect start. We would recommend this hotel to family and friends

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pratty123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

OK so a personally subjective but hopefull objective review with no narrative:

Positives:
Truly wonderful location especially if you're more used to a North London style of jungle.

Brilliant service as seems to be the case in all Tanzania.

Lovely food served with attention to detail in a beautiful and romantic outside restaurant.

Good bar and small but refreshing swimming pool.

Really good sized Banda (honeymoon B9) with spectacular views over the mountains.

Safari was wonderful covering all main bases in terms of animals and commentary.

Now just a few niggles:

Meals were on the small side, our request for a little bread with our meal after a long day on safari was not made possible although we were, rather secretively, offered a few more potatoes which we happily accepted.

The toilets around the pool were shabby with broken handles and no lighting whilst some of the sun loungers were kept together with rusty nails that needed a helping hand to keep in place.

By far the biggested niggle though was our Banda which although was in a truely wonderful position suffered from a few small aspects which with a critical eye and some attention to detail could easily have been solved namely:
Broken safari chair; small stains on sitting chairs, tatty and torn floor mat underneath a very dirty and dusty floor; un-mopped bathroom floor; un-dusted higher areas; poorly hung and dusty African seen wall covering.

I know this may seem picky but other Bandas we looked in didn't have these faults espesially the dust and dirt under the floot mats and as part of our honeymoon in the most expensive room in the lodge we expect better. Although a lovely stay we did leave slightly disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorfLondonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had three days for safari. We chose to fly to Selous to save time and stay two nights at Sable Mountain Lodge. We got upgraded to two honeymoon suites. Really cool. All huts and tents has great views. The staff at the lodge is very helpful and always smile. The food is great and atmosphere at the lodge could not be better. Most of the other guest saw elephants around the lodge but not us.

We had one halfday game-drive, one fullsay game drive and one walking safari. All of them was fantastic. We saw lions, elephants, giraffes, monkeys, zebras, wildebeest, buffalo, crocodiles, hippos, warthogs and more. The animals are not used to human like in Ngorongoro and other parks. Remember to go on the boat - cool experience. So many crocodiles and hippos.

I would recommend this place to everyone.

A big thanks to Rama, who organized the whole trip. Really well done.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at Sable Mountain Lodge for three nights as part of the VJV Secret Tanzania tour. We arrived after dark by train from Dar Es Salaam, which was an interesting experience. As we got off the train there seemed to be an army of people to help us with our bags and guide us to our vehicles. The walk from the car park at the lodge to the bar/restaurant area seemed a long way after a busy day, but it didn't seem that far in the daylight! The lodge is in a beautiful setting and we were very lucky to stay in the new 'Villa'. It was the furthest accommodation from the restaurant and pool area, but well worth the walk. We had a two bedroom two bathroom apartment for just the two of us, which perhaps didn't have the character of a banda but was very spacious and comfortable. There were a few niggles such as the electricity going off a lot and doors not closing or staying open! It also took us several days of cold showers before we realised that hot was cold and vice versa on the taps! However, we had our own terrace with a view over the game reserve. My brother and his wife stayed in the apartment above ours - called treetops - and it was something extra special. It had panoramic views over the park and was bedroom, sitting room and shower room all in one. It was very impressive - they even spotted elephants from their room one morning! The food and service at the lodge were excellent and the safaris were wonderful - so many different landscapes. The wildlife and birdlife may not be as plentiful as at the Serengeti but there are far fewer vehicles about. Most of the time it is just six of you and your driver viewing elephants a few feet away! Bliss!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view and don't worry about privacy or bugs, try Treetops.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selous Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
The Retreat Selous
The Retreat Selous
#2 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ruaha Hilltop Lodge
Ruaha Hilltop Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ruaha National Park
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Africa Safari Camp Selous
Africa Safari Camp Selous
#12 of 26 in Selous Game Reserve
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Selous Kinga Lodge
Selous Kinga Lodge
#15 of 26 in Selous Game Reserve
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Selous Serena Camp
Selous Serena Camp
#9 of 26 in Selous Game Reserve
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Selous Butembo Lodge & Camp Site
Selous Butembo Lodge & Camp Site
#18 of 26 in Selous Game Reserve
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sable Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sable Mountain Lodge

Address: Selous Game Reserve, 40525, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Lindi Region > Selous Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Selous Game Reserve
Price Range: $385 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sable Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Sable Mountain lodge is set in the beho hills on the North Western boundary of Selous Game Reserve. The lodge is built over several hills giving a fantastic vantage point and, arguably the best view of the reserve. There is a combination of large and comfortable en suite tented rooms and stone cottages all private and all with great views. The freshwater pool provides a welcome on return from a safari. The nearby tree house and water hole attracts lots of game and a few hours can easily be spent there observing. Relax at the Land Rovers Return pub before dining in the restaurant or under the endless stars. The most special element about Sable Mountain is the team who are famous for their friendliness and will go the extra mile to ensure that you have a superb safari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sable Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sable Mountain Hotel Selous Game Reserve
Sable Mountain Lodge Tanzania/Selous Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing