We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great camp in a lovely setting”
Review of Siwandu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Selous Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siwandu
Certificate of Excellence
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a great camp in a lovely setting”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

a really well-run camp; nothing too much trouble. Really exceptional food served al fresco. Excellent game drives, though the amount of game is surpassed by Ruaha. We suspect that the area suffers slightly form the fact the the majority of Selous is dedicated to hunting, which we abhor, but must help the Tanzanian economy. However, the game is rather more skittish than in, for example, Ruaha.
The very comfortable tents all have a lovely lake view and the safaris on the water are excellent, many bird varieties, loads of crocodile and hippo. really good Kudu sightings as well as lion, giraffe, wildebeest, zebra, buffalo etc. Disappointed at the number of elephant seen as we understood the park has some 70,000!
Claire a most efficient, charming and friendly hostess, always determined to deal with every whim and make us welcome.
The layout of the tents meant that there is no privacy twixt bed area and loo, without laboriously unhooking and then re-rolling flaps.

Room Tip: keep the zips closed and locked with the carabinas supplied as the baboons visited our tent during b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Siwandu, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear William C

Thank you so much for your review of Siwandu - the elephant population is a travesty - and as passionate conservationists we are doing everything we can to help put a stop to the murder of these beautiful beasts. If nothing is done elephants will be extinct in 7 years time - so please help us by joining support groups, donating money to fund anti-poaching patrols and spreading the word to help this worthwhile cause!

However we are really glad you enjoyed your time at Siwandu
Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    25
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
196
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just arrived back from a few days in Siwandu.
Fully furnished luxury tents, authentic, outstanding quality, bespoke furniture. The location makes combining boat safaris and game drives super easy.
The wildlife is amazing - coupled with the fact that there are so few people here! You spot wildlife alone, without being ambushed by tons of other vehicles.
Food, service attitude, the place it self is simply top notch - this is the best you can get in Africa.
The camp is not protected by fences - masais are guarding it at night. Still - waking up at night with lions, elefants or hippos passing *through* camp, is just an amazing experience.

Room Tip: Tent #4 with good views to the lake. Sip coffee in the morning watching crocs or hippos roaming the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnargnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Siwandu, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Gnargnar

Thank you for your fabulous review of Siwandu and picking out the unique experiences our guests have as there are so few vehicles in the reserve in comparison to northern parks - it makes every sighting and tracking exceedingly special

Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a wonderful safari camp. Amazing "tents" which are more like five star hotel rooms, terrific food, and wonderful service. The camp is really well run and everything that could be complicated is made easy and delightful. It's luxurious without losing touch with its surroundings, and it is unusual in that it is next to Lake Nzerakera, which gives on the chance to see animals from a boat in addition to the usual driving or walking expeditions, and the lake boasts an abundance of bird life, hippos, crocodiles and plenty of animals which come to visit for a drink. This is a great camp in a great national park. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWC58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Siwandu, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear MWC58

Thank you for your lovely review - when you say "It's luxurious without losing touch with its surroundings" - that's exactly what we are aiming for at all of our camps - its important to feel part of the wonderful landscapes we inhabit without feeling like we're imposing on it - we're just visitors here..lucky, lucky visitors!

Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just returned from three nights at each of the three Selous Safari Company properties in Tanzania: Siwandu in the Selous Game Reserve, Jongomero in the Ruaha National Park, and Ras Kutani on the beach just south of Dar es Salaam. I would highly recommend all three ... small, personal and luxurious, with attentive (not over-attentive!) staff, fabulous food and great game drives. In both safari camps we saw elephants, hippos, zebras, impalas, crocodiles, giraffes and lions, not to mention numerous exotic birds. Although all the properties were amazing, I would have to say that Siwandu was my favourite ... I think this was mostly due to Claire, the amazing host ... or it could be due to the brilliant up-close sightings of the animals which we had with our guide Mohammed, or it could just be that this was our first, magical, breath-taking view of Africa.

Room Tip: I don't think there could be a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Siwandu, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear LouWestSussex

Thank you for the gorgeous review of all three properties - Selous Safari Company prides ourselves on our intimate service and special characters at each of our trio of properties to ensure guests have a wonderful varied and wonderful safari with us. But all guests leave with a favourite! And the lovely think is they are always different - even in the office we cannot decide!

Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Why stay anywhere else? The sheer abundance of wildlife and bird life in one place is not to be imagined!! Hippos, elephant, crocs, baboons, giraffe, buffalo, hyenas, lions.....and the lake is spectacular. Guides are brilliant and the staff are amazingly attentive. Africa just does not get any better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spencerstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Siwandu, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear spencerstuart

"Africa doesn't get any better!" - thank you!! And it truly doesn't - its such a beautiful landscape with stunning wildlife and a fantastic camp!!

Come back and see us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Wow, what a wonderful stay at Siwandu, it far far exceeded my expectations.
All the activities were absolutely tremendous, we done the boat safari first as a nice way of easing ourselves into camp life and we see plenty of crocs and hippos & an abundance of different birds.
The safari walk was terrific, learning about different things (trees, plants etc etc) & our guide Mtambo was excellent, it was a real joy walking about on the plains of Africa unhindered & we was so fortunate to see 2 bull Elephants having a playful fight & tusking up to each other. We also saw Giraffe & Buffalo, really really great. Lovely surprises aswell.
Our road Safari's were absolutely out of this world. Our guide was Allen, he was fantastic, he spotted so much & helped us understand better about all these creatures great & small. We had Lions & Elephants so close to us, watched Giraffes drinking from the lake & it was all magical, I feel I could sit here typing this and cry about it now, it was that good. Thank you so much Allen, you're a star.
Waking up on the mornings to tea & coffee being delivered & seeing Elephants so close by & then a giraffe sleeping with its head against a tree, incredible.
On our last morning, just sitting there on the verandah, this lone beautiful bull Elephant came out of the trees in front of us & didn't bat an eyelid at us, just carried on in that serene fashion that they do. I'm sure he came to say goodbye !
The food in camp was first class, really enjoyable, well done to the Chef & the team, brilliant.
All the staff were great & I'd just like to say a big thank you to the Maasai for the security & knowledge they have, you have my total respect.
All in all then, great place, great things to do & if you're thinking about going there then take it from me, think no more, just go, you won't regret it.
Best regards
Dean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deano23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Siwandu, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Deano23

Such a wonderful review - thank you - from the guiding, the meals, the location, the game and our wonderful staff, Siwandu offers a wonderful, authentic safari experience, with a side slice of luxury!

Come back and see us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Siwandu and it was the perfect start to our safari holiday. We could watch hippos in the lake and elephant and giraffe strolling past all day long! The food was excellent and the chef made a lot of effort to accommodate our vegetarian daughter and also made a birthday cake for my husband which was paraded round the diners with all the staff singing the swahili version of Happy Birthday! The onsite gift shop located in the main reception area is a must and all the family made some rather hurried purchases on departure as our flight out had arrived early which meant we had to leave earlier than planned.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AberdeenJEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Siwandu, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear AberdeenJEB

Thank you for your lovely review of Siwandu - the joy of our camp being located on the lake is waking up with a cup of coffee or tea from your butler and lying in bed watching the animals amble past and drink from the waters edge - best morning wake ups ever

Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selous Game Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
The Retreat Selous
The Retreat Selous
#2 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
61 reviews
36.5 mi away
Africa Safari Camp Selous
Africa Safari Camp Selous
#13 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
125 reviews
68.2 mi away
Azura Selous Game Reserve
Azura Selous Game Reserve
#4 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.4 mi away
Selous Serena Camp
Selous Serena Camp
#9 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sable Mountain Lodge
Sable Mountain Lodge
#1 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Selous Kinga Lodge
Selous Kinga Lodge
#15 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siwandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siwandu

Property: Siwandu
Address: Lake Nzerakera, Tanzania (Formerly Selous Safari Camp)
Location: Tanzania > Lindi Region > Selous Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Selous Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siwandu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siwandu is delightfully situated within an open palm forest on the shores of Lake Nzerakera, a massive lake adjoining the Great Rufiji River. All safari tents are widely spaced along the lake shore ensuring maximum privacy and wonderful views. Blending in superbly with its natural surroundings in what is considered the prime wildlife area of the Selous Game Reserve, with incredible game viewing including the rare African Wild Dog. Offering a range of activities from 4WD game drives, dawn game walks and boating cruises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Selous Safari Camp Hotel Selous Game Reserve
Siwandu Tanzania/Selous Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing