We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jongomero Camp”
Review of Siwandu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Selous Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siwandu
Certificate of Excellence
Tanzania, East Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Jongomero Camp”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Jongomeo is now our new favorite place on earth! - Glenn and Valerie Corey

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie48_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    25
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
196
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Having spent a get-away weekend at the Selous Safari Camp with the family has given us all a new lease on life. What a fantastic lodge with intimate details at every step of the experiance. We loved the bush experiance combined with all the pleasures of home. Activities included a Sundowner Boat safari, Exlilirating Game Drives and a breath takingly beautiful bush walk, connecting us through intimate details again, to this the largest faunal reserve in the world.
Well done to the team at the Selous Safari Camp, looking forward to meeting you all again.
Dino & Quindon

Room Tip: Each unit is exquitaly positioned to experiance the very best of the Selous
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DinoStengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

From our arrival to our departure at the camp, we were made to feel very welcome and had an amazing stay. It is really hard to pinpoint things that were particularly good as it was all wonderful, but the following were just some of the things that made our 4-night stay so memorable:
- Jenny, Emiel, Gerald and the other staff were all fantastic and made sure that we were really looked after. On our arrival we were told that boat safari had already been arranged for us that morning, which was great. Every tent was assigned a butler who was your waiter and go-to person for drinks, etc throughout our stay and ours, Mau, was really lovely.
- The safaris were all great. Although it rained a fair amount whilst we were there (because of the short rains), we were still able to go on walking safaris, boat safari and the game drives and all were great, especially because the staff (and not only the guides on safari but also the staff around the camp) were so knowledgeable about the various animals and plants. Another plus point to safaris in the Selous was how few other vehicles were around on the game drives. On our busiest drive, we saw only two or three other jeeps (one or two of which were from the selous safari camp) - in fact we certainly saw more lions during our safaris than people.
- The food was fantastic and plentiful - We couldn't believe that the team can create such refined and tasty food in the middle of the bush. We were also really impressed at how reasonable the drink prices were.
- The tents were lovely and spacious with lovely bathroom facilities (the outside shower was great) and they all had big porches either side of the tent that was perfect for sitting out on with the morning wake-up coffee. Because the tents were all spaced fairly far apart, we were visited frequently grazing giraffes and waterbuck and some amazing birds who would come up really close to the tents.
- Although the number of bugs increased once the rains started, there were relatively few until then and surprisingly few mosquitoes.

There were many other small things that made our stay wonderful, like the meal that we had on our terrace on our last night, the sundowners, the cold towels that were waiting at the end of each safari and the shots of liquor that were waiting for us at the end of each evening safari. However, there really were too many of these special touches to list them all.

All in all, it was the best place that we stayed during our honeymoon and we would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The place is total luxury

Jenny and her team do a fantastic job of making you feel welcome

We spent 3 nights at Selous Safari Camp and loved every second of it.

My only complaint is they keep offering you food. Not a place to loose weight

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Welshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annen
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We spent 3 nigths/2 days at the Selous Safari Camp and can fully confirm what the other visitors have written. It is just amazing.

Perhaps the following as additional information. The camp has two sites about 10 minutes from each other. We stayed at the camp headed by Gerald. Suppose that the other camp has the same features.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I have just returned from a 3 day/3 night trip to Selous Safari Company.
I was visiting there with my parents and we all thoroughly enjoyed the experience, the location and the animals. There is a lot of time and attention spent to the details and making your time enjoyable and relaxed, from the morning wake up call with coffee and cookies to afternoon tea before you head out for game drives. The staff are all very knowledgeable about the area and the animals. The game drives are the most fun in my opinion and you will definitely see animals. The area is not overcrowded so you will not see many if any of the other companies or even the other vehicles from the camp.
It is expensive but we all felt that you definitely get more for what you paid.
The accommodations were great, our room was spacious and well laid out. The outdoor shower was amazing, the best shower I have ever taken.
We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Tent number 2 is close to the kitchen so you can hear the staff after dinner but is quiet after 10 p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Just returned from a most memorable holiday. Selous Safari Camp is just the most wonderful experience. From your first welcome to the camp, where Jenny and her team set out to give you the best experience possible, to the turn out of all the staff to wave you goodbye, everything is done to make you comfortable. The guides are amazing and whatever we said we would like to see our knowledgeable guide managed to find us including wild dogs - amazing! The food is fantastic and the accommodation is well appointed and comfortable. The setting of the camp is just beautiful, how often do you get a hippo walking past as you as you have dinner or an elephant munching on a tree outside your tent. This camp exceeded all our expectations - thank you Selous Safari Camp for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicolaMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selous Game Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
The Retreat Selous
The Retreat Selous
#2 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
61 reviews
36.5 mi away
Africa Safari Camp Selous
Africa Safari Camp Selous
#13 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
125 reviews
68.2 mi away
Azura Selous Game Reserve
Azura Selous Game Reserve
#4 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.4 mi away
Selous Serena Camp
Selous Serena Camp
#9 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sable Mountain Lodge
Sable Mountain Lodge
#1 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Selous Kinga Lodge
Selous Kinga Lodge
#15 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siwandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siwandu

Property: Siwandu
Address: Lake Nzerakera, Tanzania (Formerly Selous Safari Camp)
Location: Tanzania > Lindi Region > Selous Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Selous Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siwandu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siwandu is delightfully situated within an open palm forest on the shores of Lake Nzerakera, a massive lake adjoining the Great Rufiji River. All safari tents are widely spaced along the lake shore ensuring maximum privacy and wonderful views. Blending in superbly with its natural surroundings in what is considered the prime wildlife area of the Selous Game Reserve, with incredible game viewing including the rare African Wild Dog. Offering a range of activities from 4WD game drives, dawn game walks and boating cruises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Selous Safari Camp Hotel Selous Game Reserve
Siwandu Tanzania/Selous Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing