We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection itself”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sand Rivers Selous, Nomad Tanzania
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed in Sands River back in November (2012) when Mark and Kirsten were looking after the camp.

The room was fantastic - we had one of the hillside rooms with the plunge pool. The open front overlooking the river was fantastic. It was amazing to wake up with the sunrise and spot the animals. It was so special. It was nice to have the plunge pool to cool down between safaris- we didn't once use the main pool.

The best thing about the resort were the staff. They were genuinely warm and friendly, and really helpful. It didn't once feel like anyone was being polite just because they were paid to, and worked in the service industry. Everyone always came across as genuinely loving what they did, and were always laughing. Everyone referred to you by name once you introduced yourself, and whilst it was a relaxed and unstuffy atmosphere, you were looked after very well.

Our guide (Hamsa) was exceptional. Not only was he amazing at spotting things we could never see, he was great company too, and had really interesting conversation. I can't imagine anyone better to take us out day after day.

What I loved about the location was the variety of safari options - options of walking, and boat safari as well as the traditional game drive. The safari's were particularly special based on the nice touches that the resort organised for us, from lunch and breakfasts out, to sunset gin and tonics to cool down after walking, and hot sulphur pools to sit in after a hot game drive. The attention to detail really paid off.

We felt Mark and Kirsten got the balance in the resort just right, with some evenings of communal eating and great conversation, balanced with some evenings of dining apart and couple time.

I can't recommend this camp enough.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bwthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 245 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Well what a wonderful 20th Wedding Anniversary. Thanks once again to British Airways for meaning we lost one full day at this wonderful place. Mark and Kirsten our hosts were amazing couldn't have been more helpful and and welcoming, sorry I drank all the Amarula we'll warn you next time we come to get more in stock. Thanks for a great anniversary meal nice touch to eat privately. Our present official the china and unofficial the scorpion were appreciated the china and given us endless amusement the scorpion we can laugh about it now. Now for Emmanuel our guide what can we say we needed a leopard to complete our 10 year search for the big five and what did we see on the first morning drive not lonly leopard but wild dog chasing it up a tree a truly special siting. And we got our ordered elephants on our anniversary. The lodge we stayed in was just breath taking if only we had got that extra day we would have made more use of it but we wanted to cram in as much safari as we could after all thats what we were there for. We had such a wonderful time thank you so much to everyone of the staff, management and guides what a brilliant job you do.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarnyandpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for the first 4 nights of a 10 night safari and it could not have been better - well, it could have been less hot... We had a hillside suite with the most welcome and oft used plunge pool, a great view, and a very comfy bed. While dinners could be had privately, I enjoyed sitting at one big table with all the guests and appreciated the care in seating arrangements so each night we sat next to someone different.
Our guide, Ernest, was incredible. There was not a question he could not answer and he had a terrific sense of humor. I highly recommend a night of fly camping as it was truly a highlight.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisabrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed for 3 days mid November. The service and game viewing were excellent. We had excellent guide Hamza to ourselves...one of the advantages of coming pre-Christmas peak season. Enjoyed the river excursions and fishing. We were hosted by both Mark and Kristen and Mark and Chloe. Really great place!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nafaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Sand Rivers is top notch. My wife and her parents spent five days at Sand Rivers and enjoyed every minute (even though the weather was hot hot hot). The lodge and the views are stunning and well maintained. The hosts are great, Mark and Kristen made us feel right at home. Ian was our guide and was very accommodating and knowledgeable. We saw plenty of wild animals and enjoyed every minute a the lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bnhanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have just enjoyed the best holiday trip ever!

Sand Rivers Lodge is run by two wonderful people: Mark and Chloe. They went out of their way to make us feel very welcome. In fact all the staff were so friendly and attentive, and always greeted us with a smile and 'Jambo!' Such warm people. We had our own safari guide - Hussein - who, like everyone at Sands River, was both sincere and humble. Hussein instantly put us at our ease. He promised us a holiday to remember and how right he was!

The Selous is breathtakingly-beautiful. Peaceful and surrounded by the wonderful sights and sounds of the animals and birds. In terms of the accommodation, we had two comfortable treetop cabins overlooking the Selous river and lake with many hippos and crocs. One cannot describe how serene and moving it is to fall asleep to the sounds of nature on the lake just a few feet below.

A typical day would begin with a gentle wake up call with tea and coffee. Everything has been thought of here - with the drinks being served in the room, in a secure cupboard, away from the mischievous monkeys! After a scrumptious breakfast in the dining area, Hussein would take us in the jeep for a morning safari. Lunch back at the base with hippos bathing in the water to cool off and crocodiles lazing on the banks. And so the day goes on - an afternoon safari then the highlight of the day - dinner at a long table with fellow guests. Here we would share our experiences of the day whilst enjoying home cooked cuisine and African wines. Mark and Chloe are the perfect hosts. As one other reviewer said they involve everyone in the conversation. We have two sons - aged 15 and 13 - and Mark and Chloe involved them in the conversation, asking them about their interests, what they enjoyed most during the safari drives etc.

We were all sad to leave the camp saying 'au revoir' to such nice people. We felt as if we were saying goodbye to a special family. Will we return? Absolutely!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

After much trepidation about going on a safari, we finally arrived at Kiba airport. We were met by our guide, Emmanual, who was to be our guide for the rest of the stay. Not only was he very friendly, but also very knowledgable, with all sorts of information about everything from the birds and bees to the carnivores and trees!

Arriving at the lodge, we were met by Chloe and Mark...both of whom are amazing hosts! Nothing was too much trouble, and we felt really looked after during our stay there!

The rooms are stunning with fabulous views over the river! Beautifully decorated, exceptionally clean, and constantly being tidied, altho this never felt like an intrusion! The hungry hippos outside the room were a constant presence, but after one night, it's as tho they are part of the family, crashing about at 4 in the morning!

The food, and there was alot of it, was very good!! After breakfast, there was always an elevenses snackette to help see you thro to lunch time! The buffet lunch was always very good, with lots of variety over the course of the stay! More food follows at afternoon tea...homemade lemonade and cakes aplenty! Followed by a three course dinner, which again was very good, a few random flavour combinations at times, but it all worked well and tasted fabulous! All drinks were free flowing with Mark and Chloe ensuring that your glass was never half empty!!!

The actual safari experience was fabulous! Not only are there the usual game drives, but also walking and boat safaris. You are free to choose whatever you want to do and when! We saw a multitude of elephants, lions, giraffes, to name but a few of the big animal, altho we didnt manage to catch sight of the elusive leopard, that so many of the other guests saw!!

From speaking to other guests, the Selous wasn't as commercial a place as the Serengeti! We pretty much saw no other cars or people from other areas whilst we were there, and it very much felt like we had the whole of the Selous to
ourselves!

I cannot recommend this place highly enough! Chloe and Mark have done an amazing job, and obviously everyone else who works there contributes to this! All in all, we had an amazing first safari experience, and we can't thank everyone at Sand Rivers enough!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlasgowEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selous Game Reserve hotels
73.7 mi away
The Retreat Selous
The Retreat Selous
#2 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
65 reviews
96.9 mi away
Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous Game Reserve
Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous G...
#1 of 27 in Selous Game Reserve
410 reviews
74.2 mi away
Azura Selous Game Reserve
Azura Selous Game Reserve
#4 of 27 in Selous Game Reserve
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.4 mi away
Serena Mivumo River Lodge
Serena Mivumo River Lodge
#9 of 27 in Selous Game Reserve
91 reviews
0 mi away
Selous Kinga Lodge
Selous Kinga Lodge
#14 of 27 in Selous Game Reserve
44 reviews
84.5 mi away
Selous Serena Camp
Selous Serena Camp
#12 of 27 in Selous Game Reserve
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Rivers Selous, Nomad Tanzania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Rivers Selous, Nomad Tanzania

Address: Selous Game Reserve, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Lindi Region > Selous Game Reserve
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Selous Game Reserve
Price Range: $509 - $515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sand Rivers Selous, Nomad Tanzania 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When Richard Bonham built Sand Rivers, he was offered any area in the Northern Selous. There were good reasons why this site, overlooking the mile wide Rufiji River, was the only place he wanted to be. At the heart of an intricate network of sand river channels, oxbow lakes and open plains, Sand Rivers opens a window on the private lives of Africa's big mammals. Creep up on elephant as they wallow in hidden lakes; drift silently by boat down the river at dusk or sleep out under the stars at night in our unique flycamp. With just eight open-fronted rooms looking out over the Rufiji River, Sand Rivers offers variety, spontaneity and a gradual immersion in a seductively wild part of Southern Tanzania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Sand Rivers Selous, Nomad Tanzania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Rivers Selous Hotel Selous Game Reserve
Sand Rivers Selous, Nomad Tanzania Selous Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing