We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveler rating
171
21
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
171
21
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river dry river bed game drives management team other guests breakfast in the bush different locations the main lodge wonderful animals knowledgeable guide wild dogs gluten free delicious lunch safari experience fantastic experience hot shower full moon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 196 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2019

What an amazing experience it was to stay at Mwagusi Camp! Our childrens' first experience of a safari and a real bucket list holiday. The bandas were so much better than they appeared in the photos, which do not do them justice. There always seemed to be a cooling breeze on the veranda or inside the room. All the staff were so friendly and could not do enough to help - even managing to mend a flip flop! Evening meals in different locations around the river bed were a real treat and it was lovely to get to know other guests from around the world. The quality of the food was fantastic! The wildlife was abundant, with many close encounters that will live on in the memory for years. We would certainly recommend a morning walking safari, which provided sightings of countless crocs and hippos. Thank you to Trudie and the team for making it such a special trip and especially to Godfrey and Abdullah for their great spotting skills! If you're considering booking - go for it, you won't regret it.

Room tip: Trudie's tip of leaving a flannel in the sink as a ladder for escaping insects really seemed to work!
Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank STaylor651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwagusi, Public Relations Manager at Mwagusi Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2019

Thank you for the lovely review and recommendation which is appreciated, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Evening meals under the stars are very special, our chefs provide meals to suit most preferences. Ruaha has so much to offer, we are delighted our guide and driver introduced you to encounters and sightings that will be memories for a very long time to come. Your kind comments will be passed onto the staff at Mwagusi and hopefully one day they will be welcoming you back. Hope that flip flop is still intact! Thank you from the team at Mwagusi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2019

What a beautiful two days in Ruaha. Of course, seeing the animals was amazing. But the combination of the gorgeous camp, great guide, truly hospitable staff made it all even better. There are so many moments that I'll never forget. The meal outside under the starts was magical. The sound of lions off in the distance roaring on our first night was amazing, and the baby elephant that stood just outside my patio in the evening was so cute. The tents were much more extravagant than I thought and so comfortable.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BradleyTwinCities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwagusi, Public Relations Manager at Mwagusi Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2019

We appreciate your great review, thank you for taking the time. All of your comments have been passed on to the staff. Showing our guests what beauty Ruaha holds and the game that surrounds Mwagusi is always a pleasure, it seems that a visiting baby elephant was curious about you too! Come back to see us one day.
With thanks from The Mwagusi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2019

We enjoyed our stay at MwagusI immensely. Our banda was very comfortable and allowed for game viewing while we drank our morning coffee. One day a whole family of elephants walked through right next to our veranda. The hosts were friendly, fun and very accommodating. . It was obvious that the chef at Mwagusi took pride in his kitchen, and being a person who rejoices in salads, vegetables and fruits, I was in heaven. Our guides were very knowledgeable and tried very hard to find us as many different kinds of animals as possible. When we wanted to deliver some soccer balls and frisbees to a local school, they quickly arranged a drive to the closest village ( about an hour away) in place of one of our AM game drives.We had a great time with the kids.
There are many other pluses from staying at Mwagusi. The only suggestion of anything to avoid, is that we found the optional night game drive was not very satisfying and an extra expense. If you have never stayed at a camp in a game preserve, the per night cost may seem exorbitant, but when you see how many people , and how much effort it takes to provision and maintain a comfortable game lodge , in the middle of what seems like nowhere, you realize that it is worth it to save your pennies to be able to have this kind of experience.

Room tip: I am sure that there are more luxurious game camps, but I can't imagine needing anything nicer than a banda at Mwagusi
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 175frederickb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwagusi, Public Relations Manager at Mwagusi Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2019

Thank you so much for the wonderful review you have added for Mwagusi.The team at Mwagusi work hard to provide an experience and stay to remember and our chefs to provide a variety of meals to suit all needs. Visiting the village and providing the soccer balls and frisbees for the school children is an experience I hope will remain with you for a long time, we were glad to be able to take you. It was unfortunate that you did not experience more activity during your night drive. We hope one day to welcome you back to Mwagusi, in the meantime enjoy the memories you have made with us.
Best wishes from The Mwagusi Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2019

Chris Fox and his staff has created the ultimate safari experience in relatively unknown and uncrowded Ruaha National Park. The accommodations are fabulous; private, self contained, secure tents, under expansive thatched canopies each looking out over the sand river. From our comfortable bed, we observe elephant, giraffe, zebra, baboons, monkeys and many birds. From our bed! When we got up and had the fresh brewed coffee, which was delivered to our tent, and a hot shower, we went off on incredible early morning game drives with the best trained, and nicest guides in Africa, with separate drivers (Many other camps the guide is the driver, making it very difficult to accomplice either task well). Our guide knew every animal and bird, their scientific name, their behaviors and their place in the ecology of the park. We were then served an excellent breakfast, in the bush! Back to the camp for a rest and a delicious lunch in the main lodge. One day we were a little late for lunch as there was an elephant blocking the trail from our tent to the dining hall! Afternoon game drive was followed by an incredible dinner, cooked and served down in the river bed one night, observed by a tree hydrax, and out in the bush another. In our group, Mwagusi was able to cater to dietary preferences (gluten free, vegetarian). Ruaha is not cheap to get to, and you can pay more at other camps but you won't find a better safari experience anywhere in Africa!

Room tip: Request French pressed coffee for your morning wake up call.
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwagusi, Public Relations Manager at Mwagusi Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review on Mwagusi. Our staff endeavour to provide the perfect safari experience to our guests and they will all be delighted to read of another success. Having an elephant blocking your way to lunch will be one of the many memories you made at Mwagusi. Your comments on our guides and chefs are really appreciated.
Dinner under the stars is a special way to end the day, we do hope that one day you will return to stay with us again.
With thanks from The Mwagusi team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2019

We had such a great stay at Mwagusi. We didn't plan to stay here in Ruaha NP, but from the moment we entered the place we decided to stay, and we are so happy we made that decision.

During our honeymoon in Tanzania, my wife broke her ankle a few days before we came to Mwagusi. We had some difficulties getting around, and the staff (special thanks Valelian, Yona, Baldwin) and management (thanks Henrik!!) were enormously eager to help us in different ways during our stay at Mwagusi.
We had a wonderful stay, probably the best stay in whole Tanzania here.

Best, Anne and Veer

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Annegeertsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwagusi, Public Relations Manager at Mwagusi Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2019

Thank you Veer for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to make your honeymoon stay special and to help your wife Anne, the team made sure she did not miss a thing even though she had broken her ankle. Hopefully Anne is back on two feet now. The photos tell the story! We are glad you decided to visit Ruaha and Mwagusi.....you must come back to celebrate a future anniversary with us.
With thanks from the Mwagusi Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews