We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveler rating
171
21
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
171
21
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river dry river bed game drives management team other guests breakfast in the bush different locations the main lodge wonderful animals knowledgeable guide wild dogs gluten free delicious lunch safari experience fantastic experience hot shower full moon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 196 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2019

This was a splurge camp for us, and in hindsight, we wish we had thrown the budget aside and stayed another night or two (we were there 2 nights -- not enough time). The bandas are huge with a large open area. While relaxing there one afternoon, a female elephant and her baby came within feet of our banda. The bathroom area is open, which means crawling and flying creatures can visit, but it's part of the experience and the overall experience far outweighs this. The sleep area is large and comfortable and zips up tight. Manager Trudy is a delight and owner/manager Chris Fox is fun and interesting. Drive Elie helped our guide track down a pride of lions and is a delight. Our walking safari was fabulous. We loved our stay here.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 85leea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwagusi, Guest Relations Manager at Mwagusi Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad to have made your safari experience with us one that you will remember for a long time. Very special to have the female elephant with her young come past your banda that afternoon. Maybe in future years you can come back for a longer stay, the Mwagusi staff will be waiting to greet you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2019

Host: Trudie Bosman
Guide: Jimmy and driver Abdullah
Travel Agency: ATR

We travelled to Mwagusi in June with our 4 girls, ages 19-26. We received a warm welcome at the airport and a warm welcome at the camp.

Accommodation: A number of thatched bandas are dotted along the riverbank, each with a very large bathroom and separate lounging area. Ours consisted of a covered stone-floored deck with loungers built into the surrounding rock. A hammock also allowed for many relaxing afternoon naps. The bedroom portion is tented and allows you to hear the sounds of the Africa night. This is exhilarating; we heard baboons shrieking, lions roaring and hyenas right by our banda.

Food:
Breakfast: We opted to have all our breakfasts out in the bush during our morning drive. This enabled us to leave earlier and spend more time on our drive. Breakfasts consisted of baked goods, sausages, bacon, hard-boiled eggs and fruit. Juice and coffee or tea.

Lunch: Lunch is eaten at the main lodge and served buffet style. Compliments to the chef who produced delicious meals of grilled meats and an abundant variety of salads. Our favourites were the Moroccan potato salad, beet and green beans and cucumber, apple, parsley and mint. Perfect meal to eat in the hot African weather.

Dinner: Dinner is held in a different location every night. Lanterns hang from the trees to illuminate a drinks station and buffet of delicious meats, many types of vegetables, potatoes and rice. Dessert is always a nice surprise. We particularly enjoyed grilled caramelised bananas with dark chocolate sauce. Or opt for a simple dinner in the bush which features mini pizzas, sandwiches, salads and fresh-cut fruits.

Lunch and dinner are eaten communally with the other guests which allowed us to meet some really lovely people from around the world.

Gluten free: Mwagusi is able to accommodate gluten free. The chef is very talented and most of the meals are naturally gluten free, but they will amend the dishes for dietary needs.

Host: We booked Mwagusi after reading about the owner-guide Chris Fox. While he was not there during our stay, we were hosted by manager Trudie Bosman, a lovely warm spirit who made us welcome. She ate our meals with us and shared stories of the bush, while putting everyone at ease effortlessly. Thank you Trudie!

Guiding: Really great guiding. There is a morning drive which is from 6:45 until 12pm and a shorter afternoon drive from 4-6:30pm. Our guide Jimmy is one of the best guides we have met on our travels. Knowledgeable about flora and fauna, insects, animals, birds, etc. He made every drive an adventure. It is very easy to like Jimmy with his frequent smile and pleasant disposition. On one drive, we just missed a cheetah kill an impala but we were able to watch the chaos that ensued, with vulchers and jackals fighting each other over the carcass. Later that day, on our afternoon drive, we found 2 lions with an impala kill. Then we heard alert calls from the baboons and found a male leopard drinking at the riverbed. We lost him in the bush then Jimmy saw another leopard hiding a little way down. We followed it up to the water to watch it drink. All in one day – heaven. We also learnt about the history of the local tribes and the meaning stories about the mountains and animals – thanks Jimmy!

Travel Agency: ATR is an amazing company. We book all our African travels with them and appreciate the advice and organization of their company, from transfers to lodges to activities.

Recommendation: Mwagusi is highly recommended

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TaniaH871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwagusi, Guest Relations Manager at Mwagusi Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2019

Thank you so much for the wonderful review you have added for Mwagusi. It was a real pleasure having you all in camp. Trudie, Jimmy and Abdullah will be waiting for your return! The team at Mwagusi work hard to provide an experience and stay to remember and our chefs to provide a variety of meals to suit all needs. We hope one day to welcome you all back to Mwagusi, in the meantime enjoy the memories you have made with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2019

After over 30 years travelling in Africa and of those over 20 spent in East Africa this was only our second stay at Mwagusi camp, why we missed this hidden gem for so long is a mystery. The camp has a great location by the river in the wet season or river bed in the dry season and excellently situated within the park some 30 minutes away from the small airport. The food in both quality, choice and amount is very good and we love the bush breakfasts. The rooms are very large and comfortable as is the bed which were kept exceptionally clean by our attendant Kanu who also did our ironing and brought us tea and cakes each morning, bless him. All the staff at Mwagusi are very helpful and attentive to your needs, whilst the guides and drivers are very experienced and knowledgable and will endeavour to get you that once in a life time photo. This is a location however that requires a little patience with wildlife viewing, its not the Serengeti and you certainly won't see the large number of vehicles rushing to each sighting which is a bonus but, the wildlife types are exceptional, wild dogs, lesser and greater kudu's, sable and roan antelopes as well as a number of the more common species. This is a camp that comes highly recommended.

Room tip: All bandanas give great views across the river or river bed
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ahtrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwagusi, Guest Relations Manager at Mwagusi Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2019

Your lovely review and recommendation is appreciated and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The park is certainly quite diverse and during the months of January/February the beauty is apparent. Your kind comments will be passed onto the staff at Mwagusi and hopefully one day they will be welcoming you back. Thank you from the team at Mwagusi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2019

This lodge is definitely not a 5 star camp. We have stayed in others that were run a lot better and were a lot cleaner. The owner Chris Fox was not present during our stay and he needs to be there to train his managers better. They need to be trained better in hospitality and customer service. The guides and drivers were very friendly and so were the other staff. We found the managers were very lazy and not doing their jobs properly.
They kept insisting we sit in front of a hot fire each night before dinner when it was extremely hot out. They were not helping the staff with pre-drink orders and they kept trying to have dinner served to us in the dark away from the lodge with all the flies.
We told them each night that we were not interested in eating in the dark with the flies.
The lighting is very bad in the rooms especially in the bathrooms. The owner has been so cheap with the lighting in the main lodge that the chefs had to hold up flashlights over the buffet each night to show us the food. The dinner buffet was very marginal. The lunch buffet was better. The bush breakfast each morning was very basic and not enough food for the guests and the guide and driver. The sundowners did not exist like other lodges. We were offered very plain snacks while we were driving in the jeep and warm beer. This lodge does not include alcoholic drinks but they said on their website that all other drinks were included. This was not the case as we were charged at the end of our stay to our surprise a bill for all soft drinks ordered at the lodge. The management said that only soft drinks offered on the safari drives were free. The owner is charging extremely high rates for his lodge that is outdated, poor management service, no wifi, no alcohol, and poor quality of food. We were extremely dissatisfied with this lodge compared to other lodges we have stayed at that did offer 5 star service. Therefore, the owner of this lodge needs to be present, train his managers better, update his lodge, improve the food, offer decent sundowners and lower his prices.

Room tip: All rooms are very basic
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrendaMW61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I Spent seven weeks on safari in southern Africa and this was our next to the last lodge. It did not disappoint. The food was terrific the staff was wonderful and the guiding (Baldon) was superb. We saw of the big four and got a National Geographic photo of a leopard on a rock!
Walking with canes I had difficulty one night getting back from the outside dinner. Martin and Heinrich arranged for three guys to carry me back in a chair I felt like a king!
I would highly recommend this lodge!!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 837MichaelN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews