We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveler rating
171
21
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
171
21
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river dry river bed game drives management team other guests breakfast in the bush different locations the main lodge wonderful animals knowledgeable guide wild dogs gluten free delicious lunch safari experience fantastic experience hot shower full moon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 196 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2019

After over 30 years travelling in Africa and of those over 20 spent in East Africa this was only our second stay at Mwagusi camp, why we missed this hidden gem for so long is a mystery. The camp has a great location by the river in the wet season or river bed in the dry season and excellently situated within the park some 30 minutes away from the small airport. The food in both quality, choice and amount is very good and we love the bush breakfasts. The rooms are very large and comfortable as is the bed which were kept exceptionally clean by our attendant Kanu who also did our ironing and brought us tea and cakes each morning, bless him. All the staff at Mwagusi are very helpful and attentive to your needs, whilst the guides and drivers are very experienced and knowledgable and will endeavour to get you that once in a life time photo. This is a location however that requires a little patience with wildlife viewing, its not the Serengeti and you certainly won't see the large number of vehicles rushing to each sighting which is a bonus but, the wildlife types are exceptional, wild dogs, lesser and greater kudu's, sable and roan antelopes as well as a number of the more common species. This is a camp that comes highly recommended.

Room tip: All bandanas give great views across the river or river bed
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ahtrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwagusi, Guest Relations Manager at Mwagusi Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2019

Your lovely review and recommendation is appreciated and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The park is certainly quite diverse and during the months of January/February the beauty is apparent. Your kind comments will be passed onto the staff at Mwagusi and hopefully one day they will be welcoming you back. Thank you from the team at Mwagusi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2019

This lodge is definitely not a 5 star camp. We have stayed in others that were run a lot better and were a lot cleaner. The owner Chris Fox was not present during our stay and he needs to be there to train his managers better. They need to be trained better in hospitality and customer service. The guides and drivers were very friendly and so were the other staff. We found the managers were very lazy and not doing their jobs properly.
They kept insisting we sit in front of a hot fire each night before dinner when it was extremely hot out. They were not helping the staff with pre-drink orders and they kept trying to have dinner served to us in the dark away from the lodge with all the flies.
We told them each night that we were not interested in eating in the dark with the flies.
The lighting is very bad in the rooms especially in the bathrooms. The owner has been so cheap with the lighting in the main lodge that the chefs had to hold up flashlights over the buffet each night to show us the food. The dinner buffet was very marginal. The lunch buffet was better. The bush breakfast each morning was very basic and not enough food for the guests and the guide and driver. The sundowners did not exist like other lodges. We were offered very plain snacks while we were driving in the jeep and warm beer. This lodge does not include alcoholic drinks but they said on their website that all other drinks were included. This was not the case as we were charged at the end of our stay to our surprise a bill for all soft drinks ordered at the lodge. The management said that only soft drinks offered on the safari drives were free. The owner is charging extremely high rates for his lodge that is outdated, poor management service, no wifi, no alcohol, and poor quality of food. We were extremely dissatisfied with this lodge compared to other lodges we have stayed at that did offer 5 star service. Therefore, the owner of this lodge needs to be present, train his managers better, update his lodge, improve the food, offer decent sundowners and lower his prices.

Room tip: All rooms are very basic
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrendaMW61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I Spent seven weeks on safari in southern Africa and this was our next to the last lodge. It did not disappoint. The food was terrific the staff was wonderful and the guiding (Baldon) was superb. We saw of the big four and got a National Geographic photo of a leopard on a rock!
Walking with canes I had difficulty one night getting back from the outside dinner. Martin and Heinrich arranged for three guys to carry me back in a chair I felt like a king!
I would highly recommend this lodge!!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 837MichaelN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2019

Mwagusi is a lovely camp and the managers and staff make it a very special experience. I have now stayed several times and have only ever been disappointed when I have to leave.
For me, the best safari experiences depend on the guiding and at Mwagusi it is excellent. I have been out with several of the guides - all knowledgeable and charming and all really excited to see the wonderful animals and birds despite having seen them so many times before.
TOP TIP - you really do not need to be driving around the Park all day looking for big cats and elephants. The park itself is exceptionally beautiful and you should take time to look out for the more unusual and interesting stuff. You will still see the lions and elephants (they are almost impossible to ignore) but you might also see a Caracal or an Aardwolf if you take it slower.

Room tip: the rooms are all very individual and charming
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mruth14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2019

Great camp on a bank of Mwagusi river in the middle of Ruaha National Park along travelling route of elephants herds. Luxurious Western style amenities and great service. The best dining in Tanzania. Unforgettable experience.

Room tip: Best safari ever with gorgeous dining experience.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Arek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews