We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Experience”
Review of Mwagusi Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruaha National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mwagusi Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Incredible Experience”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Incredible lodge with great game, guides, food, and rooms. Stayed here for 3 nights during the dry season. Our guide Justine was very knowledgable and informative, and went out of his way to help us at all times. The park is not crowded, and you can spend hours without seeing another car. We saw tons of lions, elephants, giraffes, a leopard, two cheetahs, and so much more. The walking safari with the park rangers was very interesting and a good change of pace from the game drives.

The bandas (rooms) are built into the surroundings next to the river, allowing for great game viewing from the room. Dinner is served in the dry riverbed, surrounded by lanterns and a bonfire, which is an incredible surrounding. Well worth the extra travel time to Southern Tanzania.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EugeniusA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
70
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I visited Mwagusi Camp on 7th September. We both absolutely loved it and will definately be back! The staff were incredibly friendly and made us feel very welcome at all times. The bandas are magnifient in every way, from furnishings to facilities. The camp is run totally on solar panel but there was always an abundance of hot water in the shower. The food was out of this world, dinner in the riverbed was very special! Lying on the amazingly comfortable sofas on the verandah looking out at the game in the riverbed was so relaxing - could have stayed there all day!!!! We did "self-drive" for the game drives and never saw another vehicle once!!!! Just awesome. Game was plentiful. A most magical experience. Thanks once again to all the staff. Tony & Lucie Bird

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie_Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane QLD
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The accommodation was spacious and comfortable. Dinner in the riverbed was memorable, the setting was magical but the food average. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and accommodate all our requests. I understand this is a remote location but charging cameras and videos was a hassle. I found it strange having different guides each day, I prefer to have the one guide who knows what I have previously seen and understands what I am interested in. Having said this the game viewing was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awayagainBrisbaneQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed with my two nieces aged 12 and 14. We all loved it, it is a beautiful camp with gorgeous bandas - very spacious and luxurious and with lovely view down to the almost dry river bed. The large veranda with built in sofas with squashy cushions and a swing seat was most relaxing in the afternoon. Two "resident" elephants trundle around and one afternoon we watched three lionesses coming down to drink at the trickle of water in the river bed. But there is always something to watch - baboons, rock hyrax, guinea fowl etc. The food was rather mixed. The lunch buffet was very good, sometimes superb, and breakfast was good, but dinner was very basic. Charging cameras etc is inconvenient because they have to be charged in the office, there is only power at certain times of the day and the only realistic window is between lunch and the afternoon game drive. We came to the Ruaha from Selous and they made an excellent contrast. Ruaha is more beautiful, more undulating and rocky, and we saw more elephants here and all the wildlife we wanted, even two cheetah which my husband and I had not had a good sighting of in previous safaris. All the animals were very relaxed. It was our fourth safari and the first for my nieces and both parks and both camps were ideal for all of us. Most days we got up at 7 for breakfast at 7.30 and out at 8, which was very civilised after being used to getting up much earlier in the hotter months! It was a bit chilly first thing but quickly warmed up. Our guide Isaac and driver were very good and once they collected some baobab pods, made juice from them and gave us some to try for sundowners - it was delicious, very refreshing. The camp did not seem to encourage full day game drives, but one morning we went out at 6.30 and had a bush breakfast later on at a scenic spot by a huge baobab and looking down on a river, which we enjoyed for a change. I would certainly recommend Mwagusi but it would be better if they could improve the quality of dinner and have power to charge cameras overnight rather than having to do without it during the afternoon when watching elephants and lions from the banda!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyrtleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our family ( 2 teenage boys included) had our most memorable safari at Mwagusi Camp, Ruaha. The camp is simply outstanding with a great history and our host and owner Chris Fox is a legend. We were enthralled by his amazing stories. The camp itself is unique with its large, airy "bandas", spacious verandas and comfortable bathrooms. The food was excellent and every night they had a different Al Fresco location. Elephants were regular visitors to the camp and at times we had to maneouver past them, a thrilling experience!
The game viewing in Ruaha was prolific, some of the best that we have ever seen. We have been on countless safaris but Ruaha truly is a hidden gem. We saw many lions, cheetahs, leopards, giraffes, elephants and much more. The guiding was fabulous and Geoffrey was one of the best guides that we have had on safari.
Thanks once again to all at Mwagusi Camp and to Chris Fox who made our safari to remember for a lifetime!
The Amersey family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Nine friends and I spent 3 nights at Mwagusi Camp as part of a 2 week trip to Tanzania. All of our lodgings in Tanzania were outstanding but Mwagusi Camp was beyond them all. My best friend and I shared a banda...a very spacious thatched roof structure with a tent in the middle to fully enclose the bedroom at night. The bandas are very attractively set up and the beds are very comfortable. Each banda has a bathroom with a flush toilet and a shower and some storage spaces. The front of our banda was a sitting area that overlooked a dried out river bank. Elephants are sometimes seen in the river bank.
When we first arrived we hand lunch in their lovely, open-air dining area which also has a view of the river bed. On our remaining days I was out on game drives and we had breakfast and lunch at nice locations on the game drives. All of the meals, whether at the camp or on the road, were excellent. But dinner is beyond description because it happens in a fantasy like outdoor setting. I don't want to describe it in any detail because it would be better for you to just be amazed when you are there. The dinners were all outstanding and the wine choices, although limited, were excellent.
The game drives were really wonderful and much of the credit goes to the guides and drivers. We left at 6:30 in the morning when the sun was just coming up and stayed out until about 6:30PM. That was our option. Some people prefer to return to camp for a lunchtime break. In the few days we were there we had incredible sightings including several lions, a cheetah, a leopard, many elephants and giraffes. At the time that we were there, Mwagusi camp was the only lodge that was open for the season so the guides did not get any game tips from drivers from other camps. They found some of these animals, especially the cats, because of their knowledge of the park and of the animals' behaviors.
We even had a wildlife close encounter in the middle of the night when 2 elephants came to eat right next to our banda. That was a very memorable experience.
In summary, Mwagusi Camp is simply amazing and I truly hope to go back and to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Mwagusi Safari Camp is one of the most amazing locations we have ever stayed. It is an "over the top" lodging experience in arguably one of the best wildlife interaction parks anywhere! The individual accommodations are amazing and the common areas fir the park's atmosphere. The guides are extremely knowledgeable, the food is great, the "on location" dinners are special, and the wildlife encounters are second to none...and don't miss the river walk! The remote nature of this camp and the park make it a unique experience. It was our second visit to Mwagusi and Connie, the new camp manager, has improved upon what we did not think was possible to improve. Don't miss this experience if you have the opportunity!

Room Tip: All individual banda are great...ask for the one that the elephant will visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mwagusi Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mwagusi Camp

Property: Mwagusi Camp
Address: Chris Fox Mwagusi Safari Camp Ruaha National Park | Iringa, Ruaha National Park, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Iringa Region > Ruaha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Ruaha National Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Mwagusi Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the bank of the Mwagusi River, this small exclusive tented camp overlooks the beautiful riverbed and all its’ natural visitors. Our camp is built along the lines of a traditional old-style African safari experience. Each tent is designed within a thatched banda with polished clay-red floors. Luxury has not been forgotten with an en-suite bathing area and a shaded veranda with lounging cushions and swinging hammock. Enjoy excellent game-viewing with our knowledgeable guides, on a game drive or a safari walk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mwagusi Camp Hotel Ruaha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing