We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ojen, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Pool”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The pool will not soon be forgotten. The whole setting is beautiful and let's not to forget the staff:.: extremely friendly. The restaurant, however ande the too quick service around the dinner, gave unfortunately an idea of mass tourism

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    313
    80
    16
    6
See reviews for
192
336
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Benahavis, Spain
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is a very nice hotel, close to the Manyara Lake Game Park. Excellent facilities, very good food and service. However, getting there is not much fun as the access road from the highway is in very bad shape. Let's hope it will be fixed soon! I also found the game viewing first class (although not as good as in the Serengeti, of course), except that the roads always remain quite far from the lake, thus preventing a close look at the birds.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil0009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed in 4 Serena hotels on our trip, this is the less recommendable. The rroms are ok, but watch out for a male baboon running through the camp to try to get food from the garbage tons.
The view is great if you have an upstairs room -the pool has the best view, but was pretty cold in November,maybe its not heated.
The food was weak, even it was thge same system as in other serenas this was not as pretty arranged as elsewhere.
Friendly staff, specially the diner waitresses, good bar !

Room Tip: Upstairs room will make your stay more relaxing and enjoyable !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeMagnifique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordyce, Arkansas
Level Contributor
215 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at six different properties during our 12 day safari in Kenya/Tanzania, and while this was not a bad property, it was the weakest of the six. It is perched atop a high ridge overlooking the rift valley and Lake Manyara National Park.

The view is nice from some spots, but ground floor rooms have their views completely obscured by vegetation. Seems a huge waste. The infinity pool and associated bar, on the other hand have a great view.

The hotel is accessed by what may be the single worst road I have ever used to access a lodging of any kind, including a South Arkansas deer camp. Bumpy, rutted, literally one laned, it is a five minute adventure to reach the lodge. Seriously, if you are going to spring for a luxury hotel, build a road to it. Stay at Gibbs Farm instead.

Room Tip: Insist upon a second floor room. Otherwise, you'll be looking at vegetation instead of the worl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santhony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This was the second stop on our honeymoon and our favourite. We arrived to a very friendly welcome and baboons stealing food from the kitchen and being chased by staff. Food and wine first rate, pool and views fantastic. The entertainment we saw in the evening was perhaps the best we've seen ever, even the noisy noisy frogs didn't stop us loving this place. extra special attention was given to us as it was our honeymoon like champagne and cake in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen44krissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We loved everything about this lodge. The room, the infinity pool, the lounge, the food, the friendly staff...wish we could have stayed longer. I liked the security in the evening, walking us to our room. We swam in the infinity pool...what a view as well as refreshing. Lovely views and a comfy bed! Thankyou!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room because of the beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver bc
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The hotel is on the edge of the Rift Valley overlooking Lake Manyara and its park in the distance.
Infinity pool right on the edge. Rooms were attractive and comfortable. Only Buffet style meals making it definitely a stop for mass market and cruise type travellers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Habari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
23.5 mi away
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
612 reviews
18.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#6 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,513 reviews
2.5 mi away
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
#2 of 41 in Lake Manyara National Park
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#4 of 41 in Lake Manyara National Park
260 reviews
17.0 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
402 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#3 of 41 in Lake Manyara National Park
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manyara Serena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Property: Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Manyara Serena Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking as its muse the glorious bird life of the fabulously soda-encrusted and pink flamingo-fringed...Lake Manyara, the swooping curves of this elegantly evocative lodge defy description. As do the soaring views over the Great Rift Valley, the rose-gold sunsets over the Mto Wa Mbu escarpment and the utterly unique tree climbing Lake Manyara lions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Lake Manyara Serena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Serena Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing