We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, Lovely, Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bound Brook, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely, Lovely, Lovely”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for only one night awaiting our flight up north to the Serengeti while on a photo shoot. The airport is very close 1 or 2 miles away. Our room was nice and clean. Plenty of hot water and electricity. We found a dozen roses in our room as well as nuts and potato chips. The view of the valley and Lake Manyara was beautiful. The infinity pool looked great and there was a bar there too. They have entertainment from local people nightly both by the pool and dinning area. The food both dinner and breakfast gave lots of choice. The salad is buffet style as well as the breakfast. The prices of wine and alcohol were reasonable. The wifi worked well and was free. The employees were very nice.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor. Some rooms have a view also of the pool but I think that would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesV1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    318
    81
    16
    6
See reviews for
200
340
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rowley
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed one night and enjoyed a swim in the pool which overlooked Lake Manyara as far as you could see. Great internet service allowing us to share our trip with our children and grand children. Evening dinner was buffet stile with plenty to choose from and everything was very tasty. Breakfast was also buffet style and we left full and ready for our daylong safari. Room was comfortable, but view from room not great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We only stayed for one night but this stay was very good. The hotel managed to mess up our reservation and so we had to wait an hour for them to find us rooms. Having found the rooms they were spacious and tidy however they were also very dated and the bathrooms a bit grotty. The hotel arranged for us to have a private dinner by the pool which was amazing as they prepared a barbecue just for us and brought the whole buffet outside for our family. The hotel is managed very well and is easy to settle in to. The wifi is ridiculous. They only allow you 24 hours of free wifi but will provide with a new key if you ask. You have to log on every time you want to use it and can only use it on one device. It begs the question why they don't just make it an open connection for everybody to use??

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Guppy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
495 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed only 1 night, before AM safari.
Grounds nice, lovely pool , staff friendly , food average no wows, bumpy road on way in, great view . Bedroom was average heard alot of noise from room upstairs , clean very hot water, free wifi

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuienkerke, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is one of the best lodges we did in Tanzania. The Serena lodges in general seem a little better than the Sopa Lodges (but the Ngorongoro Sopa was perfect also!!). The rooms are located in little chalets, almost all with nice views over Lake Manyara , with a very nice little pool. The restaurant is very good, with certainly some of the friendliest staff members we have met. Try to ask a table on the outside terrace, it's really splendid ! Clean rooms, nice little bathroom, very quiet night rest. Go there if you do Lake Manyara (but the park Lake Manyara itself rather disappointed us, but it was a nice and quiet intermezzo...). ! If you do a safari tour, I think you have to do always first Tarangire and Lake Manyara, and last Ngorongoro and Serengeti...not to get disappointed ! But we had a perfect stay here !

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a nice sight, but certainly there are some bungalows at the POOL SIDE (left s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gee_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Only stayed one night here during safari in Kenya and Tanzania. This hotel is pleasant enough with spacious comfortable rooms, well maintained grounds, very attentive staff and a good restaurant. However, it lacks any "wow factor." The location is, by Tanzanian standards, nothing special. The Lake Manyara National Park is relatively small and different to larger parks with some different wildlife and the local town Mto Wa Mbu is an interesting place to visit - we purchased some good wood carvings from local carvers. However, I felt we did all we wanted to do in the area in just 24 hours, so I would not recommend a protracted stay, although that is not a criticism of the hotel itself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docverns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed for one night at this beautiful lodge and would highly recommend it. As a female solo traveler, I felt completely safe and the room was large and nicely appointed. Dinner was delicious and the service was excellent. The views are incredible!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
18.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,563 reviews
4.8 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#5 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
270 reviews
17.0 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#3 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
133 reviews
12.4 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#5 of 50 in Karatu
170 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manyara Serena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Property: Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Manyara Serena Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking as its muse the glorious bird life of the fabulously soda-encrusted and pink flamingo-fringed...Lake Manyara, the swooping curves of this elegantly evocative lodge defy description. As do the soaring views over the Great Rift Valley, the rose-gold sunsets over the Mto Wa Mbu escarpment and the utterly unique tree climbing Lake Manyara lions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Lake Manyara Serena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Serena Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing