We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lake view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This Lodge has great view from the bar at Lake Manyara and it is the most valuable asset of this lodge for sure. Service was quite unexperianced and we have some mixed feeling, but overall was ok. Take a room at higher level of small houses, a bit better view on lake. Food was quite good, but other Serena hotels (Ngorongoro and Mbuzi Camp) have much better food and much more friendly service.

Room Tip: Take a room at higher level of small houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pawel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 781 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a very nice property located on the cliff overlooking Lake Manyera. The pool view was AMAZING! We could see wildebeast with our binoculars. The rooms are nice and very large. The service was outstanding. As we prepared to leave there were several young men waiting to help us with our luggage. We saw an antelope on our short walk back to our room after dinner. Would be nice to have internet in your room but at least they had it in the dining area. Food was very good and a nice variety of selections. Overall, a very nice hotel in Tanzania.

Room Tip: I did not see a noticeable difference in the rooms except the 2nd level rooms probably have a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimtravels4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Another wonderful Serena property. Small enough to be intimate, nice rooms, and an infinity pool that had the most incredible view of the lake. The restaurant was à la carte, a nice change from the buffets offered in many hotels, and the food was delicious, with top-notch service.

We stayed here as part of our safari, for only one night. I would love to return for two or three nights to enjoy the serenity and the visiting wildlife, which I could easily do as I reside in Tanzania. However, when I enquired about rates, they were wildly over the top (as is usually the case in Tanzania - hotel rates are completely out of context...). So I purposely left "value" unchecked - it was a great inclusion in our safari, but as an independent traveller, it is overpriced.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubakjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night at the end of our week long honeymoon booked through Real Africa in the UK. We were delighted to end a wonderful week at this beautiful lodge!
We were given Room 49 which had the very best uninterrupted, fabulous view of Lake Manyara! The rooms are beautifully decorated and really quirky! Fantastic and unusual design!
The lodge was beautifully lit at night and made for a magical atmosphere....we thoroughly enjoyed the poolside entertainment of traditional dance and music! Wonderful!
The pool is amazing! Though we didn't have chance to use it, it is a beautifully set infinity pool with amazing views over the mountainside of Lake Manyara!
We enjoyed a short game drive in te national park and were disappointed with the lack of game and were unlucky not to see any lions here but I would still definitely recommend staying at this lodge as a stop off on your way to/from the Crater or Airport!

Food was amazing!!! We are vegetarian and particularly fussy eaters...the choice at this lodge was incredible! Dinner had numerous options including a 'vegetarian corner station where they served indian saaks, paratha, rices. There were numerous pasta options available as well as meditaranian cuisines. Beautiful deserts, salads, breads, cheeses, fruits - superb choice!

The staff were welcoming and friendly at all times! Fantastic service!

Thanks Lake Manyara Serena for making the end of our honeymoon so memorable!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWilliams86_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The lodge is located on a hill overlooking Lake Manyara, which was teeming with flamingos and we could see their numbers from our room! The lodge has dik diks and suni antelope within its premises which was a lovely sight as we got there. The rooms are on 2 levels with balconies facing the lake down below. The lodge is built in traditional Masai designand set amidst a thick cover of trees so its cool in the shade (but can get very warm in the open). Rooms are basic but tastefully designed and with colourful upholstery, The game drive was a bit disappointing though we saw a large number of birds and big herds of elephant. The tree climbing lions of Manyara eluded us! We spent the evening at the bar which was nice and colourful with its own colours as well as people of different nationalities that were seated there. There was an evening tribal dance program which was attended by practically everybody. The food platter was excellent with a lot of choice - veg and non veg. Would like to spend a bit more time as one night is not enough here as the morning game drive is important but is usually missed as one one is busy either driving to the Crater or to Kilimanjaro to catch a flight.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VikInd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Wonderful location, overlooking the Lake Manyara, beautiful gardens and swimming pool, great food and atmosphere at the bar and restaurant, nice rooms, kind staff. We have stayed just for one night, but is enough for exploring the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liskauskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Based outside the national park but with great views of the lake! All the excellent undertakings of the Serena group of hotels. 2 night stay was not enough for this great hotel. The service was impeccable, the food good and rooms very clean. the only gripe I can think about is that the wifi only worked around the bar/lounge area! Not actually a problem then!
The staff are very polite, friendly and accommodating to any request. Packed lunches for the safari were good too.
Overall a great stay!

Room Tip: Some rooms are far from the restaurant and require an escort back at night, but this all makes it an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suruandfreDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
24.6 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
687 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
148 reviews
18.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#6 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
285 reviews
15.9 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#11 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge
andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodg...
#7 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manyara Serena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range: $266 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Manyara Serena Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking as its muse the glorious bird life of the fabulously soda-encrusted and pink flamingo-fringed...Lake Manyara, the swooping curves of this elegantly evocative lodge defy description. As do the soaring views over the Great Rift Valley, the rose-gold sunsets over the Mto Wa Mbu escarpment and the utterly unique tree climbing Lake Manyara lions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lake Manyara Serena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Serena Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing