We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view & pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing view & pool”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of our 5 day safari in Tanzania (Manyara, Serengeti, Ngorongoro). The view was amazing, and the pool was just what you needed after a long game drive. The food was one of the best we had. The room was clean, and the staff members were very friendly. As far as lodges go I would recommend it (especially the pool!).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    316
    81
    16
    6
See reviews for
197
340
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at this wonderful hotel - they all go the extra mile and make you feel valued. Rooms are lovely - spacious and comfortable with large bathrooms and hot roomy showers. Very clean, in the rooms, public areas and the gardens. Food very good with a wide selection for all courses. Only stayed one night as part of a safari trip but would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenJM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
996 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Being greeted with hot towels and fresh juices as you approached the entrance to this hotel is enough the earn the service here 5 stars. It simply is a beautiful hotel. The rooms are spacious and the shower was simply tranquil. The infinity pool can be loads of fun as is the group of Swahili singers which perform at night. The food was amazing!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We only had one night here but really loved the hotel, the pool, gardens, rooms, bar, food, staff - all excellent. Lake Manyara was a bit of a disappointment and in light of what was to come at Ndutu, Ngorongoro, Serengeti, would probably have not stopped. Having said that, the hotel was a lovely getaway and we could have whiled away a few days in the resort.

I would highly recommend the Serena Lake Manyara if you are looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worktotravel010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel was probably the most luxurious that we stayed in during our safari. Bathrobes were provided, with Gilchrist and Soames toiletries (the same as Cunard cruises use). Complimentary drinking water is supplied daily. The restaurant has a wide range of food. Wifi is provided over a fairly wide area. Staff are really helpful: at this hotel there is no staff tip box put in a very obvious place. Instead, they give you an envelope (only if you ask) for your money which you then hand back to reception. This is a very welcome change from the "in-your-face" soliciting for tips at other hotels on our safari.
The infinity pool is beautiful though we had no time to use it. 2 of our group had needed hospital treatment that day and the resident doctor at the hotel was very helpful and insisted on checking up on both of them, for no charge.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite a distance from reception and some have steps. For anyone with a disability, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenmaryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our first impression of this hotel was walking into the gardens and seeing the beautiful infinity pool that takes you right to the splendid view of the Lake Manyara Nat'l Park from atop the escarpment. We visited in February, when all the trees are in bloom. It was spectacular. The rooms are very comfortable, each with a terrace or balcony. Some have more direct views than others. The pool, and pool bar, were a very welcome relief after days on dusty roads in various national parks. The food is offered in the standard Serena style, mostly buffet, with lots of variety, including vegetarian. There was evening entertainment by the pool. I would definitely go back to this place just for the atmosphere and views. As for Lake Manyara, we saw dozens of elephants, including ones that walked right by our vehicle. There were also giraffes, zebras, wildebeest, hippos, flamingos, gazelles, and all sorts of pretty small birds. We didn't see any lions, but others did. It's always a question of luck.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank vgwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night at the beginning of our weeklong safari in Tanzania (Manyara, Serengeti, Ngorongoro). This was our favorite lodge of the group due to the nice view, awesome pool, and small enough size to where you aren't overwhelmed by all of the other guests (like we were at Ngorongoro Sopa lodge). The food was fine but not outstanding, the room was clean, and the staff members were very friendly. As far as lodges go I would recommend it (especially the pool!), but I would recommend that any adventurous travelers stay in tented camps 100% of the time! My only regret about this trip was that I didn't know this in advance. The experience of the tented camps and hearing the animal noises all around is just amazing. However, definitely choose this place if you'd prefer a lodge and you're going to Manyara! By the way, anyone who tells you that Manyara is boring or not worth a trip must be very jaded.... my husband and I have never been on safari before, and Manyara was our first stop. We were SO EXCITED by the animals we saw (monkeys, baboons, elephants, giraffes, hippos, zebra, etc.) and we couldn't believe that people had told us not to bother going there. It's a great first stop becuase you probably will see more spectacular things in the Serengeti and at Ngorongoro (can't speak for the others), but that doesn't mean it's not worth a trip! I would only recommend staying there one day though.... you can see the entire park in one game drive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhunter29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
18.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,540 reviews
4.8 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#4 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
265 reviews
17.0 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#3 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
120 reviews
2.2 mi away
Burudika Lodges
Burudika Lodges
#2 of 15 in Mto wa Mbu
26 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manyara Serena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Property: Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Manyara Serena Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking as its muse the glorious bird life of the fabulously soda-encrusted and pink flamingo-fringed...Lake Manyara, the swooping curves of this elegantly evocative lodge defy description. As do the soaring views over the Great Rift Valley, the rose-gold sunsets over the Mto Wa Mbu escarpment and the utterly unique tree climbing Lake Manyara lions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Lake Manyara Serena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Serena Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing