We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely loved this place! I want to go back!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
141 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved this place! I want to go back!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was the first stop on our safari and my wife and I just loved this place. We went in mid-February and stayed for 2 nights. Although there were quite a few of us that arrived at the same time, the staff quickly got us introduced to the lodge and moved us on to our room - #61. The room was very clean and the furnishings were wonderful! Our view (we had a second level room) was awesome - the Great Rift Valley and Lake Manyara. The pool and bar are just incredible - the pride of this lodge! It rained (hard) once for about 15 minutes and it was an amazing sight to see from the bar! The food was also spectacular. We had the breakfast and dinner buffett, and the box lunches (which were average, but everywhere we went they were average). They had a small band playing African rhythms during dinner that was a perfect compliment to the atmosphere.

Although we had mosquito nets, we had NO problem with any bugs. We didn't get a single one in our place (thank goodness!). My wife and I can't think of a single negative thing about this place. We took a bike safari into the village and it was a great experience! Do it! Nevertheless, if we come back to the area this is the place we will be staying and recommending to everyone!

Room Tip: I would try to get a 2nd story room. We did and we didn't have any problems with bugs. Not sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike100274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    306
    80
    16
    6
See reviews for
188
333
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Lake Manyara probably is not on the popular safari circuit. This lodge was the smallest of the three Serena lodges we stayed at. We were welcomed warmly upon arrival, checked in promptly and were assigned an upper level room as per our request. The room was very comfortable and included a mosquito net. The view from our balcony was stunning. We stayed at the lodge two nights.
There was a great variety of food at all meals to satisfy most tastes. We requested Chef John to make a special picnic lunch for one of the members in our group. He happily obliged. Entertainment in the evening poolside was a pleasant surprise. As this lodge is relatively small, the service was very attentive. It is an intimate lodge, it did not feel like a hotel at all. Great place to relax and unwind. Watch the sunset from your balcony, take a dip in the pool or enjoy a drink while taking in the beautiful view. Evening meals are a delight if you decide to sit at one of the "outside" tables. Surprisingly there were no mosquitoes to diminish our dining pleasure.
We will certainly remember our stay for a long time to come, thanks to the wonderful staff and unique location of this facility.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room for those breathtaking views from your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curiousrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Lake Manyara Serena Lodge was the best of 3 Serena properties we stayed at during our safari in Tanzania, and is one of the best places we have ever stayed in over 50 countries. The rooms, view, pool, food, and service are all exceptional, and are exactly what you want after a long day of safari game drives. The property sits on a ridge several hundred feet above the Lake Manyara national park, offering great views, and cooler temperatures than down below. The rooms are large, with individual balconies looking out over the park and lake. The view from the infinity pool looking over the park is amazing, and a great place to cool down and relax. The food at the restaurant is very good, and the service is excellent. This is the place to stay if visiting the Lake Manyara park, and is not far from the Tarangire park as well.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor will offer a better view, but room 54 on the first floor had a good view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at 2 Serena resorts and one luxury tent camp on the Safari leg of our trip to Tanzania. They all have unique architecture and vastly different geography but they share excellent service, good food, entertainment, etc. Out in the rugged outdoors all day, then coming to a place such as the Serena Safari Lodge is almost a surreal feeling. You're in the middle of nowhere but you don't worry about things like the food, water, etc. They even have wi-fi which surprised the heck out of me. Wish we could have stayed longer. The one complaint--although inviting, the beds are as hard as a rock.

Room Tip: There are rooms with balconies over-looking Lake Manyara. Worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeZonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at the lodge as part of our safari. Perched on the edge of a valley overlooking Lake Manyara the views were spectacular. As in keeping within Africa the rooms were very large and felt impersonal but they were very clean and comfortable.
The food and service was second to none. One complaint would be the lunch boxes not only provided by this lodge but all the lodges, they are horrible!! Remember if your on one of these safari's try and buy something to take for lunch unless you like cardboard and dry chicken, chicken and perhaps more chicken.
Wi-fi available only in public areas, but at least there is wi-fi.
Yes we would return if on a safari again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in December 2012 at the begining of a weeks safari. It was the perfect place to relax after a long journey and we could quite happily have stayed here for a few more days. Although it is outside the conservation area, being on the rim of the rift valley it has wonderful views over Lake Manyara. We did see some wildlife in the hotel grounds - deer, monkeys, lizards etc. The facilities at the hotel are excellent and we enjoyed the infinity pool and taking a stroll around the extensive grounds with the in-house nature guide. There was a good choice of buffet style food, the service from waiters and houekeeping staff was excellent and the accommodation was in keeping with the surroundings and very comfortable. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a first floor room for the best uninterrupted view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We loved this place. Charming little bungalow type huts overlooking Lake Manyara. An Infinity swimmng pool overlooking the lake as well. Spent a fair amount of time by the pool enjoying the water, the view, and of course the Kilimanjaro Lagers....Rooms were very comfortable, good bed, clean. Excellent dinner and breakfast with good service. Our favorite Serena lodge from our 7 day stay in Tanzania, followed closely by the one on the Ngorongoro Crater Rim.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GRtraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
7.9 mi away
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
24.7 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
8.5 mi away
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
#2 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.9 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#4 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#3 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
20.2 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 47 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manyara Serena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Property: Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Manyara Serena Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking as its muse the glorious bird life of the fabulously soda-encrusted and pink flamingo-fringed...Lake Manyara, the swooping curves of this elegantly evocative lodge defy description. As do the soaring views over the Great Rift Valley, the rose-gold sunsets over the Mto Wa Mbu escarpment and the utterly unique tree climbing Lake Manyara lions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Lake Manyara Serena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Serena Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing