We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Larger than we prefer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Larger than we prefer”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Serena Lake Manyara Safari Lodge is located on the rim overlooking Lake Manyara and the park and is about 10-15 minutes from the entrance to the park. We stayed here on Christmas night, 2012. It is a larger accommodation than we generally like to stay at when visiting Africa, with about 67 rooms vs 6-7. The rooms are large, with 4 rooms per 'rondoval'. The beds are comfortable and all have a balcony/patio with a view. There is no air conditioning, but there is a fan. Our room had a view of the pool (and Lake Manyara). As a Christmas gift, a plate of cookies was brought to our room and there was a manager's reception with music, drinks and appetizers before dinner. The pool area was a bit loud on Christmas with music and 'drinking' contest, but quieted down around 11 pm. The meals are all buffet with a variety of cheeses, fruits, vegetables/salads, meats, pasta, Indian food, breads and desserts. Lunch did not excite us (maybe it was the jet lag), and when we were asked to complete a survey, the manager came to ask what was wrong and what they could do differently. The pancakes (crepes) at breakfast were delicious. Christmas dinner was part buffet, part made-to-order and was good. The dinner menu included Norwegian salmon with avocado, pumpkin soup, beef 'tenderloin' with steamed veggies and potato and an assortment of desserts. The house wine was not very good, but the only other wine was by the bottle (and not cheap compared to other places we've stayed in Africa - around $30). There are few options at Lake Manyara so I would stay here again, but prefer smaller/boutique lodging in general.

Room Tip: The 2nd level rooms probably have more of a view. If you don't want the 'pool' noise, r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nimett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    318
    81
    16
    6
See reviews for
200
340
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Spectacular views, great service and good food. This was our second lodge on our safari and we all enjoyed it. The food was better than other Serena lodges. The box lunch the next day was also decent (the best we had on safari).

We had four rooms and everyone was happy with the accommodations, the service and the food.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms seem to have a good view. Second story rooms seem to have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 01dFo1ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed the night of December 28, 2012. Having just spent the previous night at the Serena Lodge, Ngorongoro Crater, I was a little disappointed in the lack of any view. The establishment is set up more as a resort with a lot of acreage. The property itself is quite large and the accomodations are quite unique. It is well lit in the evenings so there is no problem getting around. Dinner and breakfast were quite enjoyable however unlike the previous lodge the tables were unassigned causing some chaos during meal times. Ideal for families. Service is quite slow but after all 'pole pole' seems to be way of life in Tanzania.

Room Tip: I found the stairs to our room a little trying and not because of the number but the steepness so su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 444SusyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Having stayed 8 nights in various Serena and Sarova properties and Kenya and Tanzania, and have been very impressed with all properties in Tanzania we had high expectations that were not met.

We asked a room with a view of the park, and received a room of the 1st floor with no privacy that unfortunately has not been properly cleaned. Unusually in our experience in Africa, the service was pretty poor, when we went to reception to speak to the manager about the room, asking for another room we were told that hotel is full (very possible) and that the room will be cleaned again. Unfortunately the manager did not follow-up in the evening and did not follow-up the next morning when we were checking out. This is not the service we got used to in other Serena properties, where any questions or concerned were addressed very quickly and staff, reception staff, managers always made sure that any situation was resolved. Perhaps this being one of the busiest days of the year (December 26) is a partial explanation.

The room was outdated, the linen looked dated, etc.

On a positive size a spectacular location overlooking the Manyara National Park and the hotel has a nature trail that I can walk independently. There was a good selection and quality of the food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilya42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in four Serena lodges in Tanzania and Kenya and this was one was the newest and most spectacular grounds. The view was second only to ngorogoro Serena but the food and restaurant service was of a far higher standard and much better than anything else we encountered. Lodges were reasonably sized and well fitted out. Views of the lake were superseded from our dining table in the evening and breakfast.

I am really struggling to pick any kind if fault with this lodge and all I can come up with is that the packed lunches we get here and from other Serena lodges was very poor and not up to the standard of what they served you in restaurants.

I would definitely return here and next time would spend a few days instead on the one that we had.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Heccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The room was clean, comfortable and had a great view over Lake Manyara and the park. The room itself was very cute - kind of like a human-sized thatched-roof bird house (ok, weird description but true). There were babboons right outside our patio and apparently, other animals pop around to visit fairly often as well.

The infinity pool overlooks Lake Manyara - and is gorgeous. We declined a swim, but enjoyed the bar area - which wraps around to take advantage of the view as well.

Dinner was delicious - a huge buffet - truly food gluttony, but amazing. The staff were incredibly friendly. We enjoyed it for a night's stay - but my recommendation would be to keep it a quick stay. I think if we had spent a few days here, we would have gotten a bit bored.

Room Tip: we were on the 1st floor - with 2 twin beds pushed together and a separate 3rd twin bed. Very clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninska_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel in a beautiful location. Food was incredible in variety and quality. Pool was amazing with view of the lake far below. Only negatives were wait staff who stick to you like glue and seem to be only concerned with tips. Also, very aggressive approach to rating service at the end of visit.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank s_w_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
18.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,563 reviews
4.8 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#5 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
270 reviews
17.0 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#3 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
133 reviews
12.4 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#5 of 50 in Karatu
170 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manyara Serena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Property: Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Manyara Serena Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking as its muse the glorious bird life of the fabulously soda-encrusted and pink flamingo-fringed...Lake Manyara, the swooping curves of this elegantly evocative lodge defy description. As do the soaring views over the Great Rift Valley, the rose-gold sunsets over the Mto Wa Mbu escarpment and the utterly unique tree climbing Lake Manyara lions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lake Manyara Serena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Serena Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing