We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lions grunting outside our window. Amazing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here in December during our safari for only 1 night. However, what a night. The rooms are interesting and cute - like walking up to a Hobbit house. Dinner was fantastic - with a buffet of foods from different cultures. The infinity pool overlooks the Serengeti - how many times might you say that to friends and family?! It was cold, but invigorating. Great gift shop.

The rooms were spacious and bed was comfy.

Now for the best part: Just after dark we cracked open the window in our room with the lights out and, perfectly still, we listened. For more than three hours we heard at least 2 lions grunting right outside our room. This was an experience to be savored - provided we were safely in room! They seemed perfectly content, with a an occasional low roar. Obviously, you do not walk around this place at night, which made it even more exciting.

If we can get back to Tanzania, I will make sure we're here for more than 1 night.

Room Tip: If you're interested in hearing the wildlife at night, ask for a room farthest out. Just make su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msklausler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 769 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

The rooms and main lodge have some of the most amazing architecture in the country. Unfortunately, the walls of the rooms are so thin you can hear your neighbor think. The view from each room over looks the distant, but nearly dry Manyara Lake. The Associated park is small and better know for its birds than lots of wild animals. It is one park you can skip and not have missed much. The lodge food is good and provides free champagne for breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njdadddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was with a group that stayed only one night and one of our members has already given a positive review of the amenities. I would like to add my experience with the staff.

This was my first opportunity to use the wifi in Africa. The lodge has a room with computers plus you can use your own via wifi if you are close by. There was an employee to guide me into logging on. (The service is pay per hour.) this was very helpful.

While our group was being checked in I inadvertently left a few items on the floor by my bag and then went off and forgot them when I picked up the bag. They found their way back to me the next day before I had missed them! I was impressed because there are groups coming and going all the time.

Overall a good impression even though we were not there long.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majuscule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The biggest advantage of this hotel is a incredible view of Manyara lake. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. It is a good place to take a rest after a all day safari.
It is worth to get up in the morning to enjoy sunrise over the lake which is an unforgettable view.
The swimming pool is very nice for swimming and making nice pictures with a nice backround view.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaffioM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The lodge is situated outside the lake manyara national park up the hill. The view of lake manyara from the lodge is fascinating. you get to see many birds in the lodge premises. The rooms are good with brilliant views of lake manyara. The breakfast, lunch & dinner buffets at the lodge were excellent. The swimming pool had great view of the lake as well. It is really a pleasure to use the pool in between the game drives. Just outside the lodge premises, there are a few souvenir shops, we tried them, they were selling items at a much cheaper price. Unlike the other national parks in Tanzania, Lake Manyara is a dense jungle with little less dense areas. We did not spot much game in this area. We could not find any famous tree climbing lions of lake manyara. Although the lodge was great & the view of lake mayara was excellent, the national park was a disappointment for us. We would rather visit serengeti & ngorongoro when we come back again in Tanzania.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the first floor,they have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonale19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was the third Serena I had been to in quick succession. Each was in a sublime location, each was very different from the others and different from the usual "hotel" and each was fantastic. Well catered for the mass tourism market without it feeling like mass tourism.
Would stay in any of them again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poohtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great location with excellent views. The staff were all friendly and welcoming at all times, with all of them smiling constantly. The rooms are all located with views of the lake and valley, all in quaint buildings. You can often hear the people in the adjacent rooms. The rooms themselves were clean, basic but perfect for our needs. The linen was clean and crisp and the shower was excellent. The pool was cool but idyllic after a day in the ngorogoro crater, with a bar and evening entertainment every night. Overall a perfect place to stay and relax...

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Will0ldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
18.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,619 reviews
4.8 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#6 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
282 reviews
2.5 mi away
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
#3 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
146 reviews
17.0 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
426 reviews
8.3 mi away
Burudika Lodges
Burudika Lodges
#1 of 15 in Mto wa Mbu
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manyara Serena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range: $284 - $509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Manyara Serena Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking as its muse the glorious bird life of the fabulously soda-encrusted and pink flamingo-fringed...Lake Manyara, the swooping curves of this elegantly evocative lodge defy description. As do the soaring views over the Great Rift Valley, the rose-gold sunsets over the Mto Wa Mbu escarpment and the utterly unique tree climbing Lake Manyara lions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Lake Manyara Serena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Serena Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing