We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable with good views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable with good views”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

A beautiful lodge with pretty grounds and superb views across the rift valley and Lake Manyara. The food was excellent, although the starter and desert courses were buffet. We seemed to arrive just as a new staff team was being trained and although they were always helpful they were not always effective. Be sure to take the bird walk with Yotham the lodge naturalist. He is very enthusiastic and knowledgeable and makes a two hour walk seem far too brief.
Although the lodge is perched some 200 metres above the National Park Bushbuck roam the ground freely.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luap1847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    313
    80
    16
    6
See reviews for
192
336
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed at this lodge for 1 night in May 2012 during our safari. The room was clean, and adequate. The meals were good as well. The best thing of all was that we had left the lodge in our safari van and had gone about 4 miles down the road when a man on a motorcycle caught up with us and told us someone had left their camera bag at the lodge. We turned around and retrieved my husband's camera and bag back at the lodge that he had inadvertently left there. How thoughtful to send someone to chase us down and return the property--made our trip even more special!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I booked a safari for my husband and I through ET African Journey's and this was one of the places we stayed and I am so glad we did! Everything was fabulous and I have no complaints at all! The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff was courteous and friendly as well, The food was really nice and delicious (if they offer it, try the banana soup...YUMMY). The infinity pool is simply fab and was nice to have a few Kilimanjaro Beers at the bar at dusk. There was a choir that entertained us by the pool and they were fun to watch!! The view of the Lake was stunning--I just wish photos gave it justice! There was wireless internet available however, if memory serves, you did have to pay for it at this lodge. Never the less, a great stay, a great experience!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Agree with recent reviews. Swimming pool view is outstanding. Why don't they use Barracuda to clean it?

Food is average (almost identically bland in all Serena properties we stayed).

Staff may prove opportunistic (we were asked to pay what turned out to be just 2/3 of asking price for our drinks - without invoice), somehting we have seen in different Serena properties around NgoroNgoro area.

What we really hated was I-net rates: USD6/hr for WiFi, USD4 for 15 min at the business centre. If Aga Khan (the owner) is such a highly ethical fund, why do they do that. The guy at reception communciates this to you as if this is a perfectly normal rate you wealthy mzungu is supposed to pay without a blink.

Rooms are average. Besides, in our room (No.64) the window was small, which made entire room stuffy at night. Balcony is tiny, and why on earth they plant trees in front, only to obscure otherwise stunning view?

The artitecture made us recall The Flinstones...

Sorry, not my favourite, to put it mildly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gandibober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Enjoyed my stay. Rooms are clean and large. The restaurant is also good. At night they have some live music during dinner. Beautiful view of th kale from the property. Prompt laundry service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed here on our way to Serengeti after a day trip to Lake Manyara National Park. It has a rustic charm. The infinity pool was the best and you have an amazing view from the pool. The rooms were clean, bed was very comfortable and we had a good sleep. The dinner and the buffet breakfast was good as well. It is a good place to stay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The Lke Manyara Serena Safari Lodge has a great location, overlooking Laka Manyara. It has friendly staff, good food, some good pool-side entertainment and nice rooms. It has everything that one would expect in a lodge at this price. The rooms, while comfortable, are small and the upper balconies are very very small. It you like sitting out with a sundowner, then take a bottom unit which will have a bigger patio.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
23.5 mi away
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
612 reviews
18.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#6 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,513 reviews
2.5 mi away
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
#2 of 41 in Lake Manyara National Park
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#4 of 41 in Lake Manyara National Park
260 reviews
17.0 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
402 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#3 of 41 in Lake Manyara National Park
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manyara Serena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Property: Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Manyara Serena Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking as its muse the glorious bird life of the fabulously soda-encrusted and pink flamingo-fringed...Lake Manyara, the swooping curves of this elegantly evocative lodge defy description. As do the soaring views over the Great Rift Valley, the rose-gold sunsets over the Mto Wa Mbu escarpment and the utterly unique tree climbing Lake Manyara lions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Lake Manyara Serena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Serena Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing