We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best rim flow pool in East Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This hotel has the pool with the most beautiful views in East Africa. The food was good, the rooms spacious and clean. Staff was very helpful and friendly, as at all the Serena Hotels we've stayed at. Beautiful gardens for kids to play in. Stayed for 2 nights and could have done another just lounging at the pool.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RThompson_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 798 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night during our Safari. Beautiful rooms, very quiet. View from the infinity pool great! Meals great and dining facilities fantastic

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol56_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

A very Calm and quite place to relax. Nice rooms and great food.
highly recommended for couples and families..
i remember one morning i saw an antelope just below my cottage.. what an exciting moment.

an air stip near by, so you can also fly directly there too ..

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MohsinXP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Probably my favorite lodge we stayed in during our Tanzanian safari. Rooms were great and had a wonderful view from the balcony.
Great choice for dinner and nice buffet breakfast with free Champagne.
The best part of our stay was the infinity pool with wonderful views. Lovely place to unwind either in the pool itself or the bar next to it. Amusing to see Baboons climbing up the pool side for a cheeky drink too.
Some local evening entertainment passed the time before bed and staff walked you back to your rooms after dark incase of any large animal encounters.

Would recommend to all

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanB1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed at this lodge only for 1 night during our safari, beautiful views from the infinity pool and lovely grounds. Rooms very clean, but felt a bit small compared to other Serena Lodges we stayed at. Only problem was that our friends room although very clean with fresh bedding etc seemed to have quite a few bugs which came out when they retired to bed. They stripped and re-made the bed but couldnt find where they were coming from, but each time the light went out, the little critters popped out again so they had to sleep with the light on. However, we didnt experience any problems and neither did anyone else in our group. This was our least favorite of the Serena lodges, but it was still very comfortable and food was good. it was nice to have a few hours to relax by the beautiful pool before an afternoon game drive. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Don't forget to switch off the light at night outside your terrace/balcony. Unfortuately we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happyhols62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed there two non-consecutive nights at the beginning and end of the safari. It's a beautiful place, brilliant setting with great views on Lake Manyara [especially from the infinity pool]. 3 to 4 rooms are in each thatched roundavel hut, all having a patio or balcony respectively. Nice lounge and bar area as well as dining room. Excellent food and a rich breakfast breakfast buffet is offered. A huge armada of staff is friendly and seems to wait around the huts to pick up your luggage. The rooms are nice and have all amenities, only the shower is a bit tiny. The lodge offers entertainment, acrobatic and singing in the evening. WiFi is advertised, but did not work and the internet connection through LAN is very slow. Nice place to stay for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floor where you hav a balcony to sit and enjoy the surrounding; rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProHospitalityCons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have been staying at Serena Hotels during an African Safari Tour. I have been impressed with the Serena hotels which have very nice properties and very nice, clean rooms with great views. The staff was very friendly, helpful and pleasant.

I had two minor complaints, the first was the lack of local foods to try. I like to try local cuisines when possible. The second was the wireless environment. As with other Serena properties, the entire property had wireless coverage, however it was not set up correctly, Internet was only available when you connected to the wireless router in the lounge. Internet was extremely slow.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAGuy90019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
12.1 mi away
Highview Hotel
Highview Hotel
#1 of 3 in Karatu
234 reviews
2 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
160 reviews
4.8 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#6 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#10 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,683 reviews
2.5 mi away
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
#3 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
214 reviews
9.9 mi away
Ngorongoro Forest Tented Lodge
Ngorongoro Forest Tented Lodge
#18 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manyara Serena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range: $177 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Manyara Serena Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking as its muse the glorious bird life of the fabulously soda-encrusted and pink flamingo-fringed...Lake Manyara, the swooping curves of this elegantly evocative lodge defy description. As do the soaring views over the Great Rift Valley, the rose-gold sunsets over the Mto Wa Mbu escarpment and the utterly unique tree climbing Lake Manyara lions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Lake Manyara Serena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Serena Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing