We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good Serena lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A good Serena lodge”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This was the first Serena Safari lodge we stayed at, we went on to stay at the Serenas in both The Serengeti and Ngorongoro.
We were greeted with a cold towel and glass of passion fruit juice, both of which were extremely welcome. Porters ran off with our bags and check in was smooth.
We were shown to the room on the top floor (of 2) of one of the huts, the view across the National Park and the lake itself was fabulous. There was an Eagle flying about as we sat on our balcony and recovered from the drive.
There was a group performing by the pool in the evening before dinner but we chose to site in the bar and enjoy a drink before we ate. We managed to nab a table outside for dinner and enjoyed a very nice buffet meal.
We had breakfast and lunch there the next day and both were very pleasant.
I would recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    308
    80
    16
    6
See reviews for
189
334
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We spent 2 nights in the hotel in one of the ground floor rooms. Service was excellent. Every meal was a buffet, aimed probably at tour parties. No safe in room. Excellent view from the swimming pool and good view from bedroom, both across the valley to the distant lake. Although not within a restricted game reserve plan on spending your free time inside the lodge grounds.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
253 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Lake Manyara Serena was our first non-tented lodge during our safari. We were not sure how a hotel was going to be after we had been so close to wildlife at other lodgings. What was lacking in that, was relplaced by exceptional service during our stay. Our servers at breakfast and dinner were friendly and attentive. Bar service was great! We loved the hot appetizers. The hostess in the dining room was so friendly! When we said that we liked the coffee, she brought us a bag of it to bring home with us! The pool has the best view of the lake, and although cold, was a nice way to relax after a hot day of game drives. Room was comfortable and the view was outstanding.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors of the rondavals have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjfarr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

The Lake Manyara Serena Lodge keeps up the very high standards set by Serena hotels and cheered us up despite the depression settling on us as we completed the safari leg of our honeymoon! Lovely buildings designed in a sympathetic local style set in beautiful grounds with nice facilities - the rooms are well designed, spacious and comfortable and the restaurant provides a vast selection of hot and cold buffet dishes to suit all palates. The bar areas are very nice too with magnificent views over the Lake and Rift Valley.

Breakfast was excellent and set us up well for the day and we were very reluctant to leave when the time finally came.

One tip - spoilt by the safari experience, we decided to go on the night safari (Lake Manyara is one of the only parks to offer this opportunity) but we went to book just a few minutes too late for that evening - book early to avoid disappointment!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hetmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This was a nice place to stay. The frogs you hear are NOT speakers! Thank goodness our room was not by the ponds.
Their food is fair. Most places we stayed the food was overcooked.
The box lunches are fair. If you want something other than chicken let your driver know. You will not starve with all the food they pack!
The pool is a relaxing and beautiful setting but not heated.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peachkaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
176 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Again as part of our Tanzanian Safari we stayed in this Serena Lodge. Each of the bedrooms are similiar to the other Serena's as they are located in African style huts around the main complex. We had breakfast lunch and dinner here which was very good. The lodge lacks the same atmosphere we experienced in the other Serena's. The infinity pool is well located overlooking Lake Manyara.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thedublinrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed one night at start of safari. Spacious clean room with excellent sized bed. set on top of escarpment with lake in distance. No time to use pool but as others have said an infinity style which looked very inviting. Evening African dancing. Food, like most of the lodges, buffet and rather basic. Although on eof the smaller parks it had a distinct charm of its own especially if you are the first to enter in the morning.

Room Tip: Suggest you email and ask for an upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
1.5 mi away
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Manyara National Park
128 reviews
26.6 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,101 reviews
2.5 mi away
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
#2 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#4 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
258 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#3 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
100 reviews
12.5 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 47 in Karatu
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manyara Serena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Property: Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Manyara Serena Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking as its muse the glorious bird life of the fabulously soda-encrusted and pink flamingo-fringed...Lake Manyara, the swooping curves of this elegantly evocative lodge defy description. As do the soaring views over the Great Rift Valley, the rose-gold sunsets over the Mto Wa Mbu escarpment and the utterly unique tree climbing Lake Manyara lions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lake Manyara Serena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Serena Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing