We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ol Mesera Tented Camp
Nearby Hotels
Green Hills Lodge(Karatu)(Great Value!)
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crater Rim View(Karatu)(Great Value!)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Jambo Rooms(Karatu)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge(Lake Manyara National Park)
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
35
13
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsher grandsongreat viewbarbarariftlivestockcamptentsplainstanzaniaplantsguide
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 49 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We enjoyed the quiet and 'bush' feel of this lodge a bit off the main road by Manyara NP. The location was peaceful and even quieter than the tent lodges we stayed at in the Serengeti. As others have said, the owner Barbara is a wonderful host. The meals were fresh and home cooked with plenty of veggies, which we appreciated. A particular highlight was the guided hike we took with one of the lodge's Maasai employees (and resident of a nearby boma). He took us up to a beautiful hill overlooking the valley where we ran into his brother's herding goats. It was fun to interact with his family and get to know a bit about the community. We definitely recommend doing a guided hike while staying at Ol Mesera.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank emilyt0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjanTiessen, General Manager at Ol Mesera Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments. Come back soon for more fresh vegetables from our own veggie-patch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stay at Barbara's Ol Mesera (= Baobab) Lodge whenever I can. Even though it's 14km off the main road that runs between Kilimanjaro Airport / Arusha city and the nature-lovers "Crown Jewels" of Ngorongoro and the immense Serengeti 'wildebeest park'.

It's always very good for my primary interest - birding. Yet it is also one of the best places for seeing some of the smaller mammals - as different from one another as Aardwolf and African Dormouse - both of which can be downright tricky to find anywhere "even in the Parks".

I would say that if you are a bit short of cash and/or time it's probably THE VERY BEST way to sample the safari experience in a short visit to Northern Tanzania.

Hire a vehicle and driver in Arusha and then stay THREE nights at Ol Mesera.

This enables you to visit Tarangire, Ngorongoro and Lake Manyara for a full day each, and thereby to get a realy good taste of what the Tanzanian Northern Safari Circuit has to offer.

Book it today, see it this year!

Room Tip: Ask Barbara for your preference of tent - each with a wonderful view of the mighty wall of The Great Rift Valley
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesWolstencroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjanTiessen, General Manager at Ol Mesera Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thanks very much for your kind words James; you are always welcome! Many guests who spend more than 2 nights find it worthwhile because of the proximity to national parks, or just to relax and unwind after a (dusty) safari. Take your time, pole pole is definitely the way to sample Northern Tanzania! Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The owner Barbara and her team (all locals from the surrounding villages) will make you feel at home. Perfect place to relax before or after a safari, with possibility to meet the local Maasai community, do walking tours, watch the wild life running through the garden of the camp.... There is a very genuine feeling to the place, it's simple with high-quality service. We're vegetarian and the chef cooked us an abundance of delicious vegetarian dishes every day -- some of the best food we had during our 4wks in Africa (e.g. eggplants cooked in ginger and garlic). Every morning you wake up to an unforgettable view of baobab trees and the Ngorongoro escarpement.
Two more things worth noting:
- The owner is a caring and extremely helpful person. The day of our departure she drove us to the nearest village (Mto Wa Mbu), waited for over 1 hour with us and helped finding a reliable means of transport to Arusha. She also served as translator with the local Maasai people. It all made us feel as if we were staying with extended family, not just at a camp as tourists. Thank you Barbara and team!
- The camp is not so well indicated on the road from Mto Wa Mbu. But keep driving... you'll be rewarded.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank i. g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjanTiessen, General Manager at Ol Mesera Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your review! It is always a pleasure to hear our guests enjoyed their stay. Hope to see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

A little bit offf the beaten track, Ol Mesera's usassuming set-up gives the traveller a truly out-of-Africa experience that is not so easy to find in Tanzania's increasingly congested northern tourist circuit. We had a few peaceful days all by ourselves in this private camp while recovering from our trip to Arusha and Tarangire, and preparing for the hectic travel through the Ngorongoro and Serengeti. For such a stop-over, Ol Mesera's is perfectly located: two hours from Arusha, one hour form Tarangire, and one hour to the Ngorongoro.
While not posh, Ol Mesara has everything we longed for: a comfortable, spacious and self-contained safari tent with hot running water, good meals, a cold beer, personal service, spectacular views in the western rift, and all that for a very reasonable price. Just do it.

Room Tip: All the tents are placed on the escarpment with a beautiful view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rabakema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjanTiessen, General Manager at Ol Mesera Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here in April when it was very quiet, we were the only guests. Barbara, the owner is lovely and very friendly and always keen to make sure you have everything you need. The rooms (tents) are in good condition and have a rustic feel to them. There is a small bar and restaurant area. Meals were all cooked just for us and were served at the table. The food was all really nice and there was loads of it. The staff, who were lovely, are all local Massai with only fairly limited English which did make communication interesting at times. Our guide was welcome to join us for any meals he wanted. In the end he didn't have dinner but did join us for breakfast. If you are looking for somewhere a little different with a lovely rural feel then I would definately recommend OL Mesera.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShepofBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews