We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ol Mesera Tented Camp
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 21, 2011

This is lodge is superbly set out with the tents being extremely private and having one of the most beautiful vistas of any tented camp I've stayed in in East Africa. It is rustic yet charming and Barbara is a real delight, an unassuming woman who has lived an extraordinary life. Well worth a visit.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Newzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
16
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, MA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Ol Mesera Tented Camp (which means 'Baobab Tree' in the local Maasai language) was absolutely perfect for our 4-day visit to the Lake Manyara/Ngorongoro Crater region. With only 4 tents at the camp, we had the luxury of being the only guests there and got excellent and personalized service as a result. Barbara, who manages the lodge, was incredibly helpful with arranging everything during our stay - from our guide/driver to our meals to our lost luggage, she took care of it all! The grounds of the camp are beautiful and very well-maintained. An absolutely stunning view to wake up to each morning. While the tents are small and have simple furnishings, they are extremely clean and cozy. We slept great and ate well too! (The food was delicious). I simply cannot say enough nice things about Barbara and Ol Mesera. I can only hope to make it back there someday!

I would also like to note that if you're a traveler 'with a conscience', so to speak, as we were - Barbara is very involved with giving back to the local community and employing local Maasai, etc.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mazzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dareda
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

I made a 3 days safari with my girlfriend and family last December and after visiting the incredible Ngorongoro crater we slept at the OL Mesera tented camp, 45 min drive from the Ngorongoro parc and same distance from the Tarangire parc (we visited it the days after)
It's a small lodge, (not as the big tours company lodges) where you will feel at home The owner, Barbara, warmly welcomed us in her lodge she built in 2005 after having worked for 20 years in dispensaries in Tanzania. The rooms are big tents, and the confort is very good( big beds, large bathrooms,....)and the meals are delicious.
It's a very good place, and that's definitely a good option if you are looking something more quiet and peacefull than the usually hotels.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avedisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiesbaden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Ol Mesera is a wonderful spot - a small paradise on earth. Pure tranquility. Giraffes, zebras, monkeys, warthogs and beautiful birds - all very close. Emanuel is a phantastic cook! We will go there again. Karola & Volker, Germany

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiesbasden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2009

perfect place to rewind, regroup and rejuvinate. I had been working extra hard a month prior to the trip and old mesera was heaven to me. It was quiet and serene. I took my five year old son and was worried how he was going to survive without his nintendo and movies. He did good, even better after he got to see his favorite animal cheetah while on a trip to ngorongoro crater. We had fun hiking around the camp and discovering animal foot print.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bina73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2009

Situated 15 minutes from Mto Wa Mbu on the road to Engaruka , Ol Mesera is the perfect place to stay for a few days if you are wishing to take your time while visting Lake Manyara National Park, Emgaruka , Ngorongoro Conservation Area, other local attractions and to learn more about the Maasai Culture. The camp is small with only four tents that have beautiful outlooks towards the Ngorongoro Escarpment and spotlessly clean. The cost is very reasonable and the meals are simple but good with fresh local produce used. However probally the best reason to stay here is Barbara. A beautiful gentle lady, born in Slovenia, she moved to Tanzania forty years ago after meeting and falling in love with a young Tanzanian Medical Student. After spending many years raising a family, helping her husband develop a private medical dispensary and working at an Agricultural /Livestock training centre Barabara found herself a beautiful piece of african bush and built a tented camp.
She has a genuine respect and understanding of the local cultures and of the expectations of Western and local tourists and she is happy to share this knowledge with her guests.
It is people like Barbara that make your holiday worthwhile and make us want to return to Africa.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tasmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2008

I stayed here with my wife for 3 days in May last year. I can really recommend it to anyone who want's a reasonable hotel with a fantastic view.

The camp is small and the service is personal, and the owner (Barbara) is a knowledgeble person who speaks several languages. She also helped us put together a very nice trekking trip in the nearby areas (recommended).

  • Liked — The scenery
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy77Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
3.8 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,163 reviews
6.4 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
417 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Lemala Ndutu Tented Camp
Lemala Ndutu Tented Camp
#27 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
50 reviews
10.7 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 50 in Karatu
649 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ol Mesera Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol Mesera Tented Camp

Property: Ol Mesera Tented Camp
Address: Lake Natron Road, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO OL MESERA TENTED CAMP! - Situated in a true African Savannah, And our location is just perfect 15 minutes drive from Mto wa Mbu and yet far away from the busy city life, you will always feel alone in the bush and be awakened by the birds in the morning chirping around, only to discover the beautiful view of the Ngorongoro escarpment and see Maasai graze their livestock in the valley from your private balcony! Our authentic African camp is the perfect base and yet the only place to experience all the Maasai traditions! walk with our friendly Maasai staff to their real homes untouched by commercialism and learn many thing about their lifestyle, you can learn how to throw a spear, an arrow, make fire with sticks,about their tradition medicine, making of tradition honey wine,watch how they can take blood from the bull with a short of an arrow,milk their prized cow, or even go a day grazing with Maasai warriors with packed lunch or have goat BBQ in the bush with Maasai warriors! you can also have a goat BBQ in their boma(Village). Our Tour desk will assist you in renting a car at a reasonable price when visiting all the major national parks in the northern circuit which can be a day trip from the camp, you can visit Lake Manyara National Park, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tarangire National Park, Lake Natron, Engaruka Ruins, Ol Donyo Lengai( The active volcano mountain and mountain of god for the Maasai) Or a safari to the famous Serengeti National park and return the next day! we will love to hear your stories! Also activities provided by Mto wa Mbu cultural Tourism can be arranged such as farm tour, biking to Lake Manyara and climbing balaa hill! KARIBU SANA! (Most Welcome!) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing