We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was good, view was terrific”
Review of Lake Manyara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Manyara Hotel
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hotel was good, view was terrific”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Driving up to the hotel it felt like we were on top of a mountain in a scary movie, the fog was so thick that we could barely see in front of the vehicle. But once the fog lifted it was an incredible view that it was hiding. The view alone is breathe taking. The hotel has nice grounds, the hotel rooms were average. The food was decent. It was a big place so lots of places to hang out in between safaris or at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gorilla9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    48
    19
    2
    6
See reviews for
16
55
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The hotel was very good in all aspects. I do not know if we were in such a good mood because of the safari, but I cannot remember anything to complain about. I recommend this hotel for everyone who are planning a safari in Tanzania.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yes h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This hotel has lovely views, and it was cute having the baboons running about the grounds. The pool area was lovely, though the pool itself was a little dirty - full of small flowers and dead insects.

The rooms were very nice, and the mosquito net arrangement was beautiful.

The staff were very friendly, though despite the fact that there was only one other party at the hotel apart from ours, they sat us right next to each other in the otherwise empty dining room. It would have been nice if they gave us even a single table between us so that our conversations didn't drown each other out.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed at several hotels in the 'Wildlife' chain (I know 'Wildlife' isn't in this one's name but its in the same chain). This one was our favorite of them.
Pros:
1. Private Balcony with nice garden views
2. Fabulous mosquito net
3. Room and bathrooms in better shape than other hotels in the chain
4. Upkeep of the grounds--we saw gardeners work relentlessly morning and evening, and they really tried to keep the gardens watered and green (the effort was obvious and it shows on the premises)
5. LOVED the food. We went low season when it wasn't busy and had asked ahead of time if African style dinner meal was available (it isn't always--especially if busy I think) instead of the standard. The chef obliged and we loved sampling food other than the standard western style meals. Delicious. One of the best dinners on the safari.
6. Garden area near pool, viewing gazebo and bar is lovely, with views of the lake
7. Lounge area big and comfortable right off dining area.
8. I got the impression they do take great care of their guests. As lunch hours were winding down, apparently a couple at the hotel had not yet had their meal, and several staff members went about the grounds trying to identify and locate the guests who have not yet eaten, so that they are not left hungry when the kitchen closed.
Cons:
1. OMG the ventilation design is horrible. We were lucky that the night we stayed, there was a bit of storming which brought some wind so the room got some air blowing in. But during the day it was REALLY HOT and I can't imagine on other days if the air is still how to cope and sleep comfortably....you can read linus_110048's review of this hotel and what he deems the #1 MAJOR CON, which I agree he hit the nail on the head--he accurately describes how the room is set up and thus why ventilation can be a major issue. His description is better than how I can explain it, so I won't re-hash it here. If you look at my photos, take note of the vertical space between the top of the balcony door and the ceiling--that's all the ventilation you'll get.
2. The staff were all helpful and friendly with us. BUT there was an awkward incident in the lobby when we were staying and waiting for our driver. The hotel manager (I presume, can't be sure) was having a shouting match with another driver. This was at the front desk lobby, and carried on even when the driver's customers arrived. Now I'm not here to say whether the driver did something wrong or whether the manager overreacted or anything, since my husband and I arrived at the lobby AFTER the incident occurred and only witnessed the shouting. But in most work environments I know, the best course of action is to pull the person you have a problem with somewhere more private and talk it out--whether its a misunderstanding or if someone stepped out of line and needs to be told not to do something again. I believe this is even more important in the hospitality industry--in any case I can't imagine shouting in the lobby to have been the best course of action. Further, we happened to have a few words with the chef at that time to make sure our special request dinner arrangements were okay (and who, for whatever reason, was also standing in the lobby watching this unfold), and we talked to him, pretending the angry scene was not actually happening and he too, responded with a smile on his face, pretending there was nothing going on. How awkward.
3. This may only be an issue for me since I'm short. But the tub here is REALLY tall/high. High enough that its actually pretty difficult for me to get in and out. Especially when wet. I actually hurt myself TWICE when getting in and out for showering. Two BIG angry purple PAINFUL bruises on both thighs. Husband was mildly concerned people might mistake him as an abusive husband once we got to the beach part of our vacation. In any case...small step stool or grab bar would help?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Unlike many other high-end safari lodges, this group of hotels (including the Seronera Lodge) has racist policies that made our stay there very uncomfortable. We are a white American family and we ended up with an empty extra room bc our kids wanted to stay altogether in their own room. The extra room was non-refundable so we offered it our safari guide, rather than leave it empty-but-paid-for. The manager refused to allow this and he would not budge, even when we pointed out that we paid for the room so we should be allowed our guest/friend to stay. The manager assured us that the guides'/drivers' quarters were lovely so we asked our friend to take photographs. The pictures revealed abominable conditions: filthy, crowded and with overflowing toilets. That is where he stayed, while our luxurious extra room remained empty. (We did try to leave and stay elsewhere but everything was booked). The management also discouraged us form having our guide dine with us -- they eventually allowed it, but charged us a ridiculous price in trying to dissuade us form doing so. He was the only African man in the dining room, so I guess their tactics are normally successful. Other high-end lodges we stayed in did not have these same segregated policies -- many encourage guides and families to dine together and provide the same or similar lodging. The racist policies here and at the Seronera truly ruined this portion of our magical trip. Our school-age children were also horrified.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KKH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard J, Public Relations Manager at Lake Manyara Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

The Management of Lake Manyara wildlife lodge does acknowledge having read through your comments/review. We do extend our gratitude for having stayed with us at the wildlife lodges. Whilist appreciating your comments and the raised concerns we would like to mention that the Lake Manyara wildlife lodge does not have accommodation units for the drivers or/and guides. These facilities are run and operated by private individuals and organisations outside the lodge premises. Seronera wildlife lodge does have newly renovated accommodation facilities for drivers and guides.
Further, we do apologize for any insinuations of racisim or segragations which may have arose. Through our contacts (email) we would wish to urge you to let us know how much the driver/guide were charged for their meals.
Your comments are imperative to our operations. We value your feed back.

Bernard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for one night during my safari. The service was excellent. The buffet style dinner was great. The bars/lounges were very nice. My room location was a long walk from the front desk, the stairs seemed to be endless. The bed was comfortable and the shower was okay. The view of the park was amazing from the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

overall it was a much below to our expectations ,nothing could really suits our requirements right from service to quality of food..infact food was rotton.

difficult to revisit them as we were overcharged with minimum worth value of it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BOB W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard J, Public Relations Manager at Lake Manyara Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Valued guest,
The management is concerned about the rotten food that was served to you.
Please contact us for a further probe on this matter. www.hotelsandlodges-tanzania.com
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
0.0 mi away
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
#1 of 3 in Serengeti National Park
275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#1 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
741 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#4 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seronera Wildlife Lodge
Seronera Wildlife Lodge
#92 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
362 reviews
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#4 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
410 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burudika Lodges
Burudika Lodges
#1 of 15 in Mto wa Mbu
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manyara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Hotel

Property: Lake Manyara Hotel
Address: Lake Manyara, Lake Manyara National Park 2633, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Manyara Hotel invites you to an unforgettable Safari Experience from its privileged location, unrivaled by any other both for game viewing and scenery. Elegantly designed as a two level ensemble of buildings, its authentic traditional African style decorations create a unique atmosphere that perfectly combines extreme tranquility with the best of adventure-packed Safari experiences. From its privileged position, the hotel's 100 guestrooms have stunning views across the tranquil and beautiful waters of the Lake. The spectacular swimming pool, situated in a panoramic setting, is a privileged location to enjoy the invigorating fresh air and the breathtaking views of the Pink Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Lake Manyara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing