We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely grounds, nice rooms and people”
Review of Lake Manyara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Manyara Hotel
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here twice between Safaris in Kenya and Tanzania. On arrival the staff are friendly and made us feel welcome - a good start! Both rooms we had were of very high standard, clean with good bathroom facilities and strong, regular hot water. This was one of the best Serana lodges we stayed in. The swimming pool was clean, well maintained and an oasis after hot days on the road with a very helpful bar tender keen to assist in washing the road dust away! The staff here really made the stay pleasant and were very keen to help in any way with smiles and a real drive to ensure our stay was comfortable - we, personaly did'nt find them to overbearing. The bar at the pool is situated with a magnificent view over the lake and is a very comfortable place to unwind before heading off to dinner. The Chef would great us at dinner and also followed up afterwards for feedback on the meal - very nice - as was the food. Some lodge buffets can be a bit hit and miss but at Manyara the food was always good - choice, freshness and presentation. There are many Baboons that require the staff to pay attention as they take shortcuts up and through the lodge but they were not a problem for us - more of an attraction really. I recommend this Hotel - Its a good one.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side wing seem to have more privacy and lovely garden outlooks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustraliaBeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 110 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our room was comfortable and well equipped. We thought service standards at this lodge were better than others we stayed at, particularly the front office and restaurant staff. The pool area is terrific, with a superb view of the lake and valley. deck chairs are really comfortable. A dance show was offered too, which was better than we anticipated. Food variety was excellent and staff in he restaurant most attentive. We would return here. A very pleasant and memorable stay.

Room Tip: Stay close to the pool area, which is also close to the restaurant. Some rooms are a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Went on safari six months ago in Kenya and Tanzania and visited nine national parks. Was really impressed whenever we stayed at a Serena property and this was one of then. We were there one night. Food was high quality hot buffet style with big selection. The property is beautiful. There are a series of handsome out buildings stretching out from the main dining reception area. The pool was really neat after a hot morning drive. It's an infinity pool looking down into the Rift Valley, with a thatched roof bar next to it. While I was at the pool, some baboons started sticking their heads up from the area at far end of the pool. They came up to the edge of the pool. looked in and then went on their way. And I had left my camera in the room, damn! If you get a chance to stay at this property, you will be happy.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annandale,Va.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This hotel has a fabulous view over Lake Manyara, and attractive grounds. However, it is a bit disconcerting to drive through the poor part of town, then find yourself at these grand gates, and the hotel all fenced off from the real world. There were not many people there when we stayed, which might be why we found it uninteresting. For some reason it's decorated with an Asian theme, which seemed incongruous. It does win the award for the best mosquito net ever, and the staff sprayed the room at dusk. The restaurant buffet was reasonably good, as was the breakfast. But who trained the staff to hover and whip away your plate before you've even put your cultlery down? Over attentive staff made us feel uncomfortable. You daren't leave food on your table while you went to the buffet, because it wouldn't be there when you got back. I had this experience at the other Hotels and Lodges places where we stayed at Serengeti and Ngorongor too, but it seemed worst at Lake Manyara. There was an attractive bar on the edge of the mountain overlooking Lake Manyara, but the house wine was undrinkable and pool did not look clean. It's an OK place that looks flash but failed to impress me.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was our first night on Safari and a wonderful setting. The views over to the lake with the poolside bar were lovely. Food was delicious and very convenient buffet style. The only irritating thing was that the drinks had to be paid for in cash - would have been much easier to put on credit card. We took US dollars but ended a bit worried about how much we had because every time we had drinks with meals we needed some.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The entrance invites you to expect grand things and the view delivers. The room was on the small side but comfortable although unfortunately I only had a view out to the lawn. But having a drink at the bar provided the panorama of the lake below the escarpment. The service was superb but maybe that was because there were so few guests? I was disappointed in the too hot curry for dinner but the chef offered to give me something else. I enjoyed the art features in the foyers.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanleeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

great garden and pool with amazing view over landscape, nicely decorated very clean rooms, perfect setting on the rim above lake, great buffet

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarinfromMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
0.0 mi away
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
#3 of 4 in Serengeti National Park
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
982 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#6 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#2 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
769 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
#3 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manyara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Hotel

Address: Lake Manyara, Lake Manyara National Park 2633, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range: $200 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Manyara Hotel invites you to an unforgettable Safari Experience from its privileged location, unrivaled by any other both for game viewing and scenery. Elegantly designed as a two level ensemble of buildings, its authentic traditional African style decorations create a unique atmosphere that perfectly combines extreme tranquility with the best of adventure-packed Safari experiences. From its privileged position, the hotel's 100 guestrooms have stunning views across the tranquil and beautiful waters of the Lake. The spectacular swimming pool, situated in a panoramic setting, is a privileged location to enjoy the invigorating fresh air and the breathtaking views of the Pink Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Lake Manyara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing