We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lodge close to Lake Manyara”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kirurumu Manyara Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Stayed here 1 night following a trip to Lake Manyara. Nice basic room with own bathroom and very good food and service.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonandVib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 413 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2010

A little off the beaten track but worth a visit - the tented accomodation is great and the grounds are good for birding. Great veiw from the bar and the staff were great. Interesting to wak to Massai sitting at the end of the path to your room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Kirurumu Tented Lodge

My wife and I stayed at Kirurumu Tented Lodge on October 10th and 11th.

As other reviewers have indicated the road to the lodge contains a few ruts but this just adds to the adventure.

Lodging – The tents are similar to other resorts that we stayed at during our safari. The tent consisted of two twin beds, running water, toilet, and shower. A complimentary bottle of water for each guest per day is supplied. Laundry services available – 24 hour turn around. The tents are located a fair distance from the main lobby and give you a sense of remoteness. Masai porters quickly take your luggage to your tent.

The lobby offered to store your valuables which was the only resort we had that offered this service.

The individual we had as our wait staff for our meals (Hambo sp) was the most personable of any resort personnel during our eight day safari.

We had entertainment during both of our dinners at the lodge (First night very good – Second night so-so)

Reasonable prices at the bar - 4000 -shillings (less than 3 U.S. dollars for a pint of local beer), 2000 shillings (1.50 U.S. dollars for a bottle of soda)

We had two breakfasts, one lunch and two dinners at Kirurumu and I would rate the food as very good and the service as excellent. (You get accustomed to excellent service in Tanzania as all of the resorts we visited had excellent customer service skills)

Lake Manyara National Park – Great wildlife viewing considering it is one of the smaller parks. We were lucky enough to view one of the famous tree-climbing lions of the park.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DePere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We stayed here one night on our safari. We did wonder what this place was going to be like as it seemed to be a long bumpy road to get there but it was worth it. It was picturesque, well kept and had a beautiful view from the bar and some of the rooms.

The "tents" are made of a heavy canvas material with a built in bathroom and it was all of a good standard. We had booked late so we had a room at the back and couldn't get a double, so we were in a triple room. It was really big and spacious, well setup for 3 people and we'd an extra water aswell! They didn't have nets over the beds so you had to hope you didn't let any mozzies in while entering and leaving. They offered a range of services, massage etc but we didn't make use any of them. They had a selection of books and magazines in the lounge/bar area and it was a lovely peaceful place to sit, especially for sunset. The food in the restaurant was very good, limited choice but what we got was delicious and well presented.

Our only complaint was that the Masai guards seemed to choose to sit outside our tent when it got light and they chatted loudly and greeted their friends with a big conversation whenever they passed, so we did get woken alot earlier than we wanted too and couldn't sleep through their chatter.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irl_sars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Didnt know what to expect especially with tent in the title however, very pleasantly surprised on arrival.
Panoramic views over Lake Manyara National Park, spacious rooms, good facilities and very friendly staff.
The only downside to the lodge was the bone shaking trip along the very long and very rutted drive in.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Although rated average, I would say that Kirurume deserves a rating "good". It is a tented logde camp that has been there for a while now, so the canvas of the tents does look a little bit old, but everything is still working fine. Each tented logde has its own toilet and shower which work perfectly fine - and this is quite suprising in the middle of nowhere - the food is basic but good, the view on lake manyara from the bar terrace is stunning, in short: a perfect place to stay for 1 or 2 days on your safari trip through tanzania!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Kirurumu was quaint and peacefull. The staff were friendly and attentive. They put us in a connected tent with my wife and I on top and two kids below. The kids tent was unique with the bath and showed being built into the wall like a cave. We found the food to be above average, although the selection was somewhat limited. The view from ourt tent was phenomenal overlooking Lake Manyara. As we found to be typical on this trip the water pressure in the shower was lacking compared to what most Americans would expect.

I read another review that was written a week before our stay complaining about bed bugs. Both my son and I got bitten pretty bad but the bites did not start showing up till we were on the plane back to the US. It seems that it can take up to 9 days for the bites to show so I do not know where we got them but based on the other review it is something to be aware of.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deamole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
0 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
154 reviews
0 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#6 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
290 reviews
0 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#2 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#9 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,657 reviews
0 mi away
Serengeti Sopa Lodge
Serengeti Sopa Lodge
#22 of 125 in Serengeti National Park
815 reviews
0 mi away
Africa Safari Glamping Manyara
Africa Safari Glamping Manyara
#15 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirurumu Manyara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirurumu Manyara Lodge

Address: Manyara, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range: $139 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirurumu Manyara Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirurumu Manyara Lodge is set high on the edge of the Great Rift Valley consisting of 27 tented rooms including 2 honeymoon suites and 2 family cottages with fully ensuite bathrooms, hot and cold running water, Electricity and Dining room with waiter service with Bar complete with sun-deck and panoramic views of the rift valley.* ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kirurumu Manyara Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing