We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful "Tented" Accomodations, Great Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kirurumu Manyara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kirurumu Manyara Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful "Tented" Accomodations, Great Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We spent one night here on our recent 2-week safari and loved it. The tents are very private (if walking is a problem for you, be sure to request a tent closer to the main building), large and clean, with a king-size bed. The views were beautiful both from our tent and even more so from the bar area, and the restaurant area has a particularly inviting atmosphere. My husband took advantage of the early morning walk offered with one of the Massai guards that keep watch for wild animals, and LOVED it. He came back raving about the experience, so be sure to ask for it if that is your thing. The overall service here was excellent, this is a very quiet intimate place and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Some of the tents can be quite a walk from the main area, so if that bothers you be sure to ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    182
    49
    11
    6
See reviews for
94
204
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skillman, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here one night during a 3 day safari. Such a great place. The tent was clean and spacious, the beds were so comfortable. It was nice ans quiet at night. The grounds were beautiful, with a pretty path leading the way to the tents which were very private due to heavy vegetation. dinner and breakfast were both delicious and the service was quick and friendly. Wi fi was not free...we did not choose to pay for it. Upon arriving we were greeted with a glass of fresh juice and a warm washcloth to freshen up! We liked everything about this place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laura h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

A very comfortable allocated camp with a unique and remarkable view of lake Manyara national park, with very welcoming staffs, palatable african food accompanied with fresh fruits from nearest village of Mto wa Mbu, the tents have a huge space with african furnitures as well as private allocation. That a place to be

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fashadina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Absolutely enjoyed our one day’s stay in Kirurumu. This is a tented camp, which probably provides the most luxurious tented experience. The view from our room was spectacular. The check-in and reception was very efficient. (Everywhere in Tanzania, you will find porters from the hotel immediately descend upon you to carry your luggage. Tips in Tanzania are very standardized everywhere, you only tip the porters in person, for the rest of the hotel staff, you can drop a tip in the collective tip box.)

Everything is provided for in this tent, and if there is something extra that you might want, the staff goes out of their way to try and accommodate you. Dinner was very good, and the dining area is cozy.

Be prepared for the bumpy ride from the main road to the lodge, but it’s all part of the adventure. Kirurumu is absolutely worth the ride.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecaribou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Never stayed in a tent before so the remoteness of the lodge and sleeping in a luxury tent was a very special experience for me. The "room" had 2 comfy beds with running water/bath/toilet. Tent is lockable and room comes with a bug spray too. The food from restaurants are superb...with an exceptional view of Lake Manyara from the restaurant/bar. I was lucky to get a room (16) with a view of the lake as well. Highly recommend it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank yacro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

The lodge is in a good location and has a fine view of Lake Manyara. Wi-fi is only available in the reception area and we were charged 5$ per day to connect; we were not charged this anywhere else in Tanzania. We bought drinks in the bar (some way away) and then carried them up ourselves, nobody offered to do this for us. The connection was intermittent but we were still charged.
This was not our favourite lodge, we didn't feel nearly as well looked after as we had in others and yet the large tip box was in a prominent place, practically the first thing you see. Indeed a whole lodge policy on tipping needs to be implemented as individual staff are keen to accept tips. The lodge and staff appear to need a manager with a passion for Kirurumu and then maybe we would have one too!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glebebears81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and myself only stayed there for 2 days (one night) and found it to be a very nice lodge. The staff were great, food good, beer cold, rooms very comfortable. Not sure if all are the same but we had a 2 story tent/lodge, found it harder to go the the washroom in middle of the night. This was our last night of safari before moving on to Zanzibar and had been to a lot of camps so that did not do this place justice, kind of wish we had started here instead of finishing. There were only a hand full of people staying here at the time so was very quiet. We enjoyed it for the time spent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deigo762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
0.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#4 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirurumu Manyara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirurumu Manyara Lodge

Property: Kirurumu Manyara Lodge
Address: Manyara, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirurumu Manyara Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirurumu Manyara Lodge is set high on the edge of the Great Rift Valley consisting of 27 tented rooms including 2 honeymoon suites and 2 family cottages with fully ensuite bathrooms, hot and cold running water, Electricity and Dining room with waiter service with Bar complete with sun-deck and panoramic views of the rift valley.* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Kirurumu Manyara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirurumu Manyara Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing