We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best of my safari trip! top notch food!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kirurumu Manyara Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“best of my safari trip! top notch food!!!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

just came back from a kenya/tanzania safari trip. we stayed at around 5 different safari lodges/tents, and this one by far had the best service and food! food is near gourmet restaurant quality compared to my hometown, Toronto. Service staff are very friendly, will definitely chit chat with you if you're in the mood, if you're not, they give you just the right amount of attention.

we stayed in room 27 which was a bit of a walk, but you have a great view of lake manyara. the tent was actually amazing, has everything you need and is very spacioius...really you dont feel like you're in a tent. hot shower was awesome (altho lacking in the morning)!! they recommend u bug spray the tent..... i suggest go easy on it. we sprayed around the door and a few key joints in the canvas. spray and go for dinner... else it stinks!

overall, best lodge (even beats serena serengeti which is supppose to be top notch).

Room Tip: ask for room with view. seems really far first time, but really it's not that far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aki86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    185
    49
    11
    6
See reviews for
95
206
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The rooms are very comfortable, with amazing views over Lake Manyara. The lodge is well located for visiting Lake Manyara Park. The guided walk, led by a Masai was well worth doing. We thought the food was ok at the time, but it could be improved.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chapyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed just for one night at Kirurumu Manyara Lodge. It was our first night at a 4 days Safari.
We were a little bit excited to stay at a tented camp and also very tired when we arrived at the camp. Everything was over we had expected. We were welcomed with a refreshing juice.The lodges were very comfortable, the staff was very helpful and friendly. The lodges are just like private tented houses with terraces, separate from each other. We had Lake Manyara view from our terrace. The dinner and breakfast was very nice also. Generally we enjoyed staying at Kirurumu Manyara Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank homemadetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My friend and I stayed here back in November 2012. We were only here for one night and it was low season. Because of this we seemed to get one of the best spots in the lodge- overlooking the lake. The view was stunning, and my favourite part was waking up to a sunset through my screen door with a forest in front of me. The beds were good, and the rest of the room was amazing also.

I loved the bar area beside the restaurant. Great place to have a drink before dinner. The food was pretty great too. Most of all the staff and the new manager were wonderful. They made us feel welcome and we ended up talking to a few of them about their lives.

I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TorontoGirl1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and mostly only the evenings spent there since we were gone by 6 in the morning for a whole day safari. The rooms are clean and fine ,its a pity that beautiful view of Lake Manyara is not visible. The shower is amazing with hot water all the time. The food was good ,service excellent and attentative. I only missed salads and more vegetables. You can sit at the bar area on the balcony ,have a chilled glass of wine and look over Lake Manyara. It is peaceful and relaxing. I will recommend this lodge anytime

Room Tip: Check if they di have rooms with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

After leaving the Kirurumu sister camp of Tarangire and a day of travel and a game drive in Lake Manyara National Park, we drove up the narrow road to the entrance of this Kirurumu Manyara Lodge to be welcomed with hot towels and refreshing juice presented by the very professional and thoughtful staff. This lodge has permanent tent/lodges flowing down the hillside each with porches having extraordinary views of Lake Manyara below and the beautiful landscape in the distance. The lodges closer to the open walled restaurant and bar (also with patio and great views) would be best for guests with limited mobility as the paths to some tents are long and sometimes steep, but everything is well lit and safe for walking. The food is very good and there is lots of it. Staff are incredible and help with whatever is needed. All of the Kirurumu Under Canvas lodges are special. I had wished to leave a review of their mobile camp in the Serengeti, but was unable to find a listing, SO....all I can say that it is THE BEST experience ever....seek out Hoopoe Safaris and look at what they have to offer - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the end of a Kenyan / Tanzanian Safari. The tents/cabins were nice and the view from the porch was beautiful. Nature walk with the Maasai was okay, but dinner was nice and there is a pretty bar / lounge area where you can sit and relax with a view. Lodge is nice and seems relatively community-based, which is a major plus. One of the nicest places we stayed while on safari.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TatooshRange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
0.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,539 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#1 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
743 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#8 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#4 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#10 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
440 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirurumu Manyara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirurumu Manyara Lodge

Property: Kirurumu Manyara Lodge
Address: Manyara, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirurumu Manyara Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirurumu Manyara Lodge is set high on the edge of the Great Rift Valley consisting of 27 tented rooms including 2 honeymoon suites and 2 family cottages with fully ensuite bathrooms, hot and cold running water, Electricity and Dining room with waiter service with Bar complete with sun-deck and panoramic views of the rift valley.* ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kirurumu Manyara Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing