We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot on the rift”
Review of E Unoto Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
E Unoto Retreat
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot on the rift”
Reviewed August 25, 2010

A beautiful spot on the rift. Just the sort of lodge we never thought it would exists. When we were leaving my younger son asked me if we could take the butler who were assigned to us home as he was very friendly and supportive.
What my kids liked:
The butler
The acrobats
masai dance
local school that we visit
The Waterfall
Swimming Pool

What i liked the most:
Very supportive staff
Attractive view of the rift
A walk to the caves
A very charming view of the lake near the lodge
Food
Spacious room
unique design of the rooms and the whole lodge

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank declan1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    5
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
8
17
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

In fairness, we were booked into Eunoto as part of a 4 star package deal and had been staying in Serena Hotels. I am sure it is suitable for budget travellers, however it was in a word a horrible part of our trip. On arrival, the staff barely spoke any English and gave us a very brief "brief" which mostly included that we were "welcome". After 200m walk along a windy, hilly badly concreted path, we arrived at our room. My wife walked into the toilet, and it had not been flushed since the last guests were there.... and the "waste bin" in the toilet was also not empty. Gross. We try the lights, no power. We decid to ha shower after a fairly long and dusty drive from Serengetti..... no hot water and cold water runs out after a couple of minutes. We go to call reception, but there are no phones. I get dressed and go to reception, to find that the other guest have no water either and are all complaining. It appears the man at check in should have explained, there is only power twice a day, two hours in the morning, and two in the evening. This makes it hard to recharge camera batteries for the nex day of game viewing.

The food at dinner was poor...... and hard to see with power for lights!

We are told the problems with food and water are fixed. They are not.

By morning the cold water is back on, however the power is not. A freezing shower to start the day.

Sorry, this hotel is not above a two star standard. Very poor experience all round.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJSDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Manyara National Park hotels

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

E Unoto Retreat real treats people! My son and I had a chance of visiting the place, we really had a good time even though the stay was extremely short. Everything is natural around the place. One gets to see different types of birds especially in the morning when they are chirping and asking you to kindly wake up. In the evening we entertained by the Maasai traditional dance and acrobats... delicious meals and amazing stuff ….terrific. The staffs are really warm and friendly. I do recommend you to try this place I'm sure you will invite another.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmakaranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Exceptional service, from the welcome at arrival and check in to the provided 24 hour personal valet , was enthusiastic, friendly, sincere, and thoughtful.

The accomadations were inspirational, very clean, lots of local culture decorations, great views, and comfortable.

The food was way beyond what we expected. Excellent gourmet options that were artfully presented. Four or more courses with more than we could eat. Too bad we could not find a way to bring some home.

Enjoyed a walk to the 100 foot waterfall thru the bananna and palm plantations. Great swimming pool with a view over the valley.

Fun evening entertainment from local Masai villages.

Great game drives in three nearby game parks.

We have been traveling to Africa for over 35 years and enjoyed our E-Unoto stay more than any other.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Level Contributor
382 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2009

very very disappointed!!!:
- room very uncomfortable and dark; power only after complaint; hotwater... only after complaint!
- food- dreadful! most of it from most tables went back to the kitchen!
- personal only after money!! check your final bill.... end sum is corrected by hand...!! (add up yourself!!)
pool - filthy!!
TOTALLY overpriced!
NEVER again!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itzibitzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2009

I’m trying to give an “In a Nutshell” Review

My Expectations:
I asked for very good/ higher end accommodation. I am rather particular about quality of rooms, bathrooms, surrounding area, ambience and service levels, especially since I am paying a premium price. I am not much of a “foodie” but I can be fussy about taste. Living in Asia, I’m also spoilt by the amazing accommodation, service levels and food that we have become accustomed to travelling around Asia.

No. of Nights 1 night
Room Good but its very dim and electricity only between 6- 11pm. So it gets hot at night.
Surrounding Area Simple & Very nice
Ambience quiet
Food Poor
Staff service OK, they try
Facilities swimming pool
Entertainment Poor
Location Terrible

It is trying to simulate “Maasai Living” but with luxuries. It is not a terrible place but the long drive there, the dim lights and the poor food put me off.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfwSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2009

E Unoto was a fabulous retreat near the end of our Tanzanian safari. Close to Arusha (a little over an hour) it was a great last night to end a fantastic safari in Tanzania.

Drive down very dusty roads, through a number of over grazed Maasai villages, until you reach the foot hills of the Rift Valley escarpment, and there sits E Unoto - a veritable oasis.

The land here was developed in 2000 and E Unoto was built incorporating traditional methods and using as many locally-sourced materials as possible. The roofs are all made from papyrus, which is found in the lake below the lodge. The lodge was built in conjunction with the local community, and provides health care, education and of course employment. The local community actually directly shares in the lodges profits - so a big green tick.

This accommodation is aptly called a retreat, as retreat it is; the bungalows designed in Maasai style and decorated with ethnic furnishings and carvings - all following a tasteful Maasai theme. Each bungalow has its own balcony offering panoramic views of Lake Miwaleni and the escarpment, and complete with a lovely shower area.

The pool and bar area provided us with much fun, but a planned Masaai dance evening ran late due to LEOPARDS in camp terrifying the participants!

As this was the end of our trip we gave our mosquito nets to some of the local families and urge any of you to spend a few dollars and bring extra nets to Tanzania so you too can make a difference to the appalling Malaria stats.

  • Liked — Environmental awareness, helping the local community, position, views
  • Disliked — Leopards at night!!!
  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kkbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Manyara National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Burudika Lodges
Burudika Lodges
#1 of 14 in Mto wa Mbu
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#1 of 41 in Lake Manyara National Park
733 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#4 of 41 in Lake Manyara National Park
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nsya Lodge & Camp
Nsya Lodge & Camp
#2 of 14 in Mto wa Mbu
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panorama Safari Camp
Panorama Safari Camp
#5 of 14 in Mto wa Mbu
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manyara Sunbright Lodge and Campsite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to E Unoto Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E Unoto Retreat

Property: E Unoto Retreat
Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Tanzania Maasai Luxury Lodge - Outside of Lake Manyara Park, overlooking Lake Miwaleni, this secluded, luxurious Maasai-styled lodge uniquely offers 25 spacious bungalows including 4 honeymoon & 4 handicap suites. E Unoto is centrally located to most of the famous and well-known northern parks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing