We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari 101”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Perfect start to a safari - a bit of everything; landscape topography; animals, etc...

The lodge itself was excellent - very high quality. Great drivers; great food; great service.

It's greatest advantage - location - we had half of Lake Manyara all to ourselves - and that made it worth every cent.

No lions in the trees - but lots on the ground..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DYNAMICREGGAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 200 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

I can't give this place enough stars. I thought I knew what luxury was, until I traveled with andBeyond. Lake Manyara itself is an interesting locale, a long national park that abuts a "lake" that fills up with water during rainy season, but has no outlet and turns into a mostly dry soda bed in the dry season. The fact that the park is so narrow means that as you drive along it you are bound to see a ton of wildlife moving around near the road. We unfortunately missed the leopards, but saw a pride of 9 lions lazing about.

The property itself is one of the best parts of the trip. You stay in a tree house on stilts, listening to the sounds of the forest. At night we were awoken by an angry herd of elephants trumpeting and growling as they passed right by our tree house. Magical.

The staff and service are perfect, catering to your every need. At times you definitely can feel over-pampered.

Don't miss the trip to Mayoka village to see the clinic and school that andBeyond supports. All in all, a perfect trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markied_la_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our favourite out of the three &Beyond properties we stayed at while in Tanzania. The small and intimate atmosphere was fantastic. The rooms were huge and beautifully designed with a roll top bath (which was filled post our game drive and left for us with a complimentary bottle of champagne!) and a scenic outside shower.
The food was fresh and tasty and cooked specially for us. The game and particularly the birds in the Lake Manyara national park were out of this world. A really memorable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank advice55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Activities/Game drives: Ours was done privately with our guide Titus. Although the initial drive in from the airport was supposed to be approximately 2 hours it rapidly evolved into a four hour affair of sighting many of the big five. At every turn was a stop to view giraffes, elephants, monkeys, flamingos, lions, zebra, buffalo, and impala. The crud de ta was watching a young leopard breakfast in a tree on an impala carcass within15 ft of the game vehicle the following morning. Hippos soaking in mud the following afternoon and watching more birds than most people have seen in their lifetime ascend from the lake were a religious experience. It wasn’t just about spotting the animals though – many times Titus would stop and explain the calls of the various animals, discuss various aspects of botany and the use of the local plants and would enrich the understanding of the place by placing it into a historical and political context. Ask for him by name – he is that good.

Accommodations/The tree house: Remember when you were five and you would listen to the sounds of nature? You know - the gentle sound of crickets and the occasional owl. This is nature on red bull with vodka. Our tree house was in the very back (number 10). Elephants wander around, monkeys jump on your balcony, bush babies howl, lions roar in the distance, and bats flutter above the mosquito netting of your bed (yes they may even startle you as you make a run for the commode). However, the place is charming and romantic with a soaker tub, outdoor shower, tons of space and a wonderful deck. Did I mention it was romantic? No electricity from midnight to 5 am…you will have to survive on candle light and/or a flashlight. You will never sleep better though in the soft linen and comfy king size bed open to the cool night breeze.

Spoiler alert: They do a lot of little things that will surprise you: meet you at the front gate and sing, pack a surprise breakfast for you and serve it to you in an amazing natural setting, set up a “bush bar” with champagne with a Masai warrior standing by to protect you, serve you frozen gin and tonics on return for a game drive and the list goes on. These folks will sincerely try to do anything in their power to make you happy.

Cuisine: The chef stops by the table to meet everyone and presents the menu for the evening. If you are fussy and need a bunch of choices this is probably not going to work for you. The food is excellent quality especially considering how far it has to come. One evening they did a tandori chicken that was outstanding with excellent flavor and without being dry. The only suggestion I would make is that I would have loved to try more cuisine reflective of Africa. This is a comment for almost all of the lodges/camps that we visited. I suspect with just a bit more time and evolution of tourism in Africa, there will be more focus on their local cuisine and I would love to see this happen.

If you need a TV and multiple activities to amuse yourself with (billiards, bowling alley etc.), please do your homework and don’t go. If you want to return to being a “kid” again and being enthralled by nature, there is no doubt this place is five stars.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmyandDeanHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We just loved Lake Manyara Tree Lodge. The atmosphere, the service, the bungalows, all in all just perfect. The only disappointment were the hiding lions and lepards, which we saw plenty of in the Serengeti.

If you wanna stay somewhere special, try it!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heike1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I just spent 3 days at the tree Lodge. It was fantastic. We travel alot....but were pleasantly surprised by the Tree Lodge. The rooms were spacious. The food was Good . The srevice was Fantastic. You will not be disappointed. We saw all the animals you would want to see. Afterwards we went to NgoroNgoro Crater....and were very DISAPPOINTED. The animals there just layed near the road.....accustom to vehicles and people. LAKE MANYARA was just the opposite. The animals roamed freely and KNEW they were uin charge. This was their LAND. It was awesome and the Guide from & Beyond....Peter, Vitalis , and Joseph were the best. Also if you plan on going to the Crater ...consider staying at THE MANOR instead of the Serene Hotel on the rim. We heard horror stories about the staff and rudeness. YES itr is convenient....BUT not worth the rudeness of the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I have been to Tanzania before but my mom has not, and they staff made our first stop in Tanzania a very memorable one for both of us! Emme, our Ranger, was kind, funny and knowledgable. The stilted tree house was beautiful and the food delicious. If you love elephants and giraffes, this is a great park to see these animals. I would highly recommend the Tree Lodge and thank you for an excellent stay!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
0.0 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
687 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#7 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
andBeyond Serengeti Under Canvas
andBeyond Serengeti Under Canvas
#22 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#2 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
780 reviews
0.0 mi away
andBeyond Klein's Camp
andBeyond Klein's Camp
#46 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge

Address: Lake Manyara, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range: $1,483 - $2,533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only one in Lake Manyara National Park, andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge is renowned for its romantic stilted treehouse suites that are shaded by a mahogany forest. After an exhilarating game drive, guests stop for sundowners on the lakeshore below the Great Rift Valley wall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Tree Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing