We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Lake Manyara National Park
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
19
21
21
4
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
19
21
21
4
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews safari company cooking area swimming pool hot water dining area is stayed here nice place to stay family room night stay campsite camping accommodation shower mosquitoes tanzania material surroundings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 80 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2019

We stayed at this campsite as it was included in our 4 day 3 night safari trip with African Traits.
I cannot comment on the lodge part as we were in basic tents as part of our package.
The campsite has 2 smaller "stores" where souvenirs could be bought. There was also a pool that seemed fairly well kept. There was a building with two sides for the female and male toilet and shower facilities... as always in Tanzania, bring your own soap and toilet paper!

In terms of food, we had our own cook with our safari and we therefore had our own location to eat the dinner and breakfast that were included in our package.

The campsite had several wifi locations and it worked fairly well.

I would definitely recommend this campsite as a budget-friendly option.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjaf_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019

Our family of 5 stayed in a family room at the Fanaka, which had 3 queen beds plus a toddler bed, as well as a full bathroom with shower. (Hot water worked perfectly fine for us, though I know others in different rooms weren't quite as lucky.) We were comfortable for our entire stay. There was an A/C unit in the room as well as a coffee pot, coffee, and bottled water. The pool was lovely and clean and a nice temperature. Our meals were perfect, the staff members were friendly. It was easy to buy bottled water here as we needed it. It's not a luxury stay by western standards, but we had everything we needed here and then some.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank birdybanksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2019

Lovely place on the Safari trail. Beds not the most comfortable but fine for a short stay. Hot water in showers sporadic. Lovely pool and surroundings. Staff always very friendly and helpful. Meals were tasty. We took a bicycle tour one day and that was great.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank HappyTravelAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2019

Fanaka Lodge deserves 4-5* for a 1 night stay. Overall good service in a convenient location. (The stay was included in our 4 day mid-range Safari tour in June 2019). Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room: Our room with two beds was basic but very clean and comfortable. Mosquito nets and portable fan provided. The en suite bathroom had a strong hot shower. Unfortunately, we didn't have time to use the swimming pool but it looked clean.

Food: 3 course dinner options were selected from a varied menu and included: soup of the day, fish or meat served with fries/rice/salad, and fruit for dessert. Nice tasty food - but not amazing. (During high season, I think they serve a buffet dinner and have live music). Breakfast was British style with bacon, eggs, toast, pancake and fruit + tea/coffee/juice. A good tasty start for safari and a decent packed lunch box.

Location: We stayed here on the 1st night of safari, straight after visiting Manyara National Park (<10mins). Also convenient for visiting Ngorongoro (~1hr) or Serengeti.

Wifi: Main downside was that I couldn't connect to the Wifi from my room. However, I did have cell service on AirTel so it wasn't a big issue.

Overall, Fanaka Lodge represents a clean and comfortable stay for 1 night at a convenient location for budget or lower mid-range travelers. But the Fanaka experience is definitely less memorable when compared to subsequent nights of our safari where we stayed in a tented camp inside the Serengeti or on the edge of the Ngorongoro crater. So shop around to see if this is really the best option for your safari!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank British_Bostonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019

Fanaka lodge is located near the Manyara national park and is therefore quite full of people going to Manyara or en route to Serengeti/Ngorongoro.
My husband and I stayed in the mid-range hotel room; there are also budget rooms available and you can even set up a tent. The room we had, had everything we needed: a bed, towels, a shower, a washroom. It was quite warm and due to electricity cuts, we couldn't use the fan the first night. The second night we had electricity and it was much cooler.
The most important thing to bear in mind is that you will need to cook food for yourself. Our safari company provided a chef during the whole safari and he was able to cook us a delicious meal.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews