We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A camp with character” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isoitok Camp - Manyara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Isoitok Camp - Manyara
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A camp with character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in February and wish we had stayed longer. Isoitok is a well designed and well managed camp. The tents are clean, spacious and beautifully furnished with many wood highlights. There is a lot of space between individual tents and the area is immaculate. There are lots of wood and stone accents and comfortable seating areas around the tents. A great spot to enjoy an early morning coffee.
Chris and camp staff were friendly and attentive. We were welcomed with refreshing drinks and provided with a good orientation to the camp. Both dinner and breakfast were served at times that were convenient for our other activities and the food was terrific. We had a very nice night here and certainly would recommend Isoitok to anyone travelling in the area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Edythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Our Safari guide John drive us at our next stop. When i arrived at the Isoitok Camp was a warm welcome with our host Chris and Maasai assistant Raphael. This camp is very very special with smiling staff, peaceful area, comfort tent, good look with landscape, good organization & Maasai healthcare and educational projects, delicious Maasai dinner with friendly conversation with Chris and Maasai staff we learn a lot about Maasai traditions. We have appreciated a lot and i suggest very much this Camp for break between Safari tours.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania, East Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at Isoitok this last Christmas and i must say our stay there is definately worth another visit. Chris our host and the owner of Isoitok made us feel so welcomed and comfortable that we could have stayed longer. We arrived to a warm welcome and were given an amazing and refreshing juice made with lemongrass.. Our room was amazing and loved the setting, what was more intriguing was the layout of the whole camp. Christmas eve as we sat out we could hear Hyenas call and the following morning Zebras as well... I would definately head back to this camp given half the chance. The staff were tops and friendly and always willing to help. Had hot showers all the time and a well relaxed atmosphere.. Thanks to all the Isoitok crew for making our Christmas special.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BorisTzinfobureau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodewaard
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the warm and personal approach of Chris, host and owner of Isoitok. The small camp has beautiful and luxuriuous designed tents, and is situated on a hill with a great view on Lake Manyara. The short hike up the hill to watch the sun go down was a nice way to stretch our legs before dinner. Besides the relaxed atmosphere, the biggest treat of Isoitok is the food and drinks (good wines), served around the fire and in the very stylish mess tent. The camp has an outstanding cook. Dinner and lunch the next day were the best we had! Thanks for the experience!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

What a special place!!

The tents were gorgeous and the attention to detail in terms of design was amazing. Chris and his staff were exceptional. We so loved our special Maasai dinner- delicious and authentic. We also so appreciated the relationship Chris has developed with the nearby Maasai community. It is a perfect place to stay at the end or beginning of a safari to the crater or Serengeti!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sacrotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I was really amazed by this camp. Although a camp, it is as comfortable as the best hotel. Plus it is in the nature. I also liked the idea of this camp and the co-existance with the Masai village that is nearby. The food was also just great! We asked to see the chef before we left and we met him! At night we gathered around the fire drinking a bier, so peaceful! Somebody with interest in birds will find also Chris' book of birds fantastic! The people who work there are also so friendly! If you have the chance take a walk with Chris up the hill before sunrise... I could say much more! You have to stay there!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annet_85_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Isoitok camp was one of the many amazing camps we stayed at on our ten day safari in northern Tanzania with Bush2Beach safaris, but it was our standout for so many reasons. Chris the owner is a superb host and has built the camp himself. The luxury tents are literally works of art, as is the bush shower and the gorgeous dining tent. Chris works with the local Maasai community and is on the ground trying to enrich peoples lives. We loved learning about Maasai culture, walking up to the lookout and watching the sun go down with cold beers, and the communal dining room was a great way to meet fellow travellers and get to know more about Tanzania. We have travelled extensively and this is one of the best places we have ever stayed! Thanks Chris, Ingrid and the team.

Room Tip: All the tents are gorgeous and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
4.0 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
24.2 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 47 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
48.4 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#4 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge
20.6 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
17.1 mi away
Lemala Manyara
Lemala Manyara
#15 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isoitok Camp - Manyara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isoitok Camp - Manyara

Property: Isoitok Camp - Manyara
Address: Makyuni - Mto Wa Mbu Highway, Lake Manyara National Park PO box 11914, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Isoitok Camp – Manyara is not just another tented camp, it’s an experience you wished you had longer for! The camp is surrounded by the Maasai community of Esilalei offering draw dropping views overlooking Lake Manyara and the Rift Valley basin. Private, surreal bush experiences await those who visit. Five deluxe tents sculptured into the natural surroundings with a night chorus out of "Born Free." ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing