We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An end-to-end solution of an East African Safari need”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp

It was an end-to-end solution of an East African Safari need. It commenced with the pick up at Kilimanjaro airport and curtain was downed with drop at the same airport.
Due to various reasons, it was a day long journey for me from Dar Es Salaam to the safari camp. Honestly speaking, there was a feeling of disappointment when in the final lap towards the camp in the darkness of night, the vehicle took a narrow corrugated road from the asphalted road. I was skeptical that where we were driving at.
Reached the camp site almost nearing midnight. The disappointment vanished immediately when I found Susanta Das, the ever smiling custodian of the camp was personally present to receive me. Greetings followed by piping hot dinner. I could not ask for more at the point of time.
A standard pattern followed for three consecutive days. Wake up calls were given by the symphony of chirping of birds in the early morning. I've not seen them but enjoyed the tweeting of various birds in different tunes in different hertz. A cup of tea (masala chai), served by John, was energizing enough to get out of the bed.
Breakfast - pick up the lunch box from the reception - on board of a four wheel drive vehicle - drive down to the safari - return to the camp at the time of Sunset - enjoy another cup of chai by the poolside while the Pelicans and Flamingos fly overhead - drinking session at the reception-cum-bar to unwind - buffet dinner (cooked by Chef Habib) - the post-dinner dancing / singing / unbelievable acrobat show by local artists - escort to the chalet by the security (Askari).
The camp is well maintained and perfect place to be close to Lake Manyara National park with Ngorongoro / Serengetti in one direction and Tarangire National Park on other side. Hospitality is bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingBuzzBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 285 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2014

The location was quite peaceful but hardly a chance to see any animals at night. The rooms were excellent. The food was average. Staff were excellent throughout. Reading the reviews, the only concern I had was their pending investigation into the alleged armed robbery. The management would do well to ensure a review has been completed and noted on the trip advisor review site. Although seeing the review was unnerving, I felt very safe in the camp and seemed as though they had enough security on hand.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank linpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The rooms are luxuous tents with own bathroom/toilet and terrace overlooking mountains and fields located in large quiet ressort. From our terrace we had a spectaculair view on a beautiful African sunset. The staff is very friendly and makes one feel very welcome. In the dark the guests are not allowed to walk to their rooms without guidance in case they encounter a wild animal (an exiting idea). These guards monitor the ressort the whole night. After dinner (a buffet) we enjoyed an African music and danceshow.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank inge j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

A wonderful place in the midst of nature and splendidly attended by workers. With gorgeous rooms and amazing public areas like restaurant, bar and swiming pool. A great place to relax and enjoy, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ansergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The camp is such a peaceful and calm. The staff were so nice and well trained. after our initial refreshment, we spent the whole evening by seeing the manyara mountains and fields...& sunset. end of the day a local dance. very exciting. There is alot of hot water in rooms and each room has its own security guard. The guide/driver peter is simply superb. he explains each and everything. the very next day we went to manyara forest, hot springs, etc., next day ngorongoro, crater, then after day serengeti... and we were back to kilimanjarao airport via mount meru in arusha and mount kili. we saw many lions right beside of our jeep. elephants, ostriches, wild pigs, water bucks, wild beasts, wild buffaloes, etc., The food was very special and delicious. Thank you chef. Thank you sushanth. Thank you all staff for your warm hospitality....it was amazing experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ramakandula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Our experience was very pleasant and a truly "African" experience! Don't forget to ask for 'Peter' the friendly guide for game drives!!! Great quality food and amazing choice of vegetarian dishes!!!! They also catered special meals for our family ensuring our children were happy! the views are so amazing from any part of the resort. Pool was clean. Dinner and the entertainment with African music and dance after dinner are something worth mentioning! It felt very safe with many people guarding near and around the tents. Facilities were well maintained. The Manager is very professional, warm and friendly!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SriAgasthyaraju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Close to the nature, very friendly spectacle at night, great team.
Rooms are individual bungalows, with straw roofs and limited confort, which is the compromise to do to have such a view and proximity to manyara park.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
4.8 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#2 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
782 reviews
4.2 mi away
Burudika Lodges
Burudika Lodges
#1 of 15 in Mto wa Mbu
32 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge
22.8 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,640 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nsya Lodge & Camp
Nsya Lodge & Camp
#2 of 15 in Mto wa Mbu
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp

Address: Losirwa, Mto wa Mbu, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range: $174 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp lies along the 600 meter Rift Valley Escarpment over the river basin overlooking the lake itself. Our accommodations and infinity swimming pool are built right at the edge of the escarpment and provide unparalleled views of the region. The camp is divided into cabins and safari tents, offering visitors a range of options for accommodations. We are located a short drive from Arusha and are most closely accessible from Kilimanjaro Airport and we offer shuttle service from those destinations. Our chefs prepare the most succulent cuisine you’ll find on your safari, offering a range of Continental, Asian and African cuisine and our bartenders offer great cocktails into the late hours of the night in our lounge area which is equipped with a big-screen tv and satellite, weather permitting. We offer bush dinners and late night safari drives for visitors upon request and are happy to accommodate meal preferences, special occasions and events. Accommodations are authentically safari themed and offer up authentic local furniture and electricity during generator hours. Let the Luxury Safari Adventure begin at Lake Manyara Wildlife Camp ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing