We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem not to be overlooked”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014

What a beautiful, intimate property. The tents (more like luxe suites) were unequaled. The staff couldn’t have been nicer, or more attentive. There were only 2 other couples this evening, so dinner was fixed plate, not a buffet. Breakfast was buffet, plus eggs your way. Both were delicious & plentiful.

Oh the view . . . awesome. You could see forever. The Maasai herding their cattle across the vast plain, Lake Manyara for a backdrop. We savored a drink while birds flew overhead during sunset. I’m feeling dreamy just thinking about the experience.

Fun story . . . after settling in we had a drink in the common area. We met a mom & her 2 daughters that were volunteering at a nearby village. After an interesting, lively chat one daughter commented they should get going before it got dark. Seems they come here most evenings to wind down their day. Next thing we see them crossing the plains towards a distant village. The scene (see photo) mesmerized me until they became just tiny dots. Who knew a safari lodge in what I would call ‘the middle of wild’ would be a local pub :)

As to security, it looked very secure to me. Guards at every turn, I felt safe. If, in fact, a robbery did occur (I have no opinion on that, I wasn’t there) then I would say, “What, only one robbery?” In good old California there are multiple robberies on a daily basis. Yes, huge bummer any time, especially on a vacation, but crooks happen.

Hands down, if I were in the area again, I’d be begging to stay here.

Thanks Wildlife Camp (and Good Earth Tours)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mundaySacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARK G, Manager at Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you very much for your views.
We wants our guest to feel “home away home” during the stay with us without any barriers. With all the above, we will be promising a personalized guest service and at last they will leave our home with an everlasting Manyara Memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 287 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

We were there on April 20th. Only stayed for one night. They place was quaint. Not a lot of frills. Our room was more like a tent which made it interesting. Water pressure in the bathroom was great. Plenty of hot water. Each tent was quite far from the next so you do feel like you are the only one in the area. At night, you can hear the animal noises and in the morning you are greated by birds chirping outside your tent.
The food was ok but like other reviewers had mentioned, you do not go to Africa for the food.
My only complaint was there are lots of mosquitoes. Even with bug spray - I was still bitten very badly. Dinning area was open air and according to the staff, they can't turn on the lights or else it will attract the insects. So we ended up eating in the dark.
The staff were nice but not well trained enough. Service was slow (even when it was buffet style). Asked for a cup of ice and it took about 10-15 minutes before I received it. At that time there were only one other table beside us. The server asked if we wanted anything to drink and we wanted some tea, the pointed us to the table when the set up the tea and coffee service but you find cup with no spoon, cream and not sugar ... things are not set up correctly.

TIPS: wear long sleves and long pants (light color and material) to avoid being bitten by mosquitoes.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sympnymp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARK G, Manager at Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you very much for your comments. Regarding flies as it rainy season and camp located close to National park between bushes. During this season using dim lights to avoid bugs & flies specially in open area. Sorry for being bitten by mosquitoes. We already using mosquito Net inside the room to give our Guest comfort sleep.
Regarding Service and meal, this complaint already been forwarded to relevant departments and will take appropriate steps.

Hope you have enjoyed your Trip in Tanzania..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We were there recently on the 19th of April 2014. Lodges are rustic, with fans and mosquito netting. Security is adequate, we had Masai guards walking us to our rooms in the evening. Food spread was okay, but the serving staff needs more training - be prepared to wait for your meals. Wifi is available at the lobby.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank peyter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

“ Lake Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp”
This camp should be closed down completely and their name should disappear from the websites and Tripadvisor too. With disgust I have to inform you all that one of the most dangerous hotels in the Lake Manyara area is “ Lake Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp. ” This hotel has no security at all.

We had planned our holiday trip with the Roy Safaris Ltd in Arusha this Easter 2014 holidays. Roy Safaris booked us (family of 14 people) in this hotel for our two nights/ three days Lake Manyara Ngorongoro safari. On the first night i.e. Saturday 19th April 2014 after supper and a relaxing time with our family members, me and my mother we were headed to our room for the night. Our room was the last in the row.
The manager explained to us that in case we need to step out of room in the middle of the night (Which we obviously wouldn't) we should switch on the torch from our window and the Masai will come to escort us. With that note we went to bed.

In the middle of the night around 01:00AM we heard some noise outside our room. We thought it must be the wild animals so we did not make any noise or so. Within few seconds we heard a big bang on the door of our room and to our surprise we see five unknown strangers with Guns and knives in our room. We shouted for help but they shot the gun in the air and told us to keep quite. On gun point me and my mother were ordered to sleep on the floor with our heads down and they started taking all our belongings. They took our cash money, mobile phones, credit cards, driving license and our passports too. Two of them were right above us with the guns pointing on our heads. They were all dressed in a proper uniform style clothing and were speaking English. They kept saying they wanted all our cash and belongings or they will shoot us dead. But fortunately they did not kill us as we kept telling them to spare our lives and take whatever they wanted from us. Luckily while they were leaving the passports were thrown outside the room.

With a hotel like this in the jungle we could not believe that the Security Level was so weak that even after those guys shooting gun in the air (around 6 shots) none of the Security or Management people came to our rescue immediately. We ran out of the room once they left us. Our family who was nearby our room came to us asking what had just happened.

We then marched to the Reception area to complain but it seemed that they were simply unaware of what had just happened, also saying this has never happened before and that we shouldn't report about this incident. The Manager apologized and asked us what had been stolen and we told them all. But they did not even make an attempt to find out from their side anything on this incident. The police came the following day and that is when our statements were taken.

I do not understand why a hotel cannot take all proper security measures for their respective Guests who come from all around the World.

This is my humble request to all the tourists traveling to Lake Manyara. That make sure your hotels have proper security and to be precise do not risk staying in “ Lake Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp”

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
10  Thank Harpal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARK G, Owner at Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guests

I am the Chairman of Wild Africa Limited trading as Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp at Losirwa, Mto wa Mbu, Manayara providing boarding and lodging services to local and foreign visitors to our game parks.

The incident is alleged to have occurred in the early morning of 20th April 2014 whereby one of the members of a groups of 12 local residents who stayed in the camp claimed to have been robbed resulting in him having lost Tshs.800,000= (Equiv of USD.500-)

No one was or appeared to have been injured and the rest of the family members appeared to be concerned.

Upon the claimant raising the alarm, all our guards and our management team including senior security officer gathered at the crime scene within minutes to comfort the claimant and his mother. They were then joined by few of his family members who were staying in the adjacent chalets.
Our Hotel Operations Manager was asked to come with the police who did so within 30 minutes to be joined by senior most officer from the District Headquarters who happened to be in the village to celebrate Easter Holidays.

The team was later joined by Regional Crime Officer who embarked upon an intense investigation after taking a statement from the claimant who was then moved to another chalet with a guard posted outside.

The investigation team attached extra ordinary importance to the alleged incidence given the sensitive nature of the tourist industry and the ripples it could cause within the tourism sector as a whole.

The Senior Officer stayed at the scene until 4:30am and advised against giving any statements to anyone until their investigation was completed and the final report issued. This was the first time ever for our camp to have encountered such a situation.

The guest and all his entourage left for Ngorongoro National Park at approximately 5:00am to return to the Camp at around 2:30pm for lunch.

It was then that the Claimant requested for the monetary loss to be reimbursed as he did not have any money on him to stay at the hotel in Arusha on their way back to Dar es Salaam.

The Management gave him Tshs.800,000= he claimed to have lost as a gesture of sympathy and assistance.

For us, this situation was and still is a matter of serious concern and, and it posed a serious potential threat to all lodges and camps within the vicinity of game conservation areas with armed culprits still at large.

We have since duly notified Tanzania National Parks (TANAPA) of the incident for them to exercise extreme vigilance so as to avoid any such incidence and also to expedite the outcome of the police investigation.

We have a good name in the market and have so far operated without any significant incident to deter our guests visiting us.

Our services and customers care have also been duly recognized by the relevant authorities through selection among the only 3 hotels which were granted a certificate of Responsible Tourism in the region.
All we can do and what we have done is to learn from such an experience to enhance our vigilance and adopt further and extreme precautions to avoid such situations in future. We have since adopted the following:


1. Added 3 more security guards to include one armed guard to arrive at a total of 9nos. trained security guards for the night and 6nos. for the day time.
2. Introduced an hourly punching machine to ensure hourly vigilance.
3. Provided walkie talkies for instant communication
4. Provided 2 watch dogs with handlers
5. Added one more generator set to ensure a 24 hours power supply
6. Installation of lighting around each chalet and the tented camps.
7. Appointed a head of security to oversee the guards’ performance during the night
8. Made arrangements with the Police Department to recruit trained police officers for temporary assignments to replace absentee guards, if any.
.
The case relating to the incidents is being handled by Mr. Mapuri, the OCS and Mr. Morris Okinda, the OCD at Monduli Tel. 0754 530 418/0782 530 418 who can be contacted for further clarification if required.


R. Merani (Chairman)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is not a place to stay . In fact this camp should be closed. we went in a group of 14 including kids and 5 armed gunmen entered one of the rooms at 1am and started firing and swearing . they took all it was in the room cash mobile phones . I saw everything with my own eyes before they came towards my room . security at the camp is rubbish they arrived at the scene after everything was over. later we were forced to withhold this information from other guest and our touring company so it does not spoil there name. People please please please do not go and stay there as its a big risk to yours and your families life. I thank God that we all came out alive from this horrifying experience. we also found bullets shells in the rooms but the next morning the camp management denied everything to our touring company who were investigating the incident. we were being forced to keep ours mouths shut.

Room Tip: don't ever stay here its very dangerous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gurpal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARK G, Owner at Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guests

I am the Chairman of Wild Africa Limited trading as Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp at Losirwa, Mto wa Mbu, Manayara providing boarding and lodging services to local and foreign visitors to our game parks.

The incident is alleged to have occurred in the early morning of 20th April 2014 whereby one of the members of a groups of 12 local residents who stayed in the camp claimed to have been robbed resulting in him having lost Tshs.800,000= (Equiv of USD.500-)

No one was or appeared to have been injured and the rest of the family members appeared to be concerned.

Upon the claimant raising the alarm, all our guards and our management team including senior security officer gathered at the crime scene within minutes to comfort the claimant and his mother. They were then joined by few of his family members who were staying in the adjacent chalets.
Our Hotel Operations Manager was asked to come with the police who did so within 30 minutes to be joined by senior most officer from the District Headquarters who happened to be in the village to celebrate Easter Holidays.

The team was later joined by Regional Crime Officer who embarked upon an intense investigation after taking a statement from the claimant who was then moved to another chalet with a guard posted outside.

The investigation team attached extra ordinary importance to the alleged incidence given the sensitive nature of the tourist industry and the ripples it could cause within the tourism sector as a whole.

The Senior Officer stayed at the scene until 4:30am and advised against giving any statements to anyone until their investigation was completed and the final report issued. This was the first time ever for our camp to have encountered such a situation.

The guest and all his entourage left for Ngorongoro National Park at approximately 5:00am to return to the Camp at around 2:30pm for lunch.

It was then that the Claimant requested for the monetary loss to be reimbursed as he did not have any money on him to stay at the hotel in Arusha on their way back to Dar es Salaam.

The Management gave him Tshs.800,000= he claimed to have lost as a gesture of sympathy and assistance.

For us, this situation was and still is a matter of serious concern and, and it posed a serious potential threat to all lodges and camps within the vicinity of game conservation areas with armed culprits still at large.

We have since duly notified Tanzania National Parks (TANAPA) of the incident for them to exercise extreme vigilance so as to avoid any such incidence and also to expedite the outcome of the police investigation.

We have a good name in the market and have so far operated without any significant incident to deter our guests visiting us.

Our services and customers care have also been duly recognized by the relevant authorities through selection among the only 3 hotels which were granted a certificate of Responsible Tourism in the region.
All we can do and what we have done is to learn from such an experience to enhance our vigilance and adopt further and extreme precautions to avoid such situations in future. We have since adopted the following:


1. Added 3 more security guards to include one armed guard to arrive at a total of 9nos. trained security guards for the night and 6nos. for the day time.
2. Introduced an hourly punching machine to ensure hourly vigilance.
3. Provided walkie talkies for instant communication
4. Provided 2 watch dogs with handlers
5. Added one more generator set to ensure a 24 hours power supply
6. Installation of lighting around each chalet and the tented camps.
7. Appointed a head of security to oversee the guards’ performance during the night
8. Made arrangements with the Police Department to recruit trained police officers for temporary assignments to replace absentee guards, if any.
.
The case relating to the incidents is being handled by Mr. Mapuri, the OCS and Mr. Morris Okinda, the OCD at Monduli Tel. 0754 530 418/0782 530 418 who can be contacted for further clarification if required.


R. Merani (Chairman)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

we were there on Easter holidays this year 2014 in april, we had booked 1 night stay here,,,about 14 of us came from dar....booked 4 rooms....at night around 1:30 FIVE armed gun men enter my cousins room....gun pointing him and his mother...this went on for 1 hour with out the security's notice who were also given fire arms and guns for security of the tourist in the hotel,,despite all this they came took every thing...left the passports,,,,,and fired 2 shots in the room ceiling before they left,,,,and while they were in the room...1 of them went on the other side rooms to check if more people were there....but they left as they noticed they were creating their presence...the hotel management is denying if anything has taken place of this sort.... despite of tight security.....and armed security and masai people in the hotel.....sad but it happened

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
7  Thank jagroopjheetey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARK G, Owner at Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guests

I am the Chairman of Wild Africa Limited trading as Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp at Losirwa, Mto wa Mbu, Manayara providing boarding and lodging services to local and foreign visitors to our game parks.

The incident is alleged to have occurred in the early morning of 20th April 2014 whereby one of the members of a groups of 12 local residents who stayed in the camp claimed to have been robbed resulting in him having lost Tshs.800,000= (Equiv of USD.500-)

No one was or appeared to have been injured and the rest of the family members appeared to be concerned.

Upon the claimant raising the alarm, all our guards and our management team including senior security officer gathered at the crime scene within minutes to comfort the claimant and his mother. They were then joined by few of his family members who were staying in the adjacent chalets.
Our Hotel Operations Manager was asked to come with the police who did so within 30 minutes to be joined by senior most officer from the District Headquarters who happened to be in the village to celebrate Easter Holidays.

The team was later joined by Regional Crime Officer who embarked upon an intense investigation after taking a statement from the claimant who was then moved to another chalet with a guard posted outside.

The investigation team attached extra ordinary importance to the alleged incidence given the sensitive nature of the tourist industry and the ripples it could cause within the tourism sector as a whole.

The Senior Officer stayed at the scene until 4:30am and advised against giving any statements to anyone until their investigation was completed and the final report issued. This was the first time ever for our camp to have encountered such a situation.

The guest and all his entourage left for Ngorongoro National Park at approximately 5:00am to return to the Camp at around 2:30pm for lunch.

It was then that the Claimant requested for the monetary loss to be reimbursed as he did not have any money on him to stay at the hotel in Arusha on their way back to Dar es Salaam.

The Management gave him Tshs.800,000= he claimed to have lost as a gesture of sympathy and assistance.

For us, this situation was and still is a matter of serious concern and, and it posed a serious potential threat to all lodges and camps within the vicinity of game conservation areas with armed culprits still at large.

We have since duly notified Tanzania National Parks (TANAPA) of the incident for them to exercise extreme vigilance so as to avoid any such incidence and also to expedite the outcome of the police investigation.

We have a good name in the market and have so far operated without any significant incident to deter our guests visiting us.

Our services and customers care have also been duly recognized by the relevant authorities through selection among the only 3 hotels which were granted a certificate of Responsible Tourism in the region.
All we can do and what we have done is to learn from such an experience to enhance our vigilance and adopt further and extreme precautions to avoid such situations in future. We have since adopted the following:


1. Added 3 more security guards to include one armed guard to arrive at a total of 9nos. trained security guards for the night and 6nos. for the day time.
2. Introduced an hourly punching machine to ensure hourly vigilance.
3. Provided walkie talkies for instant communication
4. Provided 2 watch dogs with handlers
5. Added one more generator set to ensure a 24 hours power supply
6. Installation of lighting around each chalet and the tented camps.
7. Appointed a head of security to oversee the guards’ performance during the night
8. Made arrangements with the Police Department to recruit trained police officers for temporary assignments to replace absentee guards, if any.
.
The case relating to the incidents is being handled by Mr. Mapuri, the OCS and Mr. Morris Okinda, the OCD at Monduli Tel. 0754 530 418/0782 530 418 who can be contacted for further clarification if required.


R. Merani (Chairman)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp for one night in February. This is a small camp, and the service was very friendly and helpful. The tent was smaller than other places we stayed, but it had a beautiful view of the valley, a comfortable bed, and enough hot water for two showers in the bathroom (but not much more than that). We found a few holes in the mosquito net, so we patched those up with some duct tape we brought before we headed to dinner. The plated dinner was very good. Our favorite was a chopped vegetable salad in half of an avocado. Breakfast was just OK, and we were not thrilled with all the bees that were buzzing around the dining area and getting in our food. The staff was very accommodating and offered to move us closer to the pool to finish our breakfast, which helped a little bit, but we still had to rush through breakfast to get away from all the buzzing.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank cml014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
5.6 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#2 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
149 reviews
4.2 mi away
Burudika Lodges
Burudika Lodges
#2 of 15 in Mto wa Mbu
32 reviews
4.8 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
#3 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
205 reviews
14.6 mi away
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge
17.1 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#4 of 51 in Karatu
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp

Address: Losirwa, Mto wa Mbu, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range: $140 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp lies along the 600 meter Rift Valley Escarpment over the river basin overlooking the lake itself. Our accommodations and infinity swimming pool are built right at the edge of the escarpment and provide unparalleled views of the region. The camp is divided into cabins and safari tents, offering visitors a range of options for accommodations. We are located a short drive from Arusha and are most closely accessible from Kilimanjaro Airport and we offer shuttle service from those destinations. Our chefs prepare the most succulent cuisine you’ll find on your safari, offering a range of Continental, Asian and African cuisine and our bartenders offer great cocktails into the late hours of the night in our lounge area which is equipped with a big-screen tv and satellite, weather permitting. We offer bush dinners and late night safari drives for visitors upon request and are happy to accommodate meal preferences, special occasions and events. Accommodations are authentically safari themed and offer up authentic local furniture and electricity during generator hours. Let the Luxury Safari Adventure begin at Lake Manyara Wildlife Camp ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing