We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed for a night on the way to the Serengeti after a game drive at Manyara National Park. The hotel is well laid out, with everything looking well maintained and clean. The road to the place is bit awful but after you get there, its calm and peaceful.

The room was spacious and comfortable. Staff were really efficient and friendly. The food was tasty and had a decent variety.

The view from the restaurant and pool area or even the rooms is really good - you can see the lake and surrounding area just in front of you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShareKhan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 285 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed one night recently , lovely accommodation, comfortable bed and beautiful views.
Went out on evening game drive to Lake Manyara which was lovely. On our return as a party of 6 we had a nightcap at the bar - drinks were the most expensive on our trip at 8 usd for a gin and 2 dollars for tonic.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LothiansTootsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Don't be discouraged by the drive in to this place. The road there is awful, but the payoff is good. The grounds are beautiful, we enjoyed a dip in the pool-with-a-view, and we loved the bar and restaurant area. We had two of the single-story lodges; they were very attractive and the beds were comfortable. We had a little trouble with the hot water in one room but that was fixed promptly. The food and service were very good.

Our guide had suggested that we leave for an early game drive in the morning but we opted to relax and enjoy the lodge a little longer instead. We were glad we did.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Only stayed here one night as part of a week long safari, so a bit in and out.
I would describe out first floor room at a tree house, all made up of natural logs etc. and very rustic.
A pretty small property, and remote from anywhere after the drive in. We sat down to a small buffet lunch, small but quite appealing. Same for dinner and breakfast. It was all cooked, as far as I could see, by one young guy who was both enthusiastic and happy if you lied what he had put out.
There'd be lucky to be more than 30-40 people staying per time so its an intimate affair.
In the evening towards the end of dinner there was a local "cabaret" show put on. Singing, dancing, and a quite spectacular, death defying (or at least sever injury defying) actrobatics act laid on. All pretty good.
However, back in the room, showerswere a one or three stream variety, of varying stength and not always hot. And in a weird partitioned part of the main room. Not appealing.
Rooms themselves were, at best, eclectic.
However all was saved by the small and dedicated delightful staff who really try to make your short time there pleasent. Bravo to them because some tourists are staggeringly rude, and embarrassing. But through it all they were unfailingly pro-actively nice and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room or a tented room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Comfortable beds, good linens, reliable plumbing and electricity - a nice lodge near Lake Manyara which, in dry season, is only just visible from a corner of the property or pool. Persistent flies made spending any time outdoors unpleasant, and because the common areas of the lodge are open to the outdoors, flies were part of drinks, meals or accessing the internet. Food was great tasting, and featured some local as well as continental / indian cuisine. Yogurt was available when requested for breakfast, though wisely not put out on buffet (did I mention flies?) Views of the pasture-land north of the lake are vast, and with binocs one can watch the Maasi herds and herders make their way back and forth from the lake and grazing. Gardens were ablaze with color and lush foliage, many birds and butterflies. A good intermediate stop on the way to Ngorongoro, its proximity to Mto wa Mbu allows visitors to go into town for shopping or a stop at the cultural heritage center.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baglady1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

You must travel thru one of the poorest placed we witnessed in Tanzania to get to what compares to a palace vs. what exists just beyond the high walks and guard booths.
No wifi available to customers - only the management can use it. It's in "testing" we were told. The only property we stayed at throughout the bush that did NOT have wifi.
Nice grounds, nice buffet, friendly staff (but NOT at the front desk!) and small rooms

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joelob22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here on the last night of a 7 night safari and found the accommodation & service excellent.

The tent was lovely and charmingly furnished although it isn't a true tent as it's set upon a permanent wooden based on stilts and at the rear opens onto a bathroom in a small permanent outbuilding.
Interestingly however despite the much more permanent nature of this lodge it was the only accommodation we stayed in where electric lights did not work overnight as electricity was produced by a generator only operative for a period in the morning and evening rather than from solar power.

Food was good and staff were obliging/helpful.

I have marked this lodge down one point for a couple of reasons. One it has the feel of a hotel with staff and was much less personal than the other places we stayed. Having said that the staff we encountered were all very helpful! More importantly safari guides were apparently not welcome in the guest dining room. Inevitably your guide makes your holiday on safari and it saddened us rather to find our guide unable to join us at dinner on our last night. Having said that he did assure us that guides were well catered for in terms of accommodation and food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieMooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
4.8 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#2 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
782 reviews
4.2 mi away
Burudika Lodges
Burudika Lodges
#1 of 15 in Mto wa Mbu
32 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge
22.8 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,640 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nsya Lodge & Camp
Nsya Lodge & Camp
#2 of 15 in Mto wa Mbu
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp

Address: Losirwa, Mto wa Mbu, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range: $174 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp lies along the 600 meter Rift Valley Escarpment over the river basin overlooking the lake itself. Our accommodations and infinity swimming pool are built right at the edge of the escarpment and provide unparalleled views of the region. The camp is divided into cabins and safari tents, offering visitors a range of options for accommodations. We are located a short drive from Arusha and are most closely accessible from Kilimanjaro Airport and we offer shuttle service from those destinations. Our chefs prepare the most succulent cuisine you’ll find on your safari, offering a range of Continental, Asian and African cuisine and our bartenders offer great cocktails into the late hours of the night in our lounge area which is equipped with a big-screen tv and satellite, weather permitting. We offer bush dinners and late night safari drives for visitors upon request and are happy to accommodate meal preferences, special occasions and events. Accommodations are authentically safari themed and offer up authentic local furniture and electricity during generator hours. Let the Luxury Safari Adventure begin at Lake Manyara Wildlife Camp ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing