We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This will be your first hotel on the trip to the national parks of Tanzania. Excellent food, ambience and service. Great view of the lake in the morning and you can get your photos clicked.

Only word of caution: Please dont ever open your balcony window of your room. Baboons inhabit the area and can easily access your rooms if they are open. They even know how to slide the doors if they are not locked so please keep your room doors and windows locked at all times!!!

Room Tip: Please take a room whose locking system is excellent. Baboons are a big threat there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankeet_sinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 142 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was our first lodge experience and we had a very pleasant stay here. The room was fine. The buffet food was tasty - there were plenty of options. We were very pleased with our complimentary Honeymoon bottle of wine. I would recommend this hotel. The only negative we experienced was the maids were VERY load outside our room in the morning so we were woken up earlier that we wanted.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel for only one night, before our Lake Manyara safari trip. The stuff of the hotel is very welcomiming. We had great dinner and breakfast ;)

Rooms had maskito nets, but you must have maskito protection since those nets are not very effective.

Lock your doors because wildlife is at your doorstep ;)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyatlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Amazing views over the Lake. Stunning pool & bar. A must stay when in Tanzania.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel while on a group safari in Africa. The setting is absolutely priceless with the view out over Lake Manyara. The pool and area was a great spot for a quick swim and lounging around. The outdoor bar looking out over the Lake also was a great place to hang out. The food was pretty decent here. The rooms however were just not up to the standard of the rest - smaller with no noise insulation. Be sure to lock the patio door or the monkeys will have fun with your belongings!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sixtysix66_66_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for one night and we got a room with a spectacular view. Nothing fancy in the room. Only very basic things. Bathroom is a bit small and towels are kind of worn out. But once you walk to the pool area, order a cocktail and lay down on those lounge chairs you are in serious paradise !!! Such a beautiful location. Worth a stay for one-night !

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We have stayed hat this lodge many years ago and returned with our two daughters in August 2011. However, on this occasion we were allocated rooms on the ground floor adjacent to the hotel reception area. In the past we never noticed that all rooms have a mesh/screen above the entire length of the bathroom wall that allows you to be heard and noise from outside to travel in. As a consequence we were kept awake most of the night as there was a constant to and fro from the corridor and reception. We asked to speak with the general manager the following morning. Mr Harrison Njoroge was apologetic but refused to recompense us in any way. His fall back position was "You must take the matter up with the tour operator". I was left with the impression this is an easy way to get out of the situation and he knows that the entire trip is already paid for and the tour operator is not the one at fault!. Overall, the hotel, the staff, food and of course the location are great. However, a lack of sleep and a poor response from the hotel marred our stop at this location. In summary make sure your room is away from too much noise as the rooms are constructed with little thought to sound proofing!

Room Tip: Away from the reception or other noisy parts of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stewart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
24.5 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
709 reviews
11.9 mi away
Highview Hotel
Highview Hotel
#1 of 3 in Karatu
234 reviews
19.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#9 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#6 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
297 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
160 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#2 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge

Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 100

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing