We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Burudika Lodges(Mto wa Mbu)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nsya Lodge & Camp(Mto wa Mbu)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp(Lake Manyara National Park)
$146
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Migunga Tented Camp(Lake Manyara National Park)
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Africa Safari Glamping Manyara(Lake Manyara National Park)(Great Value!)
$33
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Morona Hill Lodge(Mto wa Mbu)
$178
Priceline
View Deal
Kirurumu Manyara Lodge(Lake Manyara National Park)
$120
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge(Lake Manyara National Park)
$458
$417
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge(Lake Manyara National Park)(Great Value!)
$364
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveler rating
188
23
8
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
23
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerpersonal butleroverlooking lake manyarafour seasonswelcome songmusic and dancingair conditioningstunning viewsfooted tubassigned a butlerhotel experienceamazing sunsetrooms are hugemain areaprivate balconythe hotel managercomfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 219 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2014

It's a new lodge with new management. The rooms are nice, but the overall grounds need work. It's dry. Nothing green. It's called luxury lodge, but it cannot be compared to the Exploreance which is not very far away. It's not easy to walk in the dark from your room to the restaurant and they have no flashlights to help you. I trust the new management will fix all theses things, but right now it's not a luxury lodge as the name states.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Guy20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Escarpment Luxury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Your feedback has been taken very seriously and the new management team will be addressing your concerns accordingly.

We hope to welcome you back one day soon to experience all the positive changes.

Thank you once again and we would love for you to keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Escarpment Luxury Lodge by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The rooms and public areas at Escarpment Lodge are simply lovely – the best tribal art and carvings of our trip and beautiful furnishings throughout - including in the guest rooms.
The lodge has a beautiful view down over Lake Manyara. Some rooms have better lake views than others.

Surprisingly, then, the food was really poor – quite unimaginative (e.g. my main course that evening was spaghetti with just a plain tomato sauce. Edible but dull).

There is a new manager there who kept trying to goad us into complimenting the food when we said it was 'fine' i.e. acceptable – he should instead have been listening to his guests to find out the truth.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view of the Lake
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChapLondon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here for one night during a 5 night safari trip on our honeymoon. Not only was the lodge absolutely beautiful, but the staff were really lovely too! We wished we'd stayed longer.

Highlights included dinner (excellent food outside with a real fire), the bath and the outdoor shower.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Oyinlolapop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

we only stayed a night here which was definately not long enough! the main area had stunning views over the lake below and the food was INCREDIBLE! the rooms were also HUGE and beautiful - close to Ngorogoro for the game drives as well :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PippaS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel that offers views of Lake Manyara from the terrace pool.

The staff are friendly and attentive and the room are decorated very tastefully.

At six pm you can see baboons coming onto your private room terrace, as the lodge does back onto a nature reserve.

This does however present an issue as you are told once darkness falls you may no longer leave the room, until your allocated wake up call in the morning, when the Masai security will escort you to the main dining hall.

The concern is, as the rooms do not have a telephone line, you end up fearing what would happen in the event of an emergency/ robbery. I must again reiterate that although seclusion is what is intended here, with rooms not having a television set or internet in them, you end up feeling isolated as you are trapped within the room once you return from dinner; the fear of an elephant or wilderbeast attacking you means once you are in the room, that is it. Also with ANOTHER lodge in the area having experienced robberies, you do tend not to be at ease knowing that you would basically be left to fend for yourself in the UNLIKELY event of a sour incident.

So to summarise, beautiful rooms with views, easy access to lake Manyara (15 min drive) but almost too abrupt an introduction to the world of safari and being alone in the sticks.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kamtona7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews