We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a memorable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

There are only about 10 bungalows on the entire property. We were in bungalow 1 the furthest from the main house. The bungalow is HUGE and extremely comfortable. Staff is awesome and the food delicious. When you go to the balcony for your sundowner the sweeping views of lake manyara are just breathtaking. They have a great pool, and this property has got to be one of the only properties that has air conditioning in the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tacjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 203 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

We arrived after a very long dusty drive - the staff singing their welcome to us was an encouraging site. The check in was handled promptly and the room was over the top wonderful. Great view from our deck, the outdoor shower was fun, the bed and linens were first class. We enjoyed a late afternoon drink on the terrace and then made our way down to the performance area where we were entertained until dinner was ready. And then we had more music and dancing as we ate a terrific meal by the light of the bonfire. A warrior escort to our cottage may not have been needed - but it certainly added to the ambience. The breakfast was excellent - lots of buffet choices and a short menu as well. The only disappointment was only spending one night here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

It is hard to describe how amazing this lodge is. Luxury is the focus and service is top notch. Upon arrival we were greeted by the manager and introduced to our butler, Daniel, who was such a lovely young man who created a feeling of caring that made our stay here wonderful. We had two nights here in a jam packed schedule and we made some changes so we were able to spend time in our private room enjoying the shower, bathtub, bed and gorgeous views.
Meals were delicious, breakfast, lunch (to go) and dinner with entertainment each evening. On our last evening the chef and his staff put on a special BBQ on the lawn with delicious meats, soups, salads and desserts.
The Massai warrior escort to our room after dinner was a surprising service that we became accustomed to as we continued our travels in Tanzania. We would definitely come back to Escarpment Luxury Lodge.

Room Tip: Number 12 was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelle58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were there for just one night but the place is amazing! The pool of course is a big plus with the views. The rooms are outstanding and very comfortable... Just be careful! We locked ourselves out in the balcony! :)
The musicians were great, we had a fab time dancing with them.
Just wished they had given us a better table for a honeymoon dinner, but overall it is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamyMiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had such a wonderful stay at the Escarpment Lodge. The lodges are private and well-maintained; the staff are wonderfully helpful and professional; the food was incredible and the views and amenities were second-to-none. We had reliable wifi connectivity, which was rare during the majority of our travels through East Africa, and we particularly loved the open-air shower which provided a unique experience to complement the magnificence of the nature all around us. The lodge is private, quiet and very close to Lake Manyara. We really loved our stay here and would certainly come back on our next trip to Tanzania.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dutcherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

After 10 days in 3 other national parks - we saved this as a treat to wind down and relax. It was perfect. Stunning views. A big deep bath with 24/7 hot water! Plus an inside and outside shower. Spacious, clean and beautiful rooms which are individual bungalows complete with wrap around porch. Jo and Zane were welcoming and charming, and worked very hard to ensure everyone had the best of food, comfort and service. AC was available if needed. Don't fly to Zanzibar unless you want a beach. Stay here and relax by the infinity pool with your every whim catered for.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happy2balive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This Lodge, located at the very top of a plateau overlooking Lake Manyara, is a little jewel that will truly surprise you. The way in to the lodge, and even its entrance, is so unassuming that when you walk into the reception area your jaw literally drops. Artistically decorated with natural elements and exceptionally good taste, this lodge has it all... great accommodations, excellent food, and truly outstanding service.
To begin with, when you arrive you are assigned your own personal "butler", who sees to all your needs throughout your stay, including serving your meals and even staging unexpected surprises. Ours was named Daniel, and he was quiet, unobtrusive yet very friendly, respectful of our privacy, and attentive to a fault.
The rooms at the lodge consist of individual wooden chalets, with a surrounding balcony looking down to Lake Manyara in the distant valley. Ours had a king size bed with netting flowing down from a wooden square support suspended from the ceiling, a love seat overlooking the balcony, beautiful wooden furniture and floors, separately enclosed toilet and shower stall, twin washbasins, and a gorgeous tub overlooking the chalet veranda. The lodge has 16 chalets, and for those traveling with family, there are two with a common area surrounded by three, or two rooms, respectively, each room with its en suite bathroom.
The lodge has an infinity pool with a bar, and you can have your meals in the dining room, or ask your butler to prepare a table for you at the pool or at the outdoor terrace. One night, coming in from a full day of game driving, our butler Daniel surprised us with a candlelit room, a tub filled with bubbles and rose petals, and followed by a full meal for just the two of us, out in the terrace , under the stars. So, not surprisingly, this is a lodge we highly recommend, especially to couples looking to mix a little romance with their safari experience.

Room Tip: There are two chalets built to accommodate families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonia747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
4.4 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
147 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#2 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
769 reviews
5.9 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#5 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
426 reviews
19.3 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,620 reviews
11.4 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#4 of 51 in Karatu
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escarpment Luxury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escarpment Luxury Lodge

Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range: $358 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Escarpment Luxury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its wrap around decking affording breath-taking views from high over Lake Manyara, Escarpment Luxury Lodge feels every inch the explorer's outpost. This serene haven offers 16 luxurious chalets, with single, double or triple occupancy. Each unit features a private deck with spectacular views of the lake and abundant nature around the property, oversize bed, leather sofa, a freestanding bathtub, as well as an indoor and an outdoor shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Escarpment Luxury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing