We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this luxury lodge!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
578 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Loved this luxury lodge!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We loved this lodge! The rooms are huge and beautiful with a free-standing bathtub, indoor and outdoor showers, chandeliers, wifi, air-conditioning, comfortable beds, great views, beautiful dining area, very good food, hair dryers, and a friendly and helpful staff. Our butler, Ezekiel, went to great effort to make our experience outstanding. We were traveling with friends and he moved our table to the outside balcony where we had wonderful views while eating and he made sure we had everything we wanted.
Definitely luxury in Africa and highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    18
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
92
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Of all the places that we stayed in Tanzania, the Escarpment Luxury Lodge had the most spectacular room by far. In addition to a regular shower, it had an outdoor shower and a deep old-fashioned footed tub. Appointments were chosen for beauty and luxury. The view from the room's balcony was spectacular.( My friends spotted a green mamba on the balcony and got so freaked out that they locked themselves out of the room.) Despite the beauty of the surroundings, I suggest that the management needs to pay more attention to training of the staff. Our 'butler' had mediocre English and was very softspoken and shy -- when I asked him about one of the items on the menu, he ended up looking it up on the internet rather than asking the chef about the ingredients. Turns out that I, a strict vegetarian, took a bite and almost swallowed a piece of sausage. Also, although the room had the luxury of air conditioning -- a rarity in Tanzania -- they had run out of fuel to run it, so the room was really stuffy at night. No windows with screens to open. Assuming that they work on these types of issues, this place is likely to become an A-1 luxury resort in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rap_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 2 nights at the lodge, not consecutive ones. The first night was on New Year's Eve, when the manager and staff have put together a fantastic musical, dancing and bonfire show for all the guests. The second night was on the way back from our Serengeti trip: the staff remembered us and prepared the room in an amazingly welcoming way!
The staff, all the way to the chef, was always friendly, attentive and smiling.
The lodges are decorated in a mix between colonial/safari and urban luxury which with loads of space and a large terrace with a beautiful view.
Food was of highest quality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

During our safari we spent Christmas Eve in this so-called luxury lodge, but we were really disappointed. The food was below average, especially considering this "special evening". Also the choices at breakfast were rather poor. However, the room was really spacious and nicely furnished. But: the free standing bath tub leaked, the lights next to the bed did not work, and the safe we were explicitely asked to use could not be opened or closed. The woman at the reception promised to send somebody and solve the problems but until our departure nothing happened. The manager was not there to assist. Our general impression was that they pretend to be luxurious but can't match expectations for a 5 star accomodation. The view is great and the infinity pool as well. The service is friendly but not professional.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinderella V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family stayed here as part of our Safari in Tanzania, and this was easily the most amazing hotel we encountered. The staff was not only extremely friendly and helpful, but the manager was always on hand checking up to make sure everything was up to par. Other "5 star" lodges in Tanzania pale in comparison to Escarpment Luxury Lodge in both view and service. If you are looking for the perfect place to relax after a long day on Safari, this is it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raz_itai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
166 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Escarpment Luxury Lodge is simply stunning. After a day of riding through bumpy roads and safari parks, we were thrilled to be welcomed into such grandeur in the midst of nowhere. The rooms are first class with large tubs, showers, an outdoor shower and a nice porch overlooking Lake Manyara Park. The rooms and lodge are furnished with lovely artwork and substantial furnishings that are also comfortable and eco-friendly. Staff members were eager to please and friendly but not at all intrusive. The dinner in the lodge was quite possibly the finest 5 course meal we have enjoyed anywhere in the globe. We requested breakfast to be served at our room since we had an early departure. When they woke us, we were amazed to discover that the large, heavy furnishings from the lodge had been relocated to our porch. No detail was too small for effort and nothing was lacking. If we could change one thing about the entire trip, we would have include another night at Escarpment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USAOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
217 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

After a long dusty drive through the Great Rift Valley and coming through modest African villages, imagine my surprise at arriving at a beautiful, opulent and extraordinarily luxurious hotel on the edge of the Rift. Overlooking Lake Manyara, the Lodge has separate huts with spotless new immaculate interious, featuring comfy beds, a huge tub and both indoor and outdoor showers. Teh food in the Lodge is gourmet quality and the wine list is superb. The cold Kilimanjaro beer was hard to beat too. If youfind a better place in Tanzania, tell me about it - I want to go!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
1.1 mi away
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
23.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#3 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
26.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escarpment Luxury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escarpment Luxury Lodge

Property: Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Escarpment Luxury Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its wrap around decking affording breath-taking views from high over Lake Manyara, Escarpment Luxury Lodge feels every inch the explorer's outpost. This serene haven offers 16 luxurious chalets, with single, double or triple occupancy. Each unit features a private deck with spectacular views of the lake and abundant nature around the property, oversize bed, leather sofa, a freestanding bathtub, as well as an indoor and an outdoor shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Escarpment Luxury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing