We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Migunga Tented Camp
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge(Lake Manyara National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Highview Hotel(Karatu)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
48
82
40
12
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
82
40
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstented camphot wateracacia treesone nightal la carteday safaripumpkin souprecommend staying herelong safarimonkeystentscandlestanzaniaparkdrivewildlifelake
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 185 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a beautiful place to stay when visiting Lake Manyara national park. It is quite close to the park itself which is convenient and the camp can have monkey's and other wildlife wandering around which just adds to the atmosphere. The tents are very nice, the food delicious and the campfire at night a nice added touch. There is friendly staff that are always wandering around and available to escort you to and from the tents after dark in case or wildlife on the grounds. I really enjoyed this tented camp and would definitely recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjgm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This accommodation was ok, but nothing special. The bed was very uncomfortable and too small (we had two single beds). The food was acceptable, but nothing special. The "Nature Walk" was awful, not to mention overpriced. It consisted of walking in very hot weather in a field of cow manure, with the lake in the distant background. Due to time constraints, we actually never reached the Lake. It is very noisy at night, although the experience of trying to sleep while wild animals hunt and mate almost outside your tent is interesting and almost worth the loss of sleep! Lots of "camp" animals to watch.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fj-tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We booked this camp through internet and not through a safari company. When we arrived there was complete confusion about our stay. The place is nice, good tents, good shower. although we didn't understand why our tent had a very ugly carton-board door.... The staff is really friendly and cheerful. The food is served in a nice restaurant, although dinner and breakfast are not top-notch.
One advise: don't take a bird-watching safari. It costs $20 dollars each and the only thing you do is walk to the lakeshore in the heat and back. You can also do this without any guide (out of the camp to your right and then straight forward) and the information the 'experienced' guide gives about the birds is absolutely nothing. Sit at the balcony of the tent and you see even more species!
Besides that the staff was not flexible about checkout time, and we needed to put a lot of effort in getting a shower after the walk as they wanted us to check out before the early birdwalk. No swimmingpool.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kvli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night, and we had a tent right near the entrance - it was very basic but clean. I think some of the newer tents were further away and didn't get to see inside those. What I loved about this place was the staff!!!... They were all so friendly, welcoming and quick to help out ! The food was very impressive even went back for seconds!... Just a lovely quiet place with staff with big smiles, could you ask for anymore?????

Room Tip: I believe the newer tents were further back in the trees, while the older tents that needed a makeover - (although spotless) were towards the front.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig and Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here and particularly liked the blue monkeys on the grounds which you could watch from your tent. The tent was great, full shower and bathroom facilities, decked area and big comfy bed. The food was lovely and served as a buffet so you could choose what you wanted. The staff were friendly and made us feel very welcome. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linz83890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews