We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Migunga Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night, and we had a tent right near the entrance - it was very basic but clean. I think some of the newer tents were further away and didn't get to see inside those. What I loved about this place was the staff!!!... They were all so friendly, welcoming and quick to help out ! The food was very impressive even went back for seconds!... Just a lovely quiet place with staff with big smiles, could you ask for anymore?????

Room Tip: I believe the newer tents were further back in the trees, while the older tents that needed a makeov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig and Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 178 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here and particularly liked the blue monkeys on the grounds which you could watch from your tent. The tent was great, full shower and bathroom facilities, decked area and big comfy bed. The food was lovely and served as a buffet so you could choose what you wanted. The staff were friendly and made us feel very welcome. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linz83890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Nice tent with comfortable porch, clean, well kept, OK food, Warm welcome and nice/kind staff, no problems whatsoever with (crying) bushbabies or any other animals. Great start of our 8 day safari with Leopard-tours.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diederik_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband, teen daughter and I visited Migunga for one night in late July, 2012, and we wish we could have stayed longer. We found the tents luxurious--lovely bedding wrapped into shapes with fresh flowers, clean bathrooms, nice towels. It is amazing how nice they make while still being a "tent"--albeit with running water, electricity, and a concrete floor. It all feels a bit adventurous while being extremely comfortable. There were mongoose, velvet monkeys in the trees. The road leading to Migunga is rough, but you can see how some local families live--and appreciate how nice Migunga is when you arrive!

Staff was friendly, professional and eager to assist. Upon arrival the staff "wipes" your dusty luggage--a good idea in our case! We sat outside by the fire for coctails as darkness fell and watched a full moon rise over the back of the dining thatched roof. Food was excellent, great variety--the cook even made us some of the national dish--ugali--to try along with the buffet. Breakfast was ample, with a nice selection of fruits and crepes and eggs, etc.. Even real ground coffee beans, which we didn't see very often in our 14 days of traveling in Tanzania.

Unless you are looking for some kind of generic concrete box hotel, you should love Migunga. We travelled a long way to Tanzania, and wanted to feel a bit of the country, not stay in a motel!

Room Tip: We had room 21--a king bed with 2 other single beds as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3ngiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed here with friends (three total). The tents are really nice! Three beds with mosquito nets were already set up - very clean and cozy in the tent. The bathroom was fully functional - as others have said, the water pressure wasn't great, but it's a tented camp - I don't expect it to be super-strong, haha. The staff was very helpful - they helped carry our things to the room, the kitchen/wait staff was VERY friendly, and very accommodating of our requests (which were few). The location is very pretty - velvet monkeys hopping around everywhere. Our biggest complaint was the noise of the bugs (probably secedas) at night - it was deafening. This isn't the fault of the lodge, though - just think of it as nature's noise reducer. :) Overall - great stay.

Room Tip: Try getting a tent closer to the main lodge where dinner is served - it's a bit of a trek if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissGypsy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at Migunga Forest Camp only 1 evening and was highly disappointed with the venue. The reception area and dining room was in a good condition and the front garden and lawn very well taken care of. The tents situated under the fever trees are a great disappointment. The aesthetic appearance it presents to visitors is of a badly neglected and run down camp. The thatch roofs are shabby and untidy and the weeds and plants growing underneath the fever trees urgently requires attention. The staff was ok, the food edible, but the overall experience at this camp was not suffient to be memorable for a long period. When next in the area I will rather stay at another camp.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Tents are located in the forest. Main building is in open space in the forest, where sitting is more enjoyable than at the porch of the tent. The vervet monkeys and a lot of birds provide entertainment.

Heating of the water is done with wood oven, but that proved to be no problem. Sanitary conditions are good.

Mosquito protection is provided: net + coils to burn + spray.

Dinner is in the form of a set menu with 2 choices per course. Basic but good.

Room Tip: Tents further away from the main building are probably quieter in the evening and morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank straal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
1.7 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#6 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
287 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
785 reviews
22.6 mi away
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
#23 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Crater Forest Tented Camp
Crater Forest Tented Camp
#33 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
56 reviews
0 mi away
Ikoma Tented Camp
Ikoma Tented Camp
#94 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
10 reviews
4.8 mi away
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
#3 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Migunga Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Migunga Tented Camp

Address: Migunga Village | Lake Manyara, 5 minutes from the entrance of Lake Manyara National Park, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range: $171 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Migunga Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Migunga Tented Camp is nestled in a quiet corner on the northwest ofLake Manyara. The camp is ideally situated in shade of a yellow barkedacacia forest, only 5 minutes from the entrance of Lake Manyara National Park. The national park spreads out across the Great East African Rift Valley and is often called Tanzania's water wonderland due to the large number of birds and animals the lake supports. This is also the only area where lions climb trees..Migunga Tented Camp is nestled away in a quiet corner of 35 acres of acacia forest and consists of 21 semi-luxury permanent tents on raised platforms with en-suite bathrooms and a private veranda overlooking the lush forest. All the tents are discreetly placed around a central glade, offering shade and privacy but still only a short walk to the restaurant and bar.At Migunga you wake up in the morning to the sound of the forest, with the beams of the sun finding their way through our the tall trees. In the afternoon you can enjoy our mountain bike ride trail through Lake Manyara’s backyard or enjoy watching our vervet monkeys muck about on the central field. The evenings are resonating with the typical sounds of forest creatures, making you fairytale complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Migunga Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Migunga Forest Camp Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing