We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“114 Birds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mopane Bush Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mopane Bush Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Musina
Certificate of Excellence
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“114 Birds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Spent 4 nights at this excellent lodge with guiding by Andrew Rae.
Room, food and hosting all of a high standard.
Birding was my main aim and Andrew certainly delivered. 114 was my final count and I am not an experienced birder but Andrew made up for this with great advice and information.
The San Art tour to a neighboring property is not to be missed and Mapungubwe National Park is truly beautiful.
Would highly recommend to any repeat visitor to Africa. (And everyone returns to Africa).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    52
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
82
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We had a brilliant stay everyone makes your visit so special. Andrew is extremely passionate about the history and culture and his enthusiasm draws you in. The lodge is a lovely place and our room was excellent (I especially liked the fact we had a teapot in our room!). Thank you all for making our visit so special. I would also like to wish Mark all the best and thanks for the limoncello.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed at Mopane Bush Lodge for 3 nights on a Titan tour. This part of the tour explored the history and culture of the indigenous African peoples which was fascinating to see and hear about. The lodge itself is beautiful and our room was excellent. The hospitality of our hosts Rosemary and Andrew was superb and the food delicious. The lodge is set in a secluded location and I loved the peace and tranquility.We especially loved looking over the confluence of the rivers marking the South Africa/ Botswana/ Zimbabwe borders in the distance! Would love to return one day.

Room Tip: Has a great swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CazandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

This trip to Limpopo area of South A. was worth every minute.
The personal reception by Paul, Rosemary and Andrew was fabulous. The visit with Andrew to the Mapungubwe park was great and instructive and especially with a lot of dedication.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is our second stay at Mopane Bush Lodge, the first being in December 2013. The service, the attention to detail,the wonderful food, the spaciousness of the cottages and the bathrooms (including the outside shower) are fantastic. Andrew and his team are wonderful - the knowledge he and his guides share is amazing. the swimming pool is great after spending hte morning on a bush drive or even a long bush walk. We are definitely seeing them again. thank you for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good as the face the bush with excellent patios and table with chairs to sit outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LITSA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Personal service, good food and accommodation in a beautiful bush setting at a fair price. Access road a bit bumpy but manageable with a sedan. Dinner at the open fire in the boma gives you the real bush feel with star gazing and the surround sounds of the bush at night.
We enjoyed the walks on the farm on the marked-out tracks, lazing around at the pool afterwards and most of all the excursions into the park and other nearby locations for birding. Anybody looking for the Collared Palm-Thrush for example?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Karl-Heinz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Expert staff, lovely facilities, great vacation atmosphere, delicious food and exceptional service! What more could one ask for? We had a great stay at Mopane Bush Lodge, the surrounding nature and community, and the Lodge itself made for an unforgettable holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrion V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Musina hotels
36.9 mi away
Kaoxa Bush Camp
Kaoxa Bush Camp
#3 of 17 in Musina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Musina Hotel and Conference Centre
36.8 mi away
Bushmen Inn Guest House
Bushmen Inn Guest House
#1 of 12 in Musina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.0 mi away
Adansonia Eco Lodge
Adansonia Eco Lodge
#7 of 17 in Musina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
36.3 mi away
Siesta Guest House
Siesta Guest House
#2 of 12 in Musina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
36.7 mi away
Old Mine Guest House
Old Mine Guest House
#3 of 12 in Musina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mopane Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mopane Bush Lodge

Property: Mopane Bush Lodge
Address: R572 Musina / Pontdrif Road, Musina 0900, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Musina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Musina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mopane Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mopane Bush Lodge, nestled in the heart of vibrant mopane bushveld, is a place where the pursuit of tranquillity has become an art form and where gracious living and sumptuous dining is as natural as drawing breath. Four star fully catered luxury accommodation located on MAPESU PRIVATE GAME RESERVE, a 6000ha game farm, and ideally situated for visits to: MAPUNGUBWE NATIONAL PARK MAPUNGUBWE WORLD HERITAGE LANDSCAPE LIMPOPO RIVER and its confluence with the SASHE RIVER BIRDING HOTSPOTS 4 x 4 ECO TRAILS BAOBABS SAN ROCK ART plus other attractions of the area. Twelve secluded double/twin-bedded thatched chalets with en-suite bathroom, each with its own veranda and an additional outdoor shower, four of which have their own private pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mopane Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing