We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lodge before time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Three Trees at Spioenkop
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Lodge before time”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

About a 10 minute drive off R616 on a gravel road was like travelling back through time to the late 19th century (check your history book: Boer war). The lodge sits on the hill and the views from the cottages as well from the main house into the neighbouring nature (game) reserve is outstanding. The furnishing has a historical touch, but you won't miss any of the amenities. The same is true for the main builing and the patio. This lodge is truly family managed. On each meal one of the family members joined our table to have breakfast, lunch or dinner with us. The food is very nice and fresh.
There are well signposted hiking tracks offering loops from about 30 minutes to 3 hours. Furthermore, we had a early morning guided game walk into the neighbouring game reserve where we saw buck, Zebra, Giraffe and Rhino and plenty of birds. In the afternoon we went horsebackriding with their own horses. I should also mentiond the 4 super friendly dogs. We stayed in the lodge for two nights, which was ideal for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torebueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thanks for your wonderful review, and we're very happy you enjoyed your stay at Three Trees!

kind regards,

Simon & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
130
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights (would happily have stayed for longer). Had a full 'exclusive' day with Simon who gave us an expansive tour of Spioenkop (and the lead up to the battle) followed by a 'walk' into the reserve (which is just over the fence) .. The whole setup is outstanding .. Could have easily spent the day sitting in the lounge just going through all the books in there (or playing with duke and the other dogs).. If you are at all interested in your Boer War history then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: From the outside the cabins look like large garden sheds.. get inside and see a massive bed, a fanta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tubeless R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your fabulous review, we do love getting feedback like yours to let us know we're on the right track, and of course to keeps us motivated!

kind regards,

Simon and Cheryl and the whole Three Trees Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We have just enjoyed a sublime stay at Churchill's self-catering cottage. Beautifully appointed and furnished, complete with plunge pool, fireplace and two huge en-suite bedrooms. A hidden gem overlooking the Spioenkop mountain and game reserve, and ideally placed for trips to the Drakensberg or Boer War battlefields. Only 3 hours from Jhb and 2,5 hours from Durban, 25 km off the N3. For those keen on wildlife, walking, horse riding or mountain-biking, or simply looking for a weekend away from it all, Churchill's is THE place. Simon and Cheryl run a superb operation, and the tours are fantastic.

Room Tip: Either rooms at Lodge or fabulous Churchill's
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Rob, thanks so much for your great review, really nice for all the staff (and us too) to get reviews like this, great motivation for the team! I hope we will be able to welcome you all back here again soon!

kind regards,

Simon and Cheryl and Thre Trees Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Excellent base for the Boer War Battlefields. The Lodge is a remote location in a Reserve with local walks to the Dam and organised game walks. Simon's Spioenkop's tour is excellent. The accommodation is in individual lodges with unique fixtures and fittings. There is communal dining and the food is very good. The main lodge has all the information you need about the Boer War

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Trevor, thanks so much for your kind review, and glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the Spionkop tour, and game walk, and I hope we will be able to welcome you back here one day.

kind regards,

Simon, Cheryl and all the staff at Three Trees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed four nights at Three Trees at Spioenkop.

After the drive from Durban and the discovery that the fuel gauge on our hire car wasn’t working, our arrival at Three Trees was a great relief. Cheryl greeted us as soon as the car door opened and we immediately knew that we were in for a good stay.

There is an important distinction to be made between luxury and comfort. Our colonial style cottage at Three Trees was supremely comfortable and lacked nothing that we wanted. The veranda looked out over the game park to Spioen Kop itself and each of the lodges maintained an appropriate degree of privacy from its neighbours. After a cup of tea we were invited to join two other guests on a game walk with Cheryl. A few minutes later (and only slightly alarmed by the rifle over her shoulder) we took off into the next-door game park where, over a couple of hours, we discovered new flowers, birds and insects, before crawling through the grass to watch a pair of rhinos a few metres away. We did two more of these walks, one with Simon and another with Cheryl, each different and each exciting. With Simon we enjoyed the moment when we simultaneously had around us three varieties of deer, a herd of Zebra, a pair of Giraffe, and three pairs of Rhinos (as one of them turned in our direction Simon said ‘perhaps we’ll walk a little faster!) These were some of our favourite moments in South Africa.

We had a day walking in the Drakensberg mountains and could have spent much more time there. But we were near some of the significant sites of the Boer War and went out with Simon to visit some of the sites and enjoyed his vivid descriptions of Churchill’s capture and the battles of Colenso and Spioen Kop.

While staying here we felt that we had reached the Africa we were hoping for; wide open plains surrounded by magnificent mountains. Another of our favourite moments was taking a ‘sundowner’ with the family on a hill looking out over the reservoir as the sun set over the Drakensbergs – one of the most enjoyable G&Ts I’ve ever had.

Three Trees is highly recommended for the experience, for the great food, for Simon and Cheryl’s hospitality and willingness to share their knowledge, and for the wonderful location.

We would love to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Martin - thank you for your fabulous review - after a long season it was really motivating to hear your comments, and we're only too pleased that you had such a good stay with us! And we do hope that we will be able to welcome you back here again one day.

kind regards,

Simon, Cheryl, Ryna and the whole Three Trees team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed in Churchill's cottage which is part of Three Trees lodge and had a really wonderful weekend from relaxing on our veranda with a drink, enjoying the amazing views of the Spionkop reserve, to fantastic walks, great food and very welcoming staff and owners. The accommodation is very comfortable, stylishly decorated and unpretentious. We think it is a perfect South African experience and will certainly be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Sara - thanks for your wonderful review, and I'm glad you had such a wonderful stay! Hopefully we will be able to welcome you guys back here one of these days!

kind regards,
Simon & Cheryl and Three Trees Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We have just moved on from spending four very relaxing nights (over Christmas) at Three Trees and would definitely recommend it. Our children (7 and 11) were very warmly welcomed, playing for many hours and also taking meals with the owners' children and other young guests (although they did not have to). We enjoyed a family walk (with the dogs for added company), horse riding, swimming and were able to enjoy an adult game walk with some good sightings. We could also get to the mountains relatively easily but were far enough away to feel as if we were off the main tourist trail. I would definitely recommend Churchills accommodation for a family, it is beautifully finished and gives the extra space that was ideal for us over the holiday period. The views were simply stunning. The main lodge is a very relaxing place to sit and read or simply stare at the view and the food is very good indeed. I would strongly advise allowing more nights than you think you will need for a visit here. It is a place that you need to take the time to enjoy and you find yourself appreciating it more and more as the days pass by.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ahtrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review - we're obviously veery happy that you had such a great time and hope that we will be able to welcome you all back here in the future!

kind regards,

Simon and Cheryl and Three Trees Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
32.0 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
24.2 mi away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
830 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Spionkop Lodge
Spionkop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Ladysmith
280 reviews
27.7 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
4.1 mi away
Dalmore Farm Guest House
Dalmore Farm Guest House
#1 of 13 in Bergville
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Trees at Spioenkop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Trees at Spioenkop

Property: Three Trees at Spioenkop
Address: Rhenosterfontein Farm | Hambrook Village, Bergville 3370, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Bergville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Trees at Spioenkop 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the magnificent backdrop of the Drakensberg Mountains, overlooking the secluded Mfazimnyama Valley of the Spioenkop Game Reserve and in the lee of the famous hill, Spioenkop, lies Three Trees lodge. Perfect half-way stop between Johannesburg & Durban, only 27km from the highway (N3)Spectacular scenery, locally grown Country-style food, fine linen and superb hosts makes this lodge the ideal environment in which to escape and unwind. This intimate luxury lodge is owner-managed by Simon & Cheryl Blackburn whose passion for Africa fills every corner. Guests are welcomed into their home, and invited to experience the warm hospitality in their family run lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Three Trees at Spioenkop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing