We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Three Trees at Spioenkop
Certificate of Excellence
Luanda, Angola
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We have just moved on from spending four very relaxing nights (over Christmas) at Three Trees and would definitely recommend it. Our children (7 and 11) were very warmly welcomed, playing for many hours and also taking meals with the owners' children and other young guests (although they did not have to). We enjoyed a family walk (with the dogs for added company), horse riding, swimming and were able to enjoy an adult game walk with some good sightings. We could also get to the mountains relatively easily but were far enough away to feel as if we were off the main tourist trail. I would definitely recommend Churchills accommodation for a family, it is beautifully finished and gives the extra space that was ideal for us over the holiday period. The views were simply stunning. The main lodge is a very relaxing place to sit and read or simply stare at the view and the food is very good indeed. I would strongly advise allowing more nights than you think you will need for a visit here. It is a place that you need to take the time to enjoy and you find yourself appreciating it more and more as the days pass by.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ahtrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review - we're obviously veery happy that you had such a great time and hope that we will be able to welcome you all back here in the future!

kind regards,

Simon and Cheryl and Three Trees Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
132
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We booked Spionkop at the last minute and were pleased to get a double room for ourselves and also one for 16yr old son at good rates.
It is roughly a 3.20 hr drive from JNB and easy to find .
Good Points
Comfortable , slightly period style gamelodge , modern features .
Very hospitable owners and staff.
Variety of food
Long table style dining , and a chance to meet other guests
Small local game park . (Eland Rhino Buck, Zebra)
Wifi ...just
Informative Battlefield literature and excellent guide
Informal , fun and homely.
Less good points .
Actually not much but you really need to be interested in Boer War to get the best from Spionkop.
The farm is situated roughly on the site of the old British HQ.
Car really needed to get there.

We would not hesitate to recommend to our friends .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Simon - thanks so much for your review - much appreciated - always lovely to get such nice feedback. Thanks for your support, and wishing you all the best for 2014!

kind regards,

Simon and Cheryl
Three Tree Hill Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights earlier in November. Just wished it could have been longer. Cheryl and Simon are wonderful hosts and worked so,hard to make everything perfect for their guests. The rooms are delightful, super comfortable beds and baths with a view! Food is exquisite, every meal is so fresh and imaginative. The lounge and balcony are ideal places for meeting up for a pre dinner drinks with other guests. The walks from the lodge are lovely. We did one organised walk and came up very close to rhino and also did a couple of walks with friends. So much to see in wonderful countryside. The battlefield tours were excellent - Simon and Ben brought them back to life. We all learnt a lot about the Boer War. A very special place with delightful hosts. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful review - much appreciated. And I do hope we will be able to host you again here soon!

Kind regards,

Simon and Cheryl Blackburn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We recently stayed 4 nights at TTH and unless you expect the formal aspects of a luxurious place you have got to like it. A lot.

The cottages are modestly equipped with everything you need, but lavishly decorated with turn-of-the-century (the other one) items or their replicas. It sets you back in time. When you get up in the morning you look at the reserve from your own porch.

The communal areas are romantic and well equipped with a library and comfortable seating, inside and outside and you can easily spend the day reading, looking over the valley or thinking nothing right there if you don't feel like spending it actively in the mountains, on horseback or hiking.

Sharol (most people here spell her name Cheryl, but that's not what I thought I heard) and Simon are very nice, open and engaged landlords during meeting, walking, discussing and describing numerous topics. They and their wonderful staff do make you feel at home.

Very nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TKeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed the lodge and have given us a great review - much appreciated. Of course we're just a 4-Star lodge not 5*, and would rather under-promise and over-deliver than the other way around - which is possibly why we love living here and doing what we do!

We hope we will be able to welcome you back here someday

kind regards,

Simon and Cheryl
Three Tree Hill Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at three trees for three nights. A good base to explore were my grandfather fought in the Boer war. We went on one of the battlefield tours which was most informative. The food was good and the staff very friendly and helpful. Just one downside the weather was cool and damp( as we are British we obviously brought it with us). We had very enjoyable time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnRadcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank-you for your review - we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and would love to promise you better weather next time if we could!

kind regard,

Simon and Cheryl
Three Tree Hill Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

It was a bit of a challenge arriving here in the dark straight from J'burg airport, but the welcome awaiting us could not have been warmer or more friendly. This relaxed and informal atmosphere along with the good conversation, excellent food, the quirky, comfortable rooms and, of course, the views made for a fantastic 3 night stay.

Simon's tour of the Spionkop battlefield was excellent and the lodge is an excellent base for exploring the Northern Drakensburg, armed of course with an excellent packed lunch!!!! The chilled G&T on top of the hill behind the main lodge to enjoy the sunset was a highlight.

Our only regret was not being here for a few more days so we could explore some more and take advantage of the nature walks and other activities on offer. Hopefully we'll be back one day!

Thank you to Simon, Cheryl and all the team for making this such a wonderful place to retreat and enjoy and thank you to Africa Rose our agent for recommending such a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and wonderful review - we appreciate getting any feedback, and of course especially cherish feedback like yours! We do hope we will be able to welcome you here again in the future!

Kind regards,

Simon and Cheryl Blackburn
Three Tree Hill Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This review could be really short: we just loved staying at Three Trees at Spioenkop - and were sad that we had to leave after 3 nights only!!! (the rest of the holiday was fantastic as well, but Three Trees was our favorite :-)
We loved the concept, the food - and the wine incl. very competent recommendations, the surroundings, the competent and friendly service of the local staff, we loved that Simon took the time to share opinions with us - and we highly appreciated the expertise and passion of both Simon and Cheryl (we had a whole - very entertaining - day with Simon on military history/battles, which my husband just loved and I - originally not one bit interested in the topic - really, really enjoyed. Cheryl took us on a bush walk - I learned a lot about South African flora and fauna in just two hours - it was a really great morning walk due to Cheryl's good eye and willingness to share her expertise!).
Simon and Cheryl: mainly we appreciated that you shared your view and "take" on the new South Africa with us and we really, really hope to come back to "our" Churchills at some point in a not too distant future!
If we in any way can help you market Three Trees in Europe, let us know.

Room Tip: We loved Churchills - and would not hesitate to ask for that lodging in the future. The rooms closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelleSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thanks so much for your fabulous review - we really appreciate your feedback!

kind regards - Simon and Cheryl
Three Tree Hill Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
32.0 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
29.6 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
236 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#3 of 5 in Winterton
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Spionkop Lodge
Spionkop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Ladysmith
284 reviews
27.7 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
4.1 mi away
Dalmore Farm Guest House
Dalmore Farm Guest House
#1 of 13 in Bergville
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Trees at Spioenkop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Trees at Spioenkop

Property: Three Trees at Spioenkop
Address: Rhenosterfontein Farm | Hambrook Village, Bergville 3370, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Bergville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Trees at Spioenkop 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the magnificent backdrop of the Drakensberg Mountains, overlooking the secluded Mfazimnyama Valley of the Spioenkop Game Reserve and in the lee of the famous hill, Spioenkop, lies Three Trees lodge. Perfect half-way stop between Johannesburg & Durban, only 27km from the highway (N3)Spectacular scenery, locally grown Country-style food, fine linen and superb hosts makes this lodge the ideal environment in which to escape and unwind. This intimate luxury lodge is owner-managed by Simon & Cheryl Blackburn whose passion for Africa fills every corner. Guests are welcomed into their home, and invited to experience the warm hospitality in their family run lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Three Trees at Spioenkop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing